Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stag in Vegas - yay or nay

• 23-04-2014 1:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭

Hey,

Has anyone ever been to Vegas on a stag?

Hearing mixed reports about it as a stag location. In fact most are saying it probably isnt the best spot for it.
    But the few that said it was brilliant do paint a very good picture of it.

So looking for boardsie's advice on this, your thoughts are appreciated, thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭boardie100

depends what you're looking for.... :)

was over there not long ago on one and had a great time.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

ever see the movie The Hangover?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

boardie100 wrote: »
    depends what you're looking for.... :)

was over there not long ago on one and had a great time.....

It'll just be drinking, all good solid drinkers, with the occasional strip club thrown in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Unless you actually live somewhere nearby like LA it is going to be very expensive not to mention very long flights to and from. You could have just as much craic in any big city in Europe to be honest.

Ah i know its a bit of an expense, and dont want to put any pressure on the lads to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Unless you actually live somewhere nearby like LA it is going to be very expensive not to mention very long flights to and from.

"How about that ride in"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It'd could be great but to be honest I'd resent being invited to a Vegas stag because of the expense and the ungodly time it takes to get there.

Yeah but i could have a Vegas stag and an Irish one for the lads that cant make it...
    And for the lads that fancy another piss up :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

I would prefer a european city personally. Vegas is expensive for liquer.

I dunno man, if all you're looking for is drinking and strip clubs, then pretty much any European city would do. You could get to Amsterdam for probably a fifth of what it would cost to get to Vegas and in 2 hours as opposed to 16.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

Why not Atlantic city?

Its a personal thing, guess i just always fancied Vegas as great for me stag. Now the time has come!!
    But as i said in the OP, seems like a very mixed bag, some for, more against it.

And then it is expensive also, but they've 10 months to squirrel away some cash :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Think I've been invited to about 12 stags in Las Vegas every bloke thinks his is going to be there and it slowly gets closer to home as he realizes it isn't a runner. However have been to Vegas twice on holidays and its a great spot, would make a great spot for a stag but very expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭slowharry

Hamburg its a pretty mental town for a night out. In my experience its better than newcastle or Amsterdam as a stag destination

Stay in the Meininger Hotel/hostel (cheap as chips)

slowharry wrote: »
    Hamburg its a pretty mental town for a night out. In my experience its better than newcastle or Amsterdam as a stag destination

Stay in the Meininger Hotel/hostel (cheap as chips)

Ai Hamburg is class. Sleazy as hell though lol

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

You're looking at about 750e pp for the cheapest flights and a mid-range center strip hotel (Bally's for example). The flight times can be long for the cheaper flights but with a group it should go fast.

More than enough things to do there for the non gamblers and the blast of vitamin D alone is worth it imo :)

So basically the only issue seems to be the expense...

Flight times aren't really an issue with a group of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

I find it funny that in the middle of a recession someone would even consider having their stag in vegas.
    All that expense before the actual wedding. Thought those days were gone.

Plenty of great european cities out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Icaras

Do it. Its a great place just plan to do stuff when you go out there. Red rock canyon and hoover dam are great. We stayed in the MGM and it was not that expensive, also got 10% WC boxing fight - cant remember which one. Hard rock hotel is nice too - you can connect your phone to the room speakers through blue tooth which I thought was a nice touch.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Slattsy wrote: »
    So basically the only issue seems to be the expense...

I think so. Once you are there of course it can be as cheap or as expensive as you make it. Either you drink expensive cocktails in an upmarket club or you drink for free at the slots. Of course there's always the middle-ground where you can find places that do $2 beers and $1 hotdogs :)

It's as easy as hell to spend money there but the option is there to not have to (though these people and these people can bleed you dry) :)

Its something i'll just have to run past the lads i guess.
    I dont want to put pressure on anyone. If most of them seem game then i'll go for it i think.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

No... Too far away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Slattsy wrote: »
    Its a personal thing, guess i just always fancied Vegas as great for me stag. Now the time has come!!
    But as i said in the OP, seems like a very mixed bag, some for, more against it.

And then it is expensive also, but they've 10 months to squirrel away some cash :)

Going to Vegas is very expensive. It takes more than just squirreling away some cash to get there from here. It also takes a day to get there and a day to get back. The day you get back is wasted, as you can't really do a full days work after traveling overnight. So that is three days people need to take off work, before you even get to doing any official stag shenanigans. It is so far away and so expensive, it is not worth going (from here) for just a couple of days. So you would also be asking people to take lots of time off work, that is over and above the typical Friday and/or Monday that people would normally take off for a stag weekend on this side of the pond.

