Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much will my tax home pay be?

• 28-04-2014 12:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭

So I've been working a day a week this year during college and will be going fulltime for the summer.

At the moment I only pay USC but not PAYE/PRSI and was wondering could you help me calculate how much I'll get after taxes a month?

I earn €9 before tax per hour, working from 9-5:30.

Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

bout 350

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Eh, do you want us to clean your house and do your taxes for you while we're at it??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Good ould doly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

2 hens and half a bag of flour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

wazky wrote: »
    2 hens and half a bag of flour.

I get charged 3 hens and 2 half bags.

Give them 1 full one bag instead of 2 half ones, they will never notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

So I've been working a day a week this year during college and will be going fulltime for the summer.

At the moment I only pay USC but not PAYE/PRSI and was wondering could you help me calculate how much I'll get after taxes a month?

I earn €9 before tax per hour, working from 9-5:30.

Thanks!

Probably nothing - I don't think you'll be earning enough to get out of the tax free allowance.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

You'll be earning a gross wage of €1,560 a month.

USC will be €200.72 on the first €10,036, €239.20 on the income from €10,036 to €16,016 and €189.28 on the remainder, a total of €629.20 per annum or €52.43 per month.

Tax will be €3,744 less tax credit of €1.650, making your total tax liability €2,094 per annum or €174.50 per month.

Your Net (take-home) pay will be €1,333.07 per month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

sdeire wrote: »

USC will be €200.72 on the first €10,036 and €347.36 on the remainder, a total of €548.08 per annum or €45.67 per month.

Tax will be €3,744 less tax credit of €1.650, making your total tax liability €2,094 per annum or €174.50 per month.

Your Net (take-home) pay will be €1,339.83 per month.

What's that in hens and bags of flour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Frynge wrote: »

Less the standard AH tax consultancy fee of course...

Frynge wrote: »

After my small edit to correct USC bands, I calculate that it would equate to seven hens, three ducks, a goose and your sense of humour.

What about the flour?

endacl wrote: »

Minus a cock then?

What about the flour?

8qmSv.jpg

Flour's on special at the minute, so that's 597 and three-quarters bags of flour. A month, to be precise.

8qmSv.jpg

Flour's on special at the minute, so that's 597 and three-quarters bags of flour. A month, to be precise.

Nice. Feck the lottery lads.

endacl wrote: »

Indeed.

I charge €100 per hour plus 5 per cent which is €1,036 for the year (minimum fee is a year obviously).

I tell you what though cos I'm a nice guy I'll take a grand. Cheque will do. Cheers OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

USC will be €200.72 on the first €10,036, €239.20 on the income from €10,036 to €16,016 and €189.28 on the remainder, a total of €629.20 per annum or €52.43 per month.

Not every month, he won't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

That sounds so sinister, like "not if I have anything to do with it" should be written at the end.

strobe wrote: »
    That sounds so sinister, like "not if I have anything to do with it" should be written at the end.

;) See what you mean - but he did say he's only workign one day a month for most of the year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭IrishWelshCelt

Thanks for the maths, I'd be lost without this!

Do I need to do anything as regards the tax credits or will they automatically come into play? Is it something I have to claim back at the end of the year?

I believe they get deducted automatically. Yes you can claim back some tax but not all

(€9 per hour x 40 hour week x 52) / 12 = 1560. :)

Tax credits are automatically dealt with, you can claim additional stuff back like dental fees, bike to work, taxsaver tickets that sort of stuff.
    I believe they get deducted automatically. Yes you can claim back some tax but not all

Yup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Blured

This isnt 100% correct. The USC figures are fine but you dont have any PRSI added in. This will be €748.80 per annum. €62.40 per month.

For PAYE - you have not included the PAYE tax credit which he will also be entitled to. This will bring his tax credits to €3,300 for the year, reducing his PAYE liability to €444 per annum, €37 per month.

So, net take home pay will be €1,408.17 per month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

take?

Tax credits are automatically dealt with, you can claim additional stuff back like dental fees, bike to work, taxsaver tickets that sort of stuff.

I was thinking of cycling to work as google assures me its only a 30 minute cycle (6km) as opposed to a 40 minute bus from where I'll be living in a few weeks. Does this only apply to buying a bike or could I use an old one I have and still claim tax?

Normally there's a point of contact in a decent sized company. Only applies to new bikes, and only opens for a certain part of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Thats €324 per week for a 9 to 5:30. I think those hours are too long for that money. It annoys me how long people are expected to work. I'd assume in these exploitative times you only get a half hour for lunch too. What would be wrong with a 9 to 5 and hour for lunch.

woodoo wrote: »
    Thats €324 per week for a 9 to 5:30. I think those hours are too long for that money. It annoys me how long people are expected to work. I'd assume in these exploitative times you only get a half hour for lunch too. What would be wrong with a 9 to 5 and hour for lunch.

I have no idea why more retailers don't give an hour for lunch instead of half an hour, and just not pay it.

Used to do 2 to 10pm (with an added few minutes for closing up) with only 30 minutes off, and not paid. Now, luckily, I'm doing normally 9 hours with 1 off for lunch. When I was in the airport (many moons ago) it was an 8 hour shift, with two PAID 45-minute breaks included in the 8 hours. I can't stand unions but I didn't mind them for that six months. Now that was sweet.

Woudln't have minded doing 1.30 to 10.15 if I had a clear hour in the middle, would have meant I could go home and all.

Normally there's a point of contact in a decent sized company. Only applies to new bikes, and only opens for a certain part of the year.

Theres only around 20 people employed where I work, doubt such a rep exists to be honest.

woodoo wrote: »

We get an hour for lunch and as a student €324 is a lot of money.