Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

gardai FOI request.

• 27-04-2014 6:06pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭

Lads, I made a request a few months/weeks ago but i'm not happy. I feel like I recieved a very small amount of details and feel like they have kept things from me.

They never sent me information on penalty points or of an arrest I had many years ago.

Anything I can do to see if they have more information available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Alan Shore

I don't think that the Freedom of Information Act applies to The Gardai.

http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=9372&Lang=1

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,338 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tom Young

It's not an FOI request it's a Data Protection Subject Access Request.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

Tom Young wrote: »
    It's not an FOI request it's a Data Protection Subject Access Request.

oops :o:o

I'm sure they'll still have to release all available information on me..

Obviousally theres exceptions. I just thought they'd have more information available on me. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

James what matters is you know you got those points and you were arrested.

Chances are the Gardai wrote a ticket and the only record is on the roads corporation end.

In the case of the arrest well it obivously has not lead to a conviction so the only record is probably in handwritten entries in note books somewhere.

Long and the short of it is why does it matter if it does not cme up on your data protection request how can it hurt you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

The fixed charge penalty system has a habit of making up new person records when issuing tickets. If this mistake had not been noticed you may have two separate Garda records. That's why it is important to put all your previous addresses you have used, even if you may not have lived there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭BaronVon

Plus Data Protection requests only apply to data electronically stored. Guards write things down on paper, not everything makes it across to electronic format!

Zambia wrote: »
    James what matters is you know you got those points and you were arrested.

Chances are the Gardai wrote a ticket and the only record is on the roads corporation end.

In the case of the arrest well it obivously has not lead to a conviction so the only record is probably in handwritten entries in note books somewhere.

Long and the short of it is why does it matter if it does not cme up on your data protection request how can it hurt you?

Im hoping to either join the army or even gardai in the future and i'm in the process of completing a security course and working with a voluntary organisation hoping I can increase my chances. I just wanted to know just how much was recorded and where it was recorded lol..

I just found it intresting that none of that stuff appeared and was kinda hoping it was never recorded lol..

The fixed charge penalty system has a habit of making up new person records when issuing tickets. If this mistake had not been noticed you may have two separate Garda records. That's why it is important to put all your previous addresses you have used, even if you may not have lived there.

Been at this address 20 years mate.. Only driving 5 I think..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

jamesr123 wrote: »
    Im hoping to either join the army or even gardai in the future and i'm in the process of completing a security course and working with a voluntary organisation hoping I can increase my chances. I just wanted to know just how much was recorded and where it was recorded lol..

I just found it intresting that none of that stuff appeared and was kinda hoping it was never recorded lol..

Well these are things you can't change, apply and see how far you get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

That's why it is important to put all your previous addresses you have used, even if you may not have lived there.
    That seems like an odd statement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Victor wrote: »
    That seems like an odd statement.

People often register cars to different addresses so a speeding ticket and summons will not reach them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,159 ✭✭✭joeguevara

infacteh wrote: »
    Plus Data Protection requests only apply to data electronically stored. Guards write things down on paper, not everything makes it across to electronic format!

It applies to all personal information. Not just electronically stored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭BaronVon

joeguevara wrote: »
    It applies to all personal information. Not just electronically stored.

Sorry, I didn't elaborate fully. A guard taking your details at the side of the road won't always transfer all the information across to the official records held by AGS. It would be impossible for every guard to transfer everything he/she ever writes down to official documents, which can then be released under Data Protection requests.
    Under Section 4 of the Data Protection Acts, 1988 and 2003, you have a right to obtain a copy, clearly explained, of any information relating to you kept on computer or in a structured manual filing system or intended for such a system by any entity or organisation.