Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alex Hammond

• 27-04-2014 12:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭

How has she a job on tv. Is she the single worst tipster in the history of the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭Pinesky

UrbanSea wrote: »
    How has she a job on tv. Is she the single worst tipster in the history of the world
    In fairness she's probably better at being tipped than tipping .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭del roy

Pinesky wrote: »
    In fairness she's probably better at being tipped than tipping .

naughty, naughty, :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Has she ever tipped a non-fav?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

Has she ever tipped a non-fav?

Once. It lost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 geddylee

She is truly dreadful,doesn't need to know much about form,especially irish racing,just there to read Autocue,and her looks.I bet Blakey to day on are had her confused about being a real pundit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 geddylee

On atr ,damn phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

ye but shes good looking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭nuckeythompson

most of them are bad anyway. Hugh Taylor or Tom Segal are good IMO.

GAry O Brien , Brian Flanagan, Templegate etc are awful

But hey Alex is easy on the eye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

Jack Streep always picks favourite or 2nd favourite. Disgraceful.
    Gerald Delamere is the worst tipster ive seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭skippymac6

Do you think Gary O'Brien is awful? I always found him pretty insightful and would regularly have a look to see what he's posting on the ATR website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,123 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Hold on now Gary O Brien is far from awful he is very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Gary O brien was up about 600pts or something crazy last year. He's off form at the moment but is generally unreal.

Very simple criteria for telling you whose a good mainstream tipster and whose not. If they can move a price, they're good. And the majority of tips from pricewise, Taylor and O'brien plummet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Gary O brien was up about 600pts or something crazy last year. He's off form at the moment but is generally unreal.

Very simple criteria for telling you whose a good mainstream tipster and whose not. If they can move a price, they're good. And the majority of tips from pricewise, Taylor and O'brien plummet

600 points is massive.

GOB often tips 4/1 shots E/W - I dont really see the point in that.

Can you show me where his points are listed on ATR website? Taylors are there to see his very good record.
    I like his presenting style on TV and he is good at that but as a tipster he shows a loss in the last year I would think IMO. Also he will tip a horse and give the best odds stating *BOG , I can never see or find the odds stated

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

Interested to hear why? I would often bet EW on a 3/1 shot.

Its a matter of opinion I suppose but at the very lest aim for a small profit with a place - betting like as you state above will only recoup some losses with a place result. If you are betting on a 3/1 and are not really confident on it winning don't bloody back it.
    I often back e/w and prices above 5/1 , usually in 8 horse race though - no more no less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

Gary nutting on atr site is good for ante post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Can you show me where his points are listed on ATR website? Taylors are there to see his very good record.
    I like his presenting style on TV and he is good at that but as a tipster he shows a loss in the last year I would think IMO. Also he will tip a horse and give the best odds stating *BOG , I can never see or find the odds stated

The reason you can never find the odds stated is because the bookie(s) has chopped them after about 5 mins. The reason for that? Because he's an excellent tipster and if he's tipping a price then the price must be too big.

The reason he goes e/w is that he thinks the place part is value, along with the win part. Some of the best e/w shots you'll ever get are short odds. Cirrus des aiges at the weekend was a good example. Surely any person with any semblance of gambling nous backed that e/w instead of win at 7/2 or 4/1, given that they were getting 8/11 on a place when it was really about 1/5.

He went on a 6 week spell there in october November where he fired big price winner after winner. I can't remember the exact stats but he hammered Taylor last year, which is no mean feat as Taylor was also well ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭bookman2

Gary o brien is an excellent tipster he is a million times better than the lad before him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

(a) her looks (b) she's a woman. (c) she's hawt

Still looking at sporting life, Antia Chambers, brutal , Simon Holt aint great either. Mark Chapman do the opposite that he suggests

Ya Gary O'Brien is decent, as is the ante forecast chap on ATR.Taylor is worth listening to.

Tony paley of the guardian is decent,better than Chris Cooke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

If she was good enough for McCoy then she's good enough for me ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Am I missing something lads. She's very average looking by no means a model

kfallon wrote: »
    If she was good enough for McCoy then she's good enough for me ;)

What? Do explain dear boy

Average? Average? Jaysus she is on the better side of average then. She is a minx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭Pinesky

I wouldn't mind taking her for a spin up the al bahathri or the limekilns .

You wouldn't say no!
    What? Do explain dear boy

She had an affair with McCoy years ago!

kfallon wrote: »
    You wouldn't say no!

She had an affair with McCoy years ago!

The hooor, jaysus, McCoy's wife ain't that bad herself though.

McCoy wasn't married at the time!
    McCoy's wife used to go out with Paul Carberry before if memory serves me right