Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Training herself in

• 28-04-2014 8:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭

Two bullseyes on her first go shooting after about 10 shots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭1shot16

Nice one :)
    what gun was being used?
    Looks like a Weihrauch ?
    HW77?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭patsat

Two bullseyes on her first go shooting after about 10 shots

Don't be letting her start off with bad habits from the start! Left hand should be her trigger hand. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Been trying t get herself involved in it for ages.
    She came ferreting before and wouldn't hold the ferret or the rabbits we got. Was grand for carrying shovel about though.
    Gonna have t get her out with the shotgun this weekend.
    Be nice t get herself involved in my hobbies seen as I spend hours in one shop with her :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭lefthooker

patsat wrote: »
    Don't be letting her start off with bad habits from the start! Left hand should be her trigger hand. ;)

Thinking the very same myself. Looks like an uncomfortable posture too.
    Two bulls tho, thats good shooting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,161 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

patsat wrote: »

She's probably left eye dominant but right handed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭patsat

Blay wrote: »
    She's probably left eye dominant but right handed.

So am I!! :D but its best to start off right and it becomes second nature!

My other half has shot my .223 out to 300 yards on steel and enjoyed it! She loves the .22 aswel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭beretta686s

She was swapping from side to side to see which suited her better she shot better on her left side:)'the gun is a hw95 .22 paper targets at 25 yards she wants to know how to use the shotgun aswell.she mite be looking for her own 1 next:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Make sure she changes hands aswell.

She might think its comfortable but that's only because she is well supported.

If she held the shot gun like that she will get some kick. Start off with good habits. Hopefully she stays at it. Fair play to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭EWQuinn

So she doesn't need the glasses to shoot. Most of my scopes require my glasses, one does not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LB6

If I can make a suggestion for the ladies in your lives! Should you be on bookieface, look up Harbour House Sports Club. Every 2 months they run a day course called "Women On Target". There's classroom, then practical on both hand gun and rifle (22) with lunch between. There'll be another course due up in May sometime. They can have up to and around 16 ladies on the day and it's brilliant fun. The amount of ladies taking up shooting after this day is quite substantial.

Alternatively, contact Mark Maguire at Harbour House and he'll let you know when the next course if and when you can expect to see the application forms

https://www.facebook.com/HarbourHouseSports

LB6