Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Offered a job, am I mad to give up the one I have!

• 25-04-2014 2:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭

I'm currently employed in the public sector (don't shoot me!), on a permanent basis. Basically I'm bored out of my head most days and stuck in an office environment. I have been in my post over 2 years now and don't think I can do another 30 in it even though its permanent and pensionable as they say.

I sent my CV away a few weeks back to a company and have been offered a position there. The work is outdoors, no weekends and more importantly interesting! Hours of work are similar.

Initially on a 6 month probation with review after with career progression available.

Bit of a drop in salary but not that much that I can't allow for.

Am I mad to give jump from Public to private? Honestly I think I'll go, but would appreciate some opinions.

Would you stay in a boring job just for the sake of it being handy and permanent?

Cheers

DD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Look at your boss's boss. Ask yourself two things:

1) Do I want to be that guy or gal?

2) Would it be reasonable to get to that position in 10 to 12 years?

Two yesses stay where you are. Anything else ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭donegaldude

1) Yes but totally unrealistic target.

2) Not a chance, in ten years I'll still be charging batteries, fixing chairs and other things.

I have some thinking to do this weekend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

If you don't like the now and there are no possibilities for advancement then you may as well move on.

I wonder though if you are being a little hard on yourself, is that because the job two grades needs professional qualifications, you don't have?

In 1982 I joined the Post Office as a counter clerk, the basic entry grade. In 1989 I became the youngest Area Manager the business had ever had. Its all possible right place, right time, right qualifications, right attitude.

I wish you well

I'm a technician where I am (3rd Level education), there is progression to Senior technician, that takes about 5 years. To go to even an assistant lecturer will take at least 10-12 years as nobody is due to retire anytime soon.

Plus to get senior technician now as well a Masters is required, but I question the need for a Masters to essentially charge kit up and do running repairs on things. And I'm nearly sure most lecturers moving forward need a PhD.

That's a big commitment do manage as well as work, I realise people do it and fair play to those who do it but I don't have the drive at the minute to do it.

I do realise I am very lucky to be in the position I'm in and know plenty who have no work or have emigrated in the last few years to find work.

I'll chat to herself and a few others over the next few days before I make the mind up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

I don't know what the meaning of life is, but I'm pretty sure it's not "be bored out of your mind for 8 hours a day, 5 days a week, for a large chunk of your adult life".

Seems like a no brainer to me...

If you're still not convinced, imagine yourself as an old man, lying in hospital, knowing death is approaching... will you regret taking a risk and maybe improving your life or will you regret playing it safe and doing nothing?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

The OP is in the public sector- promotions are going to be few and far between for the foreseeable future. As an indication- 1,300 (pre-existing employees) people applied for a recent internal competition (I'm not going to say which organisation) in which the promotion panel has 14 positions. Aka- marginally over 1% of candidates were successful. And of the 14 promotions- sanction has to be sought on a case-by-case basis from the Department of Finance- before they are allowed promote the candidates.

So- it is wholly unrealistic and unreasonable to expect two promotions in a 10-15 year basis. Promotions in the public sector are pretty much non-existent.

As for giving up a permanent public sector role to take a job in the private sector- by your own admission its a drop in salary- are there any benefits associated with that job- like company pension plan, healthcare etc- that might sweeten the deal any? Even if the headline salary is a bit lower- your net might not reflect this- as you won't have to pay the public sector levies any longer.........

I'd be inclined to say- stay put where you are- and look for a better opportunity in future- the current offer is nice to have, but it involves a paycut- and while you might countenance it now- where could you be in 5 years time- would you be happy on a lower salary? Would your job be secure? Might you have children?

Could you take leave-of-absence for a year or two from your current post- and test the water with this job- and see how it goes? That would be an ideal situation. (Depends on the organisation of course).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭InReality

I'd try a few things before actually leaving.

See if you can in any way make the job interesting -asking for more work , talking to people in work , move sections / departments , transfers to other section in public service etc.

The way I look at it is that its so hard to get into the PS , its worth making sure there is no alternative to leaving.

But defo don't stay just because its permanent and pensionable etc , (unless your close to retiring anyway , which i'd assume not.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I work outdoors and it is worth more to me than money, in fact I earn just over half of what I got in my old office job and I have no regrets at all, not even fleeting ones. It's not for everyone though so you will only know yourself if it's for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭ryan101

I'm currently employed in the public sector (don't shoot me!), on a permanent basis. Basically I'm bored out of my head most days and stuck in an office environment. I have been in my post over 2 years now and don't think I can do another 30 in it even though its permanent and pensionable as they say.

I sent my CV away a few weeks back to a company and have been offered a position there. The work is outdoors, no weekends and more importantly interesting! Hours of work are similar.

Initially on a 6 month probation with review after with career progression available.

Am I mad to give jump from Public to private? Honestly I think I'll go, but would appreciate some opinions.

Would you stay in a boring job just for the sake of it being handy and permanent?

