Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golf Injuries

• 25-04-2014 7:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭

Whats been your worst injury ?

I had a bad fall on the forth in corballis today and I've broken my coccyx

at least 6 weeks till I'll be back out. Sorry if the ambulance put anyone off on the first tee but I got stuck trying to get back into the car and couldn't move.

I will be living through all your " how your game " , " boards handicap index " & last round updates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,817 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Sorry to hear that Ryaner, sounds painful.

I think The Lawman's injury ranks ahead of it, he may not want to relive that one though.

All my injuries have been mental so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭ryaner777

you'll need to give us a clue about lawmans injury now?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

ryaner777 wrote: »
    I've broken my b*ll*x

fyp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,817 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

you'll need to give us a clue about lawmans injury now?

From what I can remember he got a ball in the face from a driver, was a fairly freak shot were he thought he was standing well out of the way...
    Can't remember the details but he was standing close and I don't want to imagine how painful that was.
    Think there were plenty of broken teeth etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭gman127

Nothing like a driver in the face :eek: but I did fracture a toe two weeks ago. Second one from the left on the left foot so exactly where the weight transfer would be going really!
    Still sore but good weather and general thickness has me going out to play in the morning! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

Two very annoying but not very painful ones, a metatarsyl, also another thing on the same foot which I self diagnosed as Plantar Fascitis. Actually I self diagnosed both lol

Not exactly war wounds, but the second one took ages to heal, maybe seven or eight weeks, so annoying because I basically read everything possible about the foot and these types of muscle tears and, most people seemed to get no decent treatment from their doctors and some were chronic and did not heal.

Did some Stretching advised by the internet every morning and evening and eventually went, thankfully

I'd describe it as a scalpel ripping about a half inch of muscle on the right outer heel, and every morning feeling it rip and go back to square one if you forgot about and stood out of bed.

I put it down to bad footwear and starters using those molded insoles they do in lifestyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

Really sorry to hear that ryaner. Sounds very painful and hope you'll make a quick recovery to the game.

Par is correct. 3 wood ball into the face from 15 or so yards! Flush but I was back in two weeks so can't moan too much.

Get well.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Ouch, get well soon Ryaner.

a smack like that lawman you can moan all you like. was anything broke ?

cheers charlie, Ive had to unsubscribe from the arrange a game thread already !

I get jealous already when i get an email update.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,425 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Jaysus what happened.

Only I'd get away with this.

It is a fairly short par 3 to get in that much trouble.

Hope your better soon. I can only guess you fell off one of the embankments near that poxy fence ?

I went left off the tee, caught the hill and it rolled down towards the 2nd fairway.

played a lovely wedge back up to about 10 ft. walked back up the hill and was in the process of moving my bag over towards the next tee.

I let the bag go thinking it would gently run down the little hill and stop at the bottom.

as usual in corballis nothing rolled as it should do and the bag started heading towards the bunker.

I turned back to run after it to try and stop it and slipped on the dew ,up in the air and then straight down on my arse. Ground was rock hard and I fell straight on the bone. Disaster, I missed the par put as well !

Jaysus bad luck.

Gone to a push trolley myself and some have poor break designs.
    So poor, the foot one in particular. That I only use when totally necessary.

In future would go for break at handle.
    Was only thinking I could end up with clubs in a pond.
    By design they are very free.

On a side note what type of shoes did you have.

Worth just knowing as people have had doubts about the newer shoes on market.

Anyway no consolation to be part of an accident report above.

Best of luck. I know ye are made of hard stuff on that side of the city.

I was wearing a pair of these adidas crossflex

news_sergio.jpg

dont think the shoes were to blame, my own stupidity and not being more careful caused it.

No . There was a couple of factors. As you said. But i had those shoes and they are a disaster.

If you look at ridges they have a flat piece.
    So they are designed - not to go into ground at all. In fact it is a sort of hard rubber that is even slippy if you rub finger over it.

The Slippiest most dangerous things i ever had.

Grand for a dry summer day. Very comfortable. light

But any moisture your gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

Easily done, every time I slip or twist and the knee jars, I think 'that's it, knee ligament'.

You feel there are so many you can get for free until it happens.

Also another links classic is when you are on uneven land or deep rough on incline, you step down expecting the ground, but there a drop and you land straight legged and the shock goes straight to your back.

Had what I presume was a slight trapped nerve for weeks, again not painful but totally restricts swing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Easily done, every time I slip or twist and the knee jars, I think 'that's it, knee ligament'.

You feel there are so many you can get for free until it happens.

Also another links classic is when you are on uneven land or deep rough on incline, you step down expecting the ground, but there a drop and you land straight legged and the shock goes straight to your back.

Had what I presume was a slight trapped nerve for weeks, again not painful but totally restricts swing.

