Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old rude men. (nsfw)

• 22-04-2014 12:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭

I was just walking across the road near trinity beside the road works there and an old man told me to, "**** off on out of my way". What the hell! I just stood there and looked at him and he walked around me. Who says things like that to people they don't even know. What if I had of been a scumbag and clocked gramps in the face!?
    Anyway is there any laws to stop people saying things like this to strangers? Imagine he said it to a few yanks. They'd tell all their friends how rude we were.
    This guy could barely walk so he wasn't going to get anywhere fast so I doubt he was in any rush. He had a hearing aid though so I should of shouted in that to teach him a lesson. It doesn't matter what age you are you can't just get away with saying things like that to strangers and it's not cute. This is why old people are generally disliked in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

I was just walking across the road near trinity beside the road works there and an old man told me to, "**** off on out of my way". What the hell! I just stood there and looked at him and he walked around me. Who says things like that to people they don't even know. What if I had of been a scumbag and clocked gramps in the face!?
    Anyway is there any laws to stop people saying things like this to strangers? Imagine he said it to a few yanks. They'd tell all there friends how rude we were.
    This guy could barely walk so he wasn't going to get anywhere fast so I doubt he was in any rush. He had a hearing aid though so I should of shouted in that to teach him a lesson. It doesn't matter what age you are you can't just get away with saying things like that to strangers and it's not cute. This is why old people are generally disliked in this country.

Far too many prepositions. I would have flailed a confused pirouette with rubbish instructions like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Old people like that deserve to get knocked the f*ck out.
    Self righteous pr*cks who think they have a free pass to act that way just because they've spent more years on this planet. Yeah, well done. Big achievement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Teddy, I think you should stop going out in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Muise... wrote: »
    Far too many prepositions. I would have flailed a confused pirouette with rubbish instructions like that.

Lol that made me laugh!

I was a little shocked when he said it alright but for very different reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

This is why old people are generally disliked in this country.

Was there a vote, or did I perhaps miss the memo when this was established?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Considering you go around pulling headphones out of peoples' ears, I'm surprised you weren't told to fcuk off long ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

He might have just soiled himself. Things like that happen to old people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Just apologize and tell him that you understand time is precious for old folks, what with the reaper hovering above them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

He might have just soiled himself. Things like that happen to people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Should have got out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

you should have ripped the hearing aid out of his ear and roared into it Teddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

I was just walking across the road near trinity beside the road works there and an old man told me to, "**** off on out of my way".

He was probably just in a hurry to get to Trinity to remove his car from the archway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

nsfw? :confused:

You sure you didn't tamper with his headphones first Ned? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Properly just a Nutter,with the state of mental health care these days, a fair few walkng about.

kfallon wrote: »
    nsfw? :confused:

You sure you didn't tamper with his headphones first Ned? :p

I swore in my post so I don't know if that's allowed in work places.

I usually love old people. Prefer them generally. Just so many of my friends are always giving out about old people they have to deal with and this guy should probably be put down. What a miserable asshole trying to ruin my day.
    YYou can be a prick just because you're an oap. Old women would never do this. I think it's something to do with becoming impudent.

It doesn't matter what age you are you can't just get away with saying things like that to strangers and it's not cute. This is why old people are generally disliked in this country.

It's a possibility that the old gent has some dementia. It kind of wipes the necessity to adhere to social niceties off the verbal agenda. My poor old grandad wouldn't say boo to a goose in his healthy years but happily told all and sundry to F**k off for looking at him crossways when he developed dementia. It wasn't his fault, and it might not be the old guys.

Bit of tolerance and consideration of all the possibilities mightn't go amiss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

did he not have earphones?

I usually love old people. Prefer them generally. Just so many of my friends are always giving out about old people they have to deal with and this guy should probably be put down. What a miserable asshole trying to ruin my day.
    YYou can be a prick just because you're an oap. Old women would never do this. I think it's something to do with becoming impudent.

"Impudent" was an imprudent choice of word.

But I do love you. :)

How did you know he couldn't get it up :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Old women would never do this. I think it's something to do with becoming impudent.

