Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man tries to set himself on fire in Belfast

• 01-05-2014 12:00pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 91 ✭✭

A man tried to set himslef on fire in Belfast this morning but was saved by a hero teen.

What an interesting day in Belfast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

Fair play to that young lad. Most would have stood and watched.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Interslice wrote: »
    Fair play to that young lad. Most would have stood and watched filmed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

It could have gone bad though as it happened in tallaght few years ago where man lights himself cop tries to help but dies as a result.

Sometimes in these situations the person wants to die and will do anything out of desperation.

Hopefully he gets help that he needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

Tries? I could set myself on fire in about 30 seconds from where I'm sitting now. Simple

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I think that's a load of nonsense about the teenagers thinking it was a "magic trick". They just don't want to admit that they would rather film someone with mental problems setting a fire in the street rather than phoning the police.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Top marks for the young fella, not easy stepping in there because your man looks like a proper head-case.

Hopefully he'll get the help he needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

weemcd wrote: »
    Tries? I could set myself on fire in about 30 seconds from where I'm sitting now. Simple

u alrite hun? xx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Did he have to do it to himself?, has Beal Feirste gone soft or something !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

If the kids were really filming it on their phones, they wouldn't have been much of a loss to the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭B_Rabbit

anncoates wrote: »
    If the kids were really filming it on their phones, they wouldn't have been much of a loss to the world.

I imagine it would have been a pretty big loss for their friends and families.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

That girl had the right idea. Walk right up to the mentally unstable man setting a fire in the street and look at him to see what he does next. Genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Skeleton XIII

Gormless twits had no clue of the danger they were in. Fair play to the young lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

Didn't look like he was trying very hard. Was he really going to torch himself? didn't seem to have much intent really.

Odd one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

It could have gone bad though as it happened in tallaght few years ago where man lights himself cop tries to help but dies as a result.
    In the early hours of the morning of 21st July, 1999 a man entered the entrance hall of Tallaght Garda Station and poured petrol over himself. Sergeant Callanan made an attempt to disarm the man. The man then aimed the petrol at Sergeant Callanan, setting it alight, as a result of which Sergeant Callanan died from the injuries received.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Bio Mech wrote: »
    Didn't look like he was trying very hard. Was he really going to torch himself? didn't seem to have much intent really.

Odd one.

Im pretty sure lighting a fire and pouring a flammable liquid on yourself counts fairly strongly as intent.Naturally he'll have apprehension when push comes to shove, but thats a natural reaction.