Cheers

DD

The Public Service in Ireland is finished, it's no place for the future, especially for any young person. If you're young, with no debts or ties, and have another job you'd like to go to, you'd want to be mad to stay there in this day and age.

Later in life you won't regret the things you do, you'll regret the things you didn't do.

Go for it, and don't look back. If you stay too long, you'll be stuck in the public service for life. Public enemy no. 1 is not a good place to be for anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭323

I'm a technician where I am (3rd Level education), there is progression to Senior technician, that takes about 5 years. To go to even an assistant lecturer will take at least 10-12 years as nobody is due to retire anytime soon.

Plus to get senior technician now as well a Masters is required, but I question the need for a Masters to essentially charge kit up and do running repairs on things. And I'm nearly sure most lecturers moving forward need a PhD.

That's a big commitment do manage as well as work, I realise people do it and fair play to those who do it but I don't have the drive at the minute to do it.

I do realise I am very lucky to be in the position I'm in and know plenty who have no work or have emigrated in the last few years to find work.

I'll chat to herself and a few others over the next few days before I make the mind up.

7 years to progress to "Senior Technician", very odd

Personally, I would say, Get out

The thought of staying in a job where you are bored silly for a month let alone a lifetime is unthinkable. With a 3rd level technical qualification and being from Donegal (figuring from your name here), you should be smarter than that.biggrin.png

You stay there too long you could well find you become unemployable anywhere in the real world.

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 holidayadvice

I am in same situation after 6 months i can take no more. Take a risk.Life is too short .U will go crazy in the job u are in now. IF you are like me you need a challenge :)

quote="donegaldude;90093651"]I'm currently employed in the public sector (don't shoot me!), on a permanent basis. Basically I'm bored out of my head most days and stuck in an office environment. I have been in my post over 2 years now and don't think I can do another 30 in it even though its permanent and pensionable as they say.

Cheers

DD[/quote]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Mirafiori

InReality wrote: »

See if you can in any way make the job interesting -asking for more work , talking to people in work , move sections / departments , transfers to other section in public service etc.

The way I look at it is that its so hard to get into the PS , its worth making sure there is no alternative to leaving.

But defo don't stay just because its permanent and pensionable etc , (unless your close to retiring anyway , which i'd assume not.)

I agree about looking for the opportunities to make the work more interesting and even effectively carve out a rewarding role for yourself by taking some initiative. I'm not saying it is possible, but it is worth thinking about. Have any of the people who have been there long term done that?

Also, does your job give you long summer holidays? If so, that would give you time to be doing things outdoors.

These are just things to think about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭JohnDx

Can I have your old job, I always wanted to put my feet up and get paid for it

MOD NOTE: No more of this please. Private / public sniping is tedious, mostly ill-informed, and does not take account of the different pressures faced by workers on each side of the fence.

Well the job offered is 90% outdoors, home every night bar the odd overnight if working up the country. I worked away before for 2 years, loved the fact I was outside, able to make decisions, and could see works progress from a green field to for example a new road being opened.

I left that job as I was across the water and was only getting home every 5-6 weeks in the end for a weekend. In effect it was 35-40 days on 2 off. The job I'm in got me back to Ireland but I miss outside and being stuck in an office just isn't for me.

No I don't get the long holidays that teaching staff get, we are here all year which makes it a long summer when there is nobody about.

I know someone who works with the other company and will be talking to him tonight. The missus is behind me whatever I decide. At the minute it looks like I'm going to go.

I think it's just the monotony that's getting to me, I've tried settling in here play football with staff etc but after that most will barely acknowledge you if they meet you.

Maybe it's because I'm an outsider here, not from the county I work in. Some staff in the school would barely acknowledge you in the corridor. 1 or 2 would have lunch with you the majority wouldn't. 95% of lunch is spent on my own.

I enjoy helping the students out with projects and it's great seeing them picking up new things. I've had to dig out a few lecturers in their practical classes as they hadn't a clue what way instruments worked so much that I ended up running labs for them. Way above my paygrade and technically something I shouldn't be doing.

I guess it's nice to have the offer, and the move would be into a new expanding area in the field of work. Or stay here fix chairs, charge batteries, photocopy for lecturers and tidy their storerooms and hope that something opens up down the line, but the longer I stay in the harder it will be to get out and I fear becoming institutionalised!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

It sounds like you know what you want to do. You're just scared. That's understandable.

Take a risk...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

InReality wrote: »

I agree with this. Just my two cents to add: Public Sector is generally very amenable to further training/ education. You could eke out a degree or a postgrad for yourself very easily, work providing the funds and if you've supportive management you might be able to do some of the studying in work during the quiet periods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭TOEJOE

Hi
    Solution
    Look for a career break.