Most of the nastiest old people I've ever met have been women, absolute hags of people who reveled in misery and stirring shìt for the sake of it.

Still, I wouldn't generalise old people because of those few wagons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭joi99

I'd like to hear the old man's side of the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Candie wrote: »
    It's a possibility that the old gent has some dementia. It kind of wipes the necessity to adhere to social niceties off the verbal agenda. My poor old grandad wouldn't say boo to a goose in his healthy years but happily told all and sundry to F**k off for looking at him crossways when he developed dementia. It wasn't his fault, and it might not be the old guys.

Bit of tolerance and consideration of all the possibilities mightn't go amiss.
    ^^^
    This.

There is a bothersome dearth of respect and compassion for old people in Western society, with it's worship of bullhockey "celebrity" and endless Quixotic questing for eternal youth. When an old person dies in China, they say "there goes another library burnt down.".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Your not teddy from dalkey by any chance?

He is the one usually screaming the abuse :-D

I've come across plenty like that in Dublin he was probably on the sauce plenty of nutters walking around

Your not teddy from dalkey by any chance?

He is the one usually screaming the abuse :-D

I've come across plenty like that in Dublin he was probably on the sauce plenty of nutters walking around

Nope :)

I never thought it could have been dementia. I just thought it was a weird thing to say to someone. I'm not a student either so I could understand of he thought I was normally but I was wearing a suit...

jimgoose wrote: »
    ^^^
    This.

There is a bothersome dearth of respect and compassion for old people in Western society, with it's worship of bullhockey "celebrity" and endless Quixotic questing for eternal youth. When an old person dies in China, they say "there goes another library burnt down.".

I think my synapses are all askew after a long weekend of sunshine and wine, but that made me laugh so hard and I'm not sure why. Another library, godhelpus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭carraig2

Old women would never do this??
    You never met my mother and her over 80's gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

He must have known you:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

How is this nsfw?

jimgoose wrote: »
    When an old person dies in China, they say "there goes another library burnt down.".

What a lovely saying.

My granny is the repository of all wisdom garnered by humanity over the millennia, when she goes it might not make the papers but it'll be a sad loss for mankind :)

Not only my opinion, but hers too. :)

Candie wrote: »
    What a lovely saying.

My granny is the repository of all wisdom garnered by humanity over the millennia, when she goes it might not make the papers but it'll be a sad loss for mankind :)

Not only my opinion, but hers too. :)

Aha - so that's where you get all your little bits of useful information, rumbled! :P

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

I think my synapses are all askew after a long weekend of sunshine and wine, but that made me laugh so hard and I'm not sure why. Another library, godhelpus.

:mad:

Anyone who has lived 70 years definitely has something to teach you. They may not be educated, and the package may not be fancy enough for you. But you'd have to be pretty obtuse not to learn anything from them if you try.

EDIT [nerd] And I believe that's an African, rather than chinese, proverb [/nerd]

Oink wrote: »
    :mad:

Anyone who has lived 70 years definitely has something to teach you. They may not be educated, and the package may not be fancy enough for you. But you'd have to be pretty obtuse not to learn anything from them if you try.

EDIT [nerd] And I believe that's an African, rather than chinese, proverb [/nerd]

And I believed it was a funny, rather than serious, proverb. But shure carry on giving out to me like a bossy boots for things I didn't say.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

[...]But shure carry on giving out to me like a bossy boots for things I didn't say.

Meh. Sounds like work.

I What if I had of been a scumbag and clocked gramps in the face!?
    He had a hearing aid though so I should of shouted in that to teach him a lesson.
    This is why old people are generally disliked in this country
    this guy should probably be put down.
    YYou can be a prick just because you're an oap. Old women would never do this.
    I think it's something to do with becoming impudent
    I'm not a student either so I could understand of he thought I was normally

Teddy. There is no way that these are genuine posts from a 27 year old man.

It's become increasingly obvious that you're trolling this forum, and getting an grand old kick out of it. Don't get me wrong, you're not winding up people about being nazi sympathisers, or that you love to smack children, but still, it's trolling.

You've been banned from starting threads before, you've been permabanned and then had it rescinded. This is the last warning you'll get. Stop it.