Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

store street garda station - passport

• 26-04-2014 6:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭nicearbhaill

hi ya

just wondering if anyone has any experience of getting a passport renewal application form signed in store street garda station. I live in Dublin 1 so they are my local garda station but they are not the friendliest place.

Not sure if there is another garda station I could get it done in

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

hi ya

just wondering if anyone has any experience of getting a passport renewal application form signed in store street garda station. I live in Dublin 1 so they are my local garda station but they are not the friendliest place.

Not sure if there is another garda station I could get it done in

Cheers

Almost 20 years ago my husband (from Killbarrack) was refused in Store St and very rudely as well. The Garda tossed the form back at us and said that he wouldn't sign it and he could garauntee no other Garda would either, because apparently he was from Kilbarrack and Kilbarrack folk shouldn't get passports. We were only in there because we were hurry I g on our way to the Passport Office back in the day when you could present yourself at the counter and happily queue for hours. Of course a lovely Garda signed it in Coolock station that evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

I'm a little surprised to hear of Gardai not signing passport forms. I don't see why they wouldn't. However, this isn't the first time that it has been said that they have refused.

I would say that if the Garda at the desk refuses to sign the passport form, then ask for the member in charge of the Garda station. Hopefully, that would sort out any difficulties.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I'm a little surprised to hear of Gardai not signing passport forms. I don't see why they wouldn't. However, this isn't the first time that it has been said that they have refused.

I would say that if the Garda at the desk refuses to sign the passport form, then ask for the member in charge of the Garda station. Hopefully, that would sort out any difficulties.

Or you could contact the Garda Ombudsman.

Although, there's probably no point. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I've had a form signed and stamped in Store Street with no hassle at all, and it certainly wouldn't be my local station.

Have heard of them only signing them in the nearest station to your address, but legally at least that's just a pile of nonsense.

Or you could contact the Garda Ombudsman.

Although, there's probably no point. :(

Well, I suppose that you could.

But if you want it done that day, I suppose that the Sergeant or member in charge might be able to sort it out on the spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

As long as you have the required documents then there should be no bother. 4 photos, form filled out properly and your previous passport to confirm identity.

The only reason a guests should refuse to sign it is of there's a don't towards identity or you don't have everything you need.

A guard is NOT required to sign his name to anything if they're not satisfied as to what their signing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭nicearbhaill

thing is Store street is my local station...I live on Parnell Street :)

There isnt really any other city centra garda station

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

I was refused the necessary signatures in Blanch station fourteen years ago. Apparently, I wasn't "known" to them. Went into Mountjoy, where they didn't know me any better, but signed what was needed.

thing is Store street is my local station...I live on Parnell Street :)

There isnt really any other city centra garda station

Pearse Street.
    No Pants wrote: »
    Apparently, I wasn't "known" to them.

Which is not a bad thing.:pac:

That was one of the questions that I asked at the time; should I assault one of them. Oh, the foolishness of youth.

Is there still a station on Kevin Street?

That was one of the questions that I asked at the time; should I assault one of them. Oh, the foolishness of youth.

Is there still a station on Kevin Street?

Yep.

http://www.garda.ie/stations/default.aspx
    Kevin Street Garda Station,
    41 Upper Kevin Street,
    Dublin 8.

District HQ: Kevin Street
    District HQ Tel: +353 1 666 9482
    District Officer: Superintendent Thady Muldoon

Divisional HQ: Pearse Street
    Divisional HQ Tel: +353 1 666 9092
    Divisional Officer: Chief Superintendent Michael O'Sullvan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

The form used to demand that the Garda actually knew you, now it's that he/she is satisfied as to your identity. I once went to Donnybrook station with a passport renewal form and heaps of identifying documents, it was near where I worked at the time but the Garda refused because I didn't live in their area so I went to my local station and have done so ever since, they sign the stuff no bother even though none of them know me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭Coyote

coylemj wrote: »
    The form used to demand that the Garda actually knew you, now it's that he/she is satisfied as to your identity. I once went to Donnybrook station with a passport renewal form and heaps of identifying documents, it was near where I worked at the time but the Garda refused because I didn't live in their area so I went to my local station and have done so ever since, they sign the stuff no bother even though none of them know me.

I think the point is them not knowing you in the line of work is a good thing.
    getting it signed at your local Garda station means that if your someone who gets arested a lot or causes trouble your local garda will know you and not in a good way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭BaronVon

Guards can know people for plenty of right reasons too!

OP, depending on which part you of Parnell St you live on, Fitzgibbon St could be your local station.

The Passport Office require you to go to your local Garda station to get the form stamped. The problem is, the Guard signing your form is confirming your identity, that you are who the form claims you are, and that he/she personally knows you.

A Passport is a very valuable and important document. If the Guard is not satisfied with your identity, or you are not attending your local station, they are more with than entitled to refuse to sign it, albeit, doing it politely.

Grand. OP has plenty of options then.

OP, you say this is a passport renewal? Bring along your old passport and maybe a driving licence. I wouldn't expect any further hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Citygirl1

Four years ago I took my passport renewal application into Pearse St garda station, (as I work nearby) but the officer at the desk refused to sign it, and told me to go to my local station.

However, in all but vey rural areas, surely the guards wouldn't actually know the majority of people calling to their local station?

Given the importance of a passport in terms of travel and identification, and possible abuses in terms of fraud or terrorism, does it not seem a bit loose that applications are regularly signed off by guards who have never met the applicant before?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Bottom line is the Garda must be satisfied of your identity and address. This can be confirmed by production of the necessary documents and should be able to be done at any Garda station. However it is the final decision of the Garda whether he/she is satisfied or not.
    There is no rule which says that it must be your local station.

