Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What did yer Folks say when they found out you were pregnant/got her pregnant?

• 26-04-2014 12:58am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 30 Mr Reese

I was just watching this...

youtube.com/watch?v=q2sM7tzILeE (awwwww)

Any good stories when you did your reveal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

'Fair play to ya, we didn't know ya had it in ya'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Ah fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

My cousin got pregnant at the age of 19 to a man 12 years her senior.

They weren't in a relationship, it was a secret drunkin get together after the local pub.

One day my mam and I called into my aunt and uncle whilst out for a walk.

The usual spread, tea, sambos amd cake etc. General chit chat.

Just as I was taking a sip of tea BOOM!

Uncle says "so X is pregnant!"

I spat my tea out, got the death stare from my mother.

Uncles house was not a happy household for a good long while.

The whole scene reminded me of the snapper and mr. Burges.

wazky wrote: »
    'we didn't know ya had it in ya'

I SEE WHAT YOU DID THERE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

bluewolf wrote: »
    I SEE WHAT YOU DID THERE

Were your folks watching the conception?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,656 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

cruais wrote: »

The whole scene reminded me of the snapper and mr. Burges.
    Who are ya bleedin' havin' it for?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 30 Mr Reese

lol

Well now the joke isn't funny anymore =/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

I announced it when we were out for dinner one evening. My mum offered me some wine ... I said, "No thanks, actually I won't be drinking for a while ... I'm pregnant." My mum changed the subject. My dad said nothing.

Brought it up again the next day. It turns out my mum had assumed I was joking, and my dad hadn't heard me. :/

They weren't particularly impressed, but came to accept it eventually!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Who are ya bleedin' havin' it for?

I cant say but he was A1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

About time for ye ffs.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,978 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

"ooh wow! I never thought I'd be a grandparent!" - Mum. Dad seemed beyond the power of speech. We were only just married and I think they just assumed we were never going to have kids, so it was a surprise. They were delighted though. My sister's reaction was the best, I phoned her and said "you're going to be an aunt at the end of august" and she goes "are you fcuking serious?" but sounded really angry. Turned out she thought the same as my parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,823 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

"Oh thank god we were sure you were gay"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Mr Reese wrote: »
    I was just watching this...

(awwwww)

Any good stories when you did your reveal?
    Thanks for that OP.

Fcuking onions in me pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Mr Reese wrote: »
    What did yer Folks say when they found out you were pregnant/got her pregnant?

Mum: "For fúcks sake Corvus, she's a Nun!"

Dad: "Nice one son."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

We never said anything to either of our parents. No need for a big announcement. I think my wife might have told her mother alright, but that was about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

"you like girls!?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Czarcasm wrote: »
    We never said anything to either of our parents. No need for a big announcement. I think my wife might have told her mother alright, but that was about it.

I didn't think you had children?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

I announced it when we were out for dinner one evening. My mum offered me some wine ... I said, "No thanks, actually I won't be drinking for a while ... I'm pregnant." My mum changed the subject. My dad said nothing.

Brought it up again the next day. It turns out my mum had assumed I was joking, and my dad hadn't heard me. :/

They weren't particularly impressed, but came to accept it eventually!

Were you young?

One my cousins got pregnant at 18. She was so tiny, bump-wise that her folks were none the wiser until she was six months gone. She told them just before she figured she would begin to show...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

Were you young?

27 ... so not that feckin young! It was mostly the fact that we're not married. No plans for that either. They came round to the idea though, he's their first grandchild and they love him to bits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

My father said to me "at least you didn't use contraception" and meant it. I was twenty years old and not in a relationship and my catholic dad thought my stupidity regarding lack of contraception was commendable instead of one of the stupidest things I'd ever done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭smokin ace

i remember back when i was only going out my now wife she when was 16 and i was 19 and she fell pregnant but when we told her mother and father his reply was did you every hear of fcuking johnnies along with a look on his face that would turn milk sour staring at me her mother was ok about it and all she said sure what can we do about it now but little did her father know 6 years later he was going to become a father himself again so i could not help myself and i gave him the same reply as he gave us only 6 years before with a massive grin on my face but all he done was laugh about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Smidge wrote: »
    I didn't think you had children?:confused:

Aye, just the one Smidge...

That I know of :pac:

Hmm, that probably sounds funnier when it's a reply to an old biddy's "20 questions" :o

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Called my folks to arrange some time to meet up withem as I had something to tell'em. My ma was releaved, she was expecting some sort of bad news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Congratulations!

Really? Do you really want to be getting mixed up with a married woman?

Congratulations!

Did you ever think of buying a TV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

smokin ace wrote: »
    she fell pregnant

Did she fall on.....um..... it?