Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was the first thing you can remember Pirating ?

• 24-04-2014 12:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭

I remember making a copy of the game Barbarian on the C64 with the double Tape Deck :D

Ahhh simpler times....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Pirating?????

How very dare you...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,929 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

An oil vessel off the Somali coast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Does recording songs off the radio onto tape count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭maximoose

First thing I ever downloaded was Bon Jovi - It's my Life on Napster

It took about 2 hours to finish the 4mb file. I was amazed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭turnikett1

lol, some songs off Limewire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

A car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

A few blues for a few mates, the god old fashioned hairy stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Some terrible emo rock music when I was 13 or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

MTUSA off the TV with a early dictaphone (that was about the size a briefcase).

If someone spoke or closed a door loudly.. I wouldn't speak to them for days.

Vincent Hanley was an excellent presenter and amazingly, only just 33 when he died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

A few blues for a few mates, the god old fashioned hairy stuff.

Actually I totally forgot about VHS/Betamax copies lol

Remember when Natural Born Killers was banned and that was the only way to get a copy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Limp Bizkit - Nookie

why can I not go back, WHY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Recording the scene in Deep Impact where the asteroid hits the earth and floods New York on our old camera.

I even managed to record the sound through it so it was a proper telesync :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Im I was taping radio songs before I was copying c64 games. I'm gonna have a guess at some guns n roses as my first venture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

A policemans helmet... which I then gave to his wife.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

A pretty big oil tanker off the Alaskan coast, unfortunately I couldn't control it for sh*te and the rest is history http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Exxon_Valdez_oil_spill

In fairness to Exxon, they did a damn good coverup about the ship being stolen part

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

DrumSteve wrote: »
    A policemans helmet... which I then gave to his wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

I remember making a copy of the game Barbarian on the C64 with the double Tape Deck :D

Ahhh simpler times....

When the prodigy released 'experience' i got a copy,used the school photocopier to make up cassette sleeves (the album cover was plain black and white anyway
    )and made a sh1tload of tapes,one by one and sold them in school and to mates for 2quid apiece.Made about £80,a tidy sum to a 12year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,818 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Doobie brothers - long train running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Music. I had a box of literally hundreds of tapes, copies of either other tapes or CDs. I have a friend who is 4 years older, so between the age of 11 and 15, he was working and earning (in a family business) and obviously I was not. He bought loads of music and another friend and I would basically copy all of them.

Of course if that ability wasn't there, we wouldn't have bought any of that music anyway, so nobody lost out. Even more, I have later bought all of the best of those in digital or CD format when tapes became obsolete. If I hadn't pirated them, I probably would never have bought them.

I remember using Napster for a while, queueing up 10 tracks or so and leaving it running as long as I could to download them. They stick out in my music collection like a sore thumb with weird filenames and no artist/album/track information whatsoever.
    Buying a CD was still easier than downloading until I got broadband.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Probably Hitch-hikers Guide to the Galaxy which I taped in full from BBC radio 4 in 1978/79

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

Some demos and b-sides for bands I'm now embarrassed to have liked on limewire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

Anyone remember they used to broadcast Commodore 64 games on pirate radio and you could record it onto a tape, spend 20 minutes loading it and then it fail?

That was my old fashioned P2P type thing in the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭aidoh

I remember driving out to the Ashbourne Market from Dublin every couple of Sundays when I was a kid and buying Mars Attacks, Space Jam and Jean-Claude Van Damme's 'The Quest' on VHS for 3 pounds each when they were still in the cinema.

It's mad to think I could torrent all 3 of them now in about 15 minutes for free!

I remember my eldest brother doing the C64 double tape deck job on some crap Navy Seals and Terminator 2 game too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

aidoh wrote: »
    I remember driving out to the Ashbourne Market from Dublin every couple of Sundays when I was a kid and buying Mars Attacks, Space Jam and Jean-Claude Van Damme's 'The Quest' on VHS for 3 pounds each when they were still in the cinema.

It's mad to think I could torrent all 3 of them now in about 15 minutes for free!

I remember my eldest brother doing the C64 double tape deck job on some crap Navy Seals and Terminator 2 game too!

I'm from Ashbourne and I don't remember a market. When was it held and what part of the village?

Ah I don't know I would've been only 8 or so when we would go out there.

It was a big car boot sale in a field and it was referred to as the Ashbourne Market.

Ah I don't know I would've been only 8 or so when we would go out there.

It was a big car boot sale in a field and it was referred to as the Ashbourne Market.

I have no idea how old you are. What year was it?

Around '96/ 97

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Grand Prix for the ZX spectrum, two tape recorders, cut up headphone cables and lots of insulation tape.

That, and copying rental videos from the local video shop, one grainy copy at a time....

Around '96/ 97

The only two markets near here were the Fairyhouse Market in Ratoath and the White House market near the Coolquay Lodge. The White House one used to sell fireworks until the Gardaí clamped down on it. I think there was pirated stuff too.

http://www.whitehouse.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

The Mary Celeste. Due to my inexperience I botched it though, stole the crew and left the cargo behind. I was too embarrassed to say anything until now.

The only two markets near here were the Fairyhouse Market in Ratoath and the White House market near the Coolquay Lodge. The White House one used to sell fireworks until the Gardaí clamped down on it. I think there was pirated stuff too.

http://www.whitehouse.ie/

Yeah maybe it was one of them. But as I said it was more of a car boot sale in a big field that everybody seemed to call the Ashbourne Market.

Anyway tell us a piracy story to get the thread back on track lest ye walk the plank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

It would have probably been Long Wave Radio Atlantic 252. Would be sitting there with blank cassette in place and finger over the record button. Then it was down to good reflexes that you got the start of the song and praying that the DJ didn't decide to talk over the last 30 seconds of the song.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Clogher Market was full of pirated music and film! Plenty of dodgy looking electronics as well. "What do you mean, you've never heard of Skiditski? Great tellys!" :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

The Breakfast Club. Sold it for 50p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Can remember copying "hunchback" on the C64 but I don't think I ever had a successful copy, used to just hang on the load screen. Maybe nostalgia but I alway remember it being a great game.
    Used to use Napster on dial-up. Used to have a copy of Christy Moore's Live album and lost it, so spent days/weeks downloading it. I remember seeing people with T3 lines downloading a song in what seemed like seconds and being so jealous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭xLisaBx

I burned a copy of Now!whatever number when I was about 10. Thought I was the coolest kid going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

On vhs it was a Simpsons box set thing with the help of my uncle.
    On tape it was Michael Jackson's Thriller album.
    And via the internet an episode of Lost. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

What was the first thing you can remember Pirating

Boarded a Spanish Brig that was just outta Havana. Lost a leg and an eye but good times all the same.