Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

could you keep the calves on calf ration too long?

• 01-05-2014 10:04pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭

I was wondering could you keep the calves on calf ration too long. they are currently on 18% calf ration. they are at grass but normally at this stage I would be switching them over to beef nuts. would they keep doing better on the calf ration if it was kept onto them or is there a point where its best to take tem off the calf ration and onto something else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭visatorro

Think the good lads will always say a high protein ration is needed for an animal that's growing. Not sure whether that answers your question really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

f140 wrote: »
    I was wondering could you keep the calves on calf ration too long. they are currently on 18% calf ration. they are at grass but normally at this stage I would be switching them over to beef nuts. would they keep doing better on the calf ration if it was kept onto them or is there a point where its best to take tem off the calf ration and onto something else

Is it not that the calf ration would be a lot dearer than the beef (in bulk),I usual switch when there about 8weeks old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Work away I'd say. Plenty of protein in grass to get them to grow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Work away I'd say. Plenty of protein in grass to get them to grow.

This is it..
    If they are on nice grass I'd bring them back onto regular beef nut.
    I wouldn't be cutting it out altogether for a while though.

_Brian wrote: »
    This is it..
    If they are on nice grass I'd bring them back onto regular beef nut.
    I wouldn't be cutting it out altogether for a while though.

I think once there on grass it makes little difference what type of but they get as long as its something

Indeed, but bulk beef nut will be considerably cheaper..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

Indeed, but bulk beef nut will be considerably cheaper..

At that age and stage if grass is good any ration to slow it down going through stomach is good enough
    Cost would be my concern

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Lads protein is cruical to a calf.im feedibg 1.5 kg of arrabawns suckler mate(18%).and they'll be on it throughout summer and until next jan.protein is to grow a good frame which is what u want not a small fat pudgy yolk which a low p ration will give u.i think dairy heifers in praticular need this as you don't want her laying down fat.having an overly fat heifer at breeding is as bad as having her too thin.once my heifers are turned to grass in early to mid feb they get no meal until they hit the parlour as 2 year olds.move calves regurally ,keep dosed and a small bit of a good 16 to 18% ration /but and they'll fly.been working for me for years.some would look at my heifers and say there thin,they just have a big frame and adequate fat nor excessive.average weight a few weeks back was 360 kg

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Lads protein is cruical to a calf.im feedibg 1.5 kg of arrabawns suckler mate(18%).and they'll be on it throughout summer and until next jan.protein is to grow a good frame which is what u want not a small fat pudgy yolk which a low p ration will give u.i think dairy heifers in praticular need this as you don't want her laying down fat.having an overly fat heifer at breeding is as bad as having her too thin.once my heifers are turned to grass in early to mid feb they get no meal until they hit the parlour as 2 year olds.move calves regurally ,keep dosed and a small bit of a good 16 to 18% ration /but and they'll fly.been working for me for years.some would look at my heifers and say there thin,they just have a big frame and adequate fat nor excessive.average weight a few weeks back was 360 kg

We would keep tem on 1kg/day and good fresh grass.
    I'd have thought that good spring/summer grass would be high enough in P to develop them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

We would keep tem on 1kg/day and good fresh grass.
    I'd have thought that good spring/summer grass would be high enough in P to develop them.

Grass can vary though from day to day and paddock to paddock..1 to 2 kg of a good hi p nut is worth it with ur best grass IMO .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Our calves get split into 2 main groups. Feb ones will finish on nuts next week
    March and April will get 1 kg of beef nut
    April calves will be separated in Sept and get 2 kg of hi spec nut
    Earlier ones will go back on beef nuts in Oct

They are never in a paddock more than 3 days and maidens following

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Well lads. calfs are on just under a kg of gold grain calf nuts and fresh grass, would it be ok to put them onto wean and build nuts? I'm not to happy about how there coming along

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

are you expecting to see a huge difference because the bag has something else written on it? :confused:

Well the calf nut is for calfs and the weaning nut is for weanings.
    So I'd guess there is a higher % of protein etc in the weaning nut.

Basically I want to know if I'd be ok changing to the weaning nut:

Well the calf nut is for calfs and the weaning nut is for weanings.
    So I'd guess there is a higher % of protein etc in the weaning nut.

Basically I want to know if I'd be ok changing to the weaning nut:

Change to connolys but. Far better. Better value for money too

Where ya buying that?

Goresbridge. Head up with a half to one bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 lexion14

If calf is well developed at weaning they shouldn't need meal at grass. If they were a bit soft its important to give to them but if it's eating plenty of crunch at weaning the return on feeding meal at grass is at best minimal. Good leafy grass on a rotation grazing system will deliver good growth rates. And as regards protein grass has an abundance of it. Everyone has their own ways though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Having the calves moving between paddocks every few days is difficult for likes of us who only have say 20 in a group and one or two well fenced and sheltered paddocks. Would the likes of two strands of temp etectric wire hold them in? What do the rest of yous do? I just moved mine for the 1st time sence they went out, much to the disapproval of my dad ha, the cover in the paddock they have gone into will be hitting 1500 in a few days so they could well be moved back where they were!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 lexion14

2 strands of electric wire would be grand. Ah as long as you'd give them a fresh bite every so often they be grand. That's always a challenge but I find moving older stock after them to clean up works well. A leader follower grazing system.