I think you will find that everyone will initially agree that it is a great idea, as who wouldn't want to go to Vegas for a stag? But once you need people to put their money where their mouth is and pay for it, as well as arrange for the time off from work, they will probably start to drop out pretty quickly. Unless you and your friends are all loaded and, you all have jobs where you can take loads of time off off work, asking everyone to schelp to Las Vegas it is a bit of an imposition imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭TheHappyChappy

Went there on stag 2 years ago 5 night package inc flights with virgin 499 pounds from london - best money ever spent.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Going to Vegas is very expensive. It takes more than just squirreling away some cash to get there from here. It also takes a day to get there and a day to get back. The day you get back is wasted, as you can't really do a full days work after traveling overnight. So that is three days people nee to take off work, before you even get to doing any official stag shenanigans. It is so far away and so expensive, it is not worth going (from here) for just a couple of days. So would also be asking people to take lots of time off work, that is over and above the typical Friday and/or Monday that people would normally take off for a stag weekend on this side of the pond.

I think you will find that everyone will initially agree that it is a great idea, as who wouldn't want to go to Vegas for a stag? But once you need people to put their money where their mouth is and pay for it, as well as arrange for the time off from work, they will probably start to drop out pretty quickly. Unless you and your friends are all loaded and, you all have jobs where you can take loads of time off off work, asking everyone to schelp to Las Vegas it is a bit of an imposition imo.

Cheers.
    Dont think taking a few days off work is an issue. Your talking maybe 3 days tops off work. No biggie really when you know its on the cards.
    The money side is a concern and i have acknowledged this from the start. I'll let the lads make a call on it i reckon. Def dont want anyone under pressure and feeling obliged to go. Im not Groom-to-be-zilla :D
    Went there on stag 2 years ago 5 night package inc flights with virgin 499 pounds from london - best money ever spent.

Cheap Ryanair flight to London and then direct from there?

Been on both sides and the fact that you get an invite to a stag in somewhere like Vegas will mean you feel under pressure regardless. Maybe if you emphasise the point that you'll have a second stag back home will lessen it, but you'll have to make sure that they know that the second stag is just as important to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

The bottom line is that the things fellas are interested in at stag parties are more expensive in Vegas than most other places.

finbarrk wrote: »
    The bottom line is that the things fellas are interested in at stag parties are more expensive in Vegas than most other places.

Mass is really that expensive over there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

I reckon if you went to Vegas on a stag you would certainly enjoy it but more than likely look back on it in a few years with regret. I think it is much better to go there with the wife, see a few shows, check out the casinos, eat at some amazing restaurants etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Radiotower

You mention you want to go somewhere for drinking and hit a few strip clubs. I notice you never mentioned gambling which is the main event in Vegas. If you're not into gambling then its not for you. Hard to weigh up where you could burn through your money faster - the casino or the strip club.

I was there a couple of years ago and would go back but only if I happen to be in America at the time. 3 days max is all you need in Vegas and as someone else said it'll take 3 days in travelling which is a bit of a waste.

Most stags I've gone to lately have just been one night sessions - a big cut back from the long weekend stags back in the Celtic Tiger. Don't forget that the lads will also have to shell out for attending your wedding which is never cheap.

I'd say save the time and money on travelling to Vegas and having a second Irish stag and go closer to home - even in Ireland, if you're with your mates it doesn't matter where you are, you'll have the craic - esp if all you're interested in is drinking.

I am into gambling. Most of my posts are in the Horse Racing thread :D

I'll let the lads know, they can make the decision and i'll tell them there's no pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Got invited to a stag in Vegas .. didn't go.

Who wants to travel that far and spend that much on a stag when you have the cost of the wedding and hotel and present etc etc.

A cheapo weekend away somewhere with a Ryanair flight is grand, all you'll be doing is drinking anyway and you can do that anywhere :D

I'd recommend Berlin, cheap and you can get a group accommodation to keep costs down.

You can then spend a bit on some cool stuff, shooting, track day, archery, power boating, sky diving... whatever :D

Got invited to a stag in Vegas .. didn't go.

Who wants to travel that far and spend that much on a stag when you have the cost of the wedding and hotel and present etc etc.

A cheapo weekend away somewhere with a Ryanair flight is grand, all you'll be doing is drinking anyway and you can do that anywhere :D

I'd recommend Berlin, cheap and you can get a group accommodation to keep costs down.

You can then spend a bit on some cool stuff, shooting, track day, archery, power boating, sky diving... whatever :D

That's just wasting good drinking time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭Lombardo86

I know a lad who went on a stag to Vegas recently.. him and 2 lads went. Initially everybody was all for it.

I would rather a stag with 22 in Ireland/cheap flight away than a 4-5 person trip costing the lads who do go a fortune.

I'd love a stag in Vegas but the thoughts of putting people out that much is just not right in my opinion. If you do get numbers, will the lads be able to go away with wives/families on top of your stag trip and wedding?