That's a killer alright, the course I play has a par 3 where you're shooting from a great height on the walk down one of the steps has a soft patch and I catch it every time. Given my knee is bad due to an old rugby injury I always get a cold sweat when it happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭meolwan

I just over keyhole surgery after tearing my medial ligament from the bone. Twisted knee hitting a ball off the grass at edge of bunker in Druids Glen. I thought no problem hit ball leg slipped into bunker thought no more about it kept walking till about 4 holes later. The pain and the size of knee thought I was turning into sheik .
    I hope to get back out in the next month or so and see how it holds up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

Nothing major thankfully. Bruised muscles in my lower back in work but thought I was over it until after the second tee box I had to limp off the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

a smack like that lawman you can moan all you like. was anything broke ?

cheers charlie, Ive had to unsubscribe from the arrange a game thread already !

I get jealous already when i get an email update.

Fully lacerated lip. Apparently there is four layers of muscle and tissue in your lips!! They were all cut through. 3 broken teeth and one beyond repair.

Good looks were only moderately ruined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Get well soon ryaner. Nasty injury.

Worst I had was a really bad calf muscle injury.

My mate hit a 3 wood off the deck and smashed it full force sideways nearly. Hit the middle of my calf muscle as I was looking at the horizon for his ball.

My god thd pain I can only assume that's what being shot feels like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Osgoodisgood

I have tennis elbow in my right arm which is uncomfortable sometimes and occasionally really painful. But let's face it. The Lawman has this one sorted. /thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Don't think I have ever sustained an injury while golfing but boy does it bring
    Back any niggle you have ever had!!! Have aggravated old neck injury, torn ligaments under my shoulder blade, lower back pain and lately am like the rest of you expecting my knee to go anytime soon. Swells up now after most rounds.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭robbok

Sorry to hear about the accident Ryaner, that sounds painful , hope you have a quick recovery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

ssbob wrote: »
    Don't think I have ever sustained an injury while golfing but boy does it bring
    Back any niggle you have ever had!!! Have aggravated old neck injury, torn ligaments under my shoulder blade, lower back pain and lately am like the rest of you expecting my knee to go anytime soon. Swells up now after most rounds.......
    Not that I'm qualified but I had a little tear on the meniscus of my knee a few years back
    A cyst developed and when I walked the walking was pumping the cyst and filling it with fluid
    It would be inflamed for a few days and then settle down only to then start over if I played again

Go to your doc and schedule an MRI anyway to get it looked at if possible

How is the body Ryaner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

I got hit in the head from on high with a ball on the 12th in Moate a few years back. I was stupidly well forward of my playing partners as I was looking for my ball that had gone wayward. Just as I found my ball and bent down to check it BANG I got smacked right on the top of my head!!

Luckily it was deep wintertime and my big woolly hat saved me a little I suppose but there was still blood streaming. We finished out the hole then went in!!

We never found the ball that hit me. Maybe it's still inside.

My poor mate was really worried and was ringing me every ten minutes when I got home to make sure I was still ok. Totally my own fault. I'm much less likely to be forward of my partners now - at least not with my back turned to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

various back injuries. Got one last thursday, was buckled playing the last few holes. Upper shoulder/neck. Very difficult to sleep for 3 nights after. Better now, but its so annoying.

Probably the 5th back injury in 5 years. I seem to be getting nailed by them.

How is the body Ryaner

It's getting there. Still the odd bit of pain but I'm back playing and off the pills so it's all good.:D

Got 36 holes in yesterday so can't complain.

Arrived home to see a cheque from golfsure waiting for me as well. They were very good and fast dealing with the claim. Covered all medical bills and medication costs and gave me an extra €100 because it was a fracture.

Anyone selling a Driver ?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

Done my back in on the first tee of the club matchplay. played on and ti make it worse only lost on the 18th.

That was 7 weeks away and even as I type this I am in pain sitting at the desk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Sean_pop

the lawman wrote: »
    Really sorry to hear that ryaner. Sounds very painful and hope you'll make a quick recovery to the game.

Par is correct. 3 wood ball into the face from 15 or so yards! Flush but I was back in two weeks so can't moan too much.

Get well.

By the sounds of that, you are Lucky to be alive!!.

Funny one on Saturday.

1 st tee - 1/2 gale - looking forward to playing nine.

Up steps - over on ankle (ankles not great from football)

Trip on the use steps sign (lol) :D:D:D:o:o:o

First thing in head - f*** not sure I can play.
    Walked it off and was delighted to go 9 in 5 over, played well - but on last started seizing up.

Shouldn't have played on - out of action here and frustrated as dying to play after watching golf.

Out of action for a week - hope to practice putting (maybe) - weather nice too.

Funny one - :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

^ get well soon :D

Playing partner - nice guy - laughed at me . Well in fairness - loved the painful irony myself.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

With bad knees, courses with constant hard sideways slopes are not good, have to be very careful, straight up and down hills fine but those ones where you have to tackle sideways not good...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Ciaranra

Get well Ryaner,
    Only golf injury I had is tennis elbow in both arms at the same time for about a year because I refused to stop playing,
    It stopped me from going to gym for over a year I am back training but very conscious of making sure I get the balance so I don't over due it again caused from excessive gripping, I still ice them if I feel iv over trained or practiced on the range to long,