Best wishes

ToeJoe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Hi Op

just reading your posts to be quiet honest you sound bored in your current position. Both of my parent took the risk in the late 70's and left secure state jobs to set up there own business. At the time everyone thought they were mad, looking back now it was the best decision they ever made. I also have friends who have left the public service to go into the private sector none of them have any regrets about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

JohnDx wrote: »
    Can I have your old job, I always wanted to put my feet up and get paid for it.

And if you don't want the new job, can I have it?

5 years in an office now, and have recently realised (not for the first time), that I would far prefer to do something practical and outdoors.
    I've been trying to come up with a realistic area to look for opportunities in over the last couple of weeks, but haven't gotten very far.

Can I ask what the job I'm asking to steal involves? ;)

Well, I've been back onto the company making the offer, job is permanent with additional benefits. I know someone working with them and gave them a ring to suss it out. All sounds good, good company, busy let you get on with the work, good career progression available and would recommend them.

Upshot is I'm going to make the jump, it won't go down well where I am now but such is life. Thanks for all the advice!
    DD

Just an update, I fecking love the new job! Lads are sound at work, only there 4 weeks and looking after a contract on my own. I last spoke to my boss last Friday. Just let's you at it.
    The wife reckons I come home beaming after a days work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Just an update, I fecking love the new job! Lads are sound at work, only there 4 weeks and looking after a contract on my own. I last spoke to my boss last Friday. Just let's you at it.

That's worth more than a big pay cheque in my opinion. Delighted for you. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 fizzles

Well done to you taking the chance, delighted it's all worked out well for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭TOEJOE

Hi
    Did you take a career break,or did you jump ship.

Best wishes

TOEJOE

TOEJOE wrote: »
    Hi
    Did you take a career break,or did you jump ship.

Best wishes

TOEJOE

Jumped ship, no regrets at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Delighted for you it was. From reading through the thread i was hoping that was what you were going to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Any chance of posting up the ad for your old job, I have a pair of feet that won't get paid to put themselves up :)

Congratulations and fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭thalia_13

Im in the middle of attempting to jump from civil service after 9 yrs, into possibly a different branch of my expertise and your post just made me realise that I don't need to be scared to make that jump. thanks for posting an update, it really has given me a bit of hope that my.move may be as successful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭323

Fair play to you for taking the jump.

All the best with the new job.

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭superman28

Despite giving up massive PS benefits,, like a gold plated pension,, high pay and a job for life and double the "sick" days off.. (average over 2 weeks a year)

Life is too short to be stuck in a job you don't like,, I would advise first seeing if you can move to another job/dept within the PS first,, otherwise jump ship..

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Fair play man. It must have been a difficult decision as it is always easier to play it safe. Delighted that you like the new job :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 52 ✭✭samantha fortune

OP if you will be happier in the new job then go for it dont stay in a job you hate just because of the money and permanent position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

I personally think you are mad to give up the job. Gold plated pension, increments will return and a cushy number to boot. You are on the gravy train. Remember the grass is always greener on the other side until you go there.

You could get into something like share trading while getting paid to do it?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

DellyBelly wrote: »
    I personally think you are mad to give up the job. Gold plated pension, increments will return and a cushy number to boot. You are on the gravy train. Remember the grass is always greener on the other side until you go there.

He has already moved.
    Not everyone wants a cushy number. There are a certain amount of people who want to achieve something in their lifetime and get a sense of accomplishment from their work. These are the people that keep the country running as they add value to the economy. Those that turn up for work and do as little as possible all day are a net drain on the economy and are (if public sector) essentially higher paid social welfare recipients or (if private sector) soon to be social welfare recipients. I personally could go in every day to a job where I was bored. It is soul destroying.
    So congrats again DD, sounds like you made the right move

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

Go for it, go for it.. Most defiantly do.. Youll kick yourself if you don't always wondering...

There is nothing worse that staying in a job that well you are fed up of and knowing also that it will not change... Id be running out that door but that's just me..

Im bored of my nut in work but tis the only thing there, if I was offered something especially outdoors or energetic work and the money was more or less the same I would defo go for it.. Been in the same job now for a while and tis going nowhere, stuck picking up the slack from another and it is actually quite sad the way it is handled...

Best of luck with whatever choice you go for and glad that the misses supports it makes it easier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

Oh sorry was playing ketchup!! Yeaahhh well done to you delighted you went for it.. And as all above not everyone is in it for money there are far more important things than it

Sorry to drag up an old thread.

Anyways I made the jump 3 years ago, and to be honest I haven't looked back. I've never gone into work dreading what was ahead of me. Sure there are hard projects but i think around 90% of projects I worked on were delivered on time and under budget.

I've recently been promoted to management for our office, another challenging chapter in my career but one I'm loving so far.

So looking back I have no regrets at all, I've reached a pay scale (not that money is everything) in 3 years that would have taken at least 10 in my last one. Have a great work life balance, since gotten married and had 2 kids so I have the hands full!

So for anyone doubting their current position, I've found that the gut instinct proved right. It won't work for everyone so I suppose this post is to say that sometimes it does work out. you get out of things from what you put into them.

DD