Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dealing with Dodgy Unwanted Deliveries

• 21-04-2014 2:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭

Ok so over the weekend we had two Pizzas with three tubs of Ben and Jerrys, two rather large bags of Chinese food and a large bag of chipper from local takeaways.
    And before you say it no i'm not a glutton.

Some asshole keeps sending things to my door and i need to find out who it is before were blacklisted from every take away in the area.

Didn't piss anybody off (its also been happening to a few mates but they dont know who's doing it either). They're giving in our number when placing an order and the address is on file so its really easy for them to send this **** without giving any of their own details. Its also really
    annoying as they ring the numbers provided to give us abuse when they cant deliver because they are bogus deliveries.

Any suggestions on how to find the smart aleck?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Contact the take always directly and tell them not to deliver to your address.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Contact the take always directly and tell them not to deliver to your address.

What happens if op wants a take away some time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭Appleguy

That doesn't really help me find them.

And they're coming from all different take aways so its next to impossible to contact them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

The delivery drivers might be understandably annoyed but they are still out of line if they are calling you to give abuse

You shouldn't have to put up with that

Are you living in apt block, housing estate op?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Get the delivery drivers to note the number when they get an order for you.

What happens if op wants a take away some time?

Use those crazy legs of course!

Or pre arrange a super secret code word.......or change phone number!

Can people, really, really, really not figure things out for themselves anymore?

Are you living in apt block, housing estate op?

Private house in housing estate

Appleguy wrote: »

Is it happening to any other of your neighbours?

Use those crazy legs of course!

Or pre arrange a super secret code word.......or change phone number!

Can people, really, really, really not figure things out for themselves anymore?

They're two stupid solutions so i won't be relying on you to figure it out anyway.

Me change my number because some asshole is sending over takeaways, get real would ya!

Is it happening to any other of your neighbours?

Nope me and a bunch of friends. So the person must know us but we can't figure out who it is. They were sending out takeaways to 4 different address' using out mobile phone numbers. Probably €400 or €500 in waste from the takeaways by this one person alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I would think this is a bigger problem for the companies sending the food. It's costing them money each time. It should be up to them to find out who's making the prank calls, they should be able to do something about it.

Its very childish cowardly behaviour they are up to, the take away companies will get very sick of this and could start taking legal action, could the guards help you out maybe?

I wouldn't be opposed to getting them involved if it continued.

They're two stupid solutions so i won't be relying on you to figure it out anyway.

Me change my number because some asshole is sending over takeaways, get real would ya!

Stupid solutions? Jesus, you are brutal, no wonder people are acting the bollox with you.

Look, if you want this to stop or at least slow down, this is what you should do.

Step 1. Buy a new SIM card to use (just for this purpose).
    Step 2. Tell say 5 friends that they new sim number is your new number.
    Step 3. Contact the take aways that are delivering to you and get them to change your contact number that they have on file, to the new sim number.

If you get an order from one of the take aways that you changed your details with, then you know it was one of the few friends that you told.

If its an order from a take away that you didn't change your details with, it's not one of those 5 friends...look further afield.

If this is all too much hassle, enjoy all the take aways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

There's really only one way to put an end to this and that is for takeaways to take payment for the food and THEN deliver it to the person.
    A prank caller isn't going to want to pay for the food first now, is he?

Im open to correction here but dont takeaways refuse to take an order if the mobile/land number does not come up on their caller id system?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Thwart the prankster by phoning in massive orders to every take-away for a five-mile radius and keep a good long queue of them outside your house. The prankster will realise the futility of ordering any more and quit. This will cost you a few bob, but upside - you'll have take-away. Take-away is good.

Stupid solutions? Jesus, you are brutal, no wonder people are acting the bollox with you.

Look, if you want this to stop or at least slow down, this is what you should do.

Step 1. Buy a new SIM card to use (just for this purpose).
    Step 2. Tell say 5 friends that they new sim number is your new number.
    Step 3. Contact the take aways that are delivering to you and get them to change your contact number that they have on file, to the new sim number.

If you get an order from one of the take aways that you changed your details with, then you know it was one of the few friends that you told.

If its an order from a take away that you didn't change your details with, it's not one of those 5 friends...look further afield.

If this is all too much hassle, enjoy all the take aways.

Ah see i knew you could do better! Thats why i challenged you!

Some good advice but the problem with it is that i've over 300 contacts and its probably not one of the five friends mentioned
    because i doubt they would be sending dodgy take aways to their own house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Do you want ideas or did you just come here to vent?

Thwart the prankster by phoning in massive orders to every take-away for a five-mile radius and keep a good long queue of them outside your house. The prankster will realise the futility of ordering any more and quit. This will cost you a few bob, but upside - you'll have take-away. Take-away is good.

I do enjoy takeaway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I'm confused. Whenever we order takeout we have to give them our contact number. Given that you didn't place the order surely the takeaway places who had the food returned could phone whoever placed the order?

I'd get in touch with the places that have delivered the food and explain the situation. It's a nuisance for you and it's costing the takeaway money.

No i want sensible solutions, his second attempt was much better!

Changing my number isn't really a feasible solution to what could be a temporary problem

I vent myself after alot of take aways.

I'm confused. Whenever we order takeout we have to give them our contact number. Given that you didn't place the order surely the takeaway places who had the food returned could phone whoever placed the order?

I'd get in touch with the places that have delivered the food and explain the situation. It's a nuisance for you and it's costing the takeaway money.

Ye whoevers doing it has my number and is providing that to the takeaways. Hence none of their personal information is required

Yea but they should trace down the numbers that they are ringing from?

I suppose i could ask but thats difficult as they could call any number of takeaways at any time.

I'm sure they have enough to keep them busy without screening every order that comes in if you understand what i mean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

are you renting or are you a homeowner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Burn your house down and move to Canada

Some "friends" you've got, OP, if they're doing this to you.

fussyonion wrote: »
    Some "friends" you've got