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    Bottom line is the Garda must be satisfied of your identity and address. This can be confirmed by production of the necessary documents and should be able to be done at any Garda station. However it is the final decision of the Garda whether he/she is satisfied or not.

+1 I don't believe the passport office people care but now that I think of it, the Garda in my local station takes down a big book and enters my details in it when I'm getting the photos signed and the renewal form stamped so maybe the Gardai themselves have a rule which says that you have to be a local.

There's never an issue about me actually knowing the officer I meet at the counter, they just look at the photos and my old passport and they do the necessary.

As I said in an earlier post, they are not signing that they know me personally, simply that they are 'satisfied' as to my identity i.e. that I am the person named on the application form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

+1 I don't believe the passport office people care but now that I think of it, the Garda in my local station takes down a big book and enters my details in it when I'm getting the photos signed and the renewal form stamped so maybe the Gardai themselves have a rule which says that you have to be a local.

The passport office ring Garda stations and do spot checks on random applications to make sure that valid ID was produced and the serial numbers are all in order. This happens very often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭BaronVon

Santa Cruz wrote: »

I would disagree with this. The passport office state that:
    A Garda at your local Garda station will witness your passport application form; as long as they are satisfied as to your identity and that your four photos are a true likeness of you.

Also, Garda stations deal with the workload in their respective districts, and resources are assigned based on things like the local population etc. So by not going to your local garda station, you are asking them to do work which is not their responsibility.

Anecdotally, a friend of mine got a passport signed in Store Street Garda Station because a friend of his worked there, and he was personally known to him. When he went to the passport office, he was given out to for not going to his local station!

The first time I applied for a passport, I was living in Listowel at the time. The Garda was quite reluctant to sign me off because I was from Dublin, even though I lived locally, but he did in the end.

Renewed my passport last week and went to Clontarf Garda station as I now live in Fairview. Signed me off with no problems but he did put my details in a big book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Karsini wrote: »
    Signed me off with no problems but he did put my details in a big book.
    Yeah, I remember my visit being logged in a large book when I got mine renewed a number of years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Yeah, I remember my visit being logged in a large book when I got mine renewed a number of years ago.

Same here, details were noted. I wasn't in my local Garda station. Brought along the old passport and proof of address. Got form signed, no bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭ezra_

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Same here, details were noted. I wasn't in my local Garda station. Brought along the old passport and proof of address. Got form signed, no bother.

I got my passport renewed a while back, was living in the NCR.

I rang MountJoy as I wasn't sure where my local station was, the guard there said that I should go to the station at the back of the Four Courts, but that if there was an issue they'd do it.

No problem at all getting it done in whatever the place at the back of the Four Courts was called once they had a proof of address. All the details taken down into some book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭maccydoodies

I'm going a bit OT but how backwards is it that in this day and age the gardai are recording the signing of passport forms in a big book (like the roll book from school in de olden days)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

I went to a certain garda station in Dublin 2 and asked the Garda for the form. I asked could I borrow her pen as I didnt have one on me. She refused to give it to me as it was her only pen. I told her I would fill it out infront of her and hand it back to her. I was told well reads is only a few mins walk.

I went to reads and filled out the form. She refused to sign it as I didnt have a valid ID(obviously as my passport was expired and I showed it to her anyway) and I had a college ID(which apparently wasnt good enough). She said she didnt know me personally and to go to my local garda station(which no one would know me anyway, as my local Garda was closed and merged with another). At this stage I had enough with her superiority complex. I kinda informed her she was now living in a city of 1,6 million people and unlike some village in the west, she wasnt going to know everyone personally. And that I wasnt going to live the garda station to hear the same store in my local garda station about not having a valid ID, not knowing me personally(the fact they have never arrested me or I have never had a negative experience with a Garda is a decent reason to sign my form)

She finally caved in and signed my form. Gardai wonder why they get abuse and lack of respect from the public, why they can be incredibly difficult to deal with

hfallada wrote: »
    Gardai wonder why they get abuse and lack of respect from the public

No they don't. It's because everyone a Garda deals with thinks rules and laws are for everyone but them. You had an expired passport and a college ID and you expected her to sign an important document stating she was satisfied it was all legit. The consequences for giving out false passports are much more than disciplinary action.

I'm going a bit OT but how backwards is it that in this day and age the gardai are recording the signing of passport forms in a big book (like the roll book from school in de olden days)?

Because Accenture would probably charge them another €20m to add that function to PULSE.

No they don't. It's because everyone a Garda deals with thinks rules and laws are for everyone but them. You had an expired passport and a college ID and you expected her to sign an important document stating she was satisfied it was all legit. The consequences for giving out false passports are much more than disciplinary action.

In fairness, the poster you're responding to (hfallada) met a Garda who got it wrong. She (the Garda) told him that she wouldn't sign the form because she didn't know him personally which is not what the form says.

For the third time in this thread let me say it: The Garda is signing that he/she is 'satisfied as to the identity of the applicant', not that they know them personally.

Fair play to hfallada, he (she?) stood his (her?) ground and talked the Garda into signing the forms so obviously diplomacy and tact were deployed to good effect.

In fairness, the poster you're responding to (hfallada) met a Garda who got it wrong. She (the Garda) told him that she wouldn't sign the form because she didn't know him personally which is not what the form says.

For the third time in this thread let me say it: The Garda is signing that he/she is 'satisfied as to the identity of the applicant', not that they know them personally.

Fair play to hfallada, he (she?) stood his (her?) ground and talked the Garda into signing the forms so obviously diplomacy and tact were deployed to good effect.

The poster had two unreliable forms of ID. In such a case the only way a Garda can really be satisfied is to know the person. And if you read their post I reckon diplomacy and tact are clearly not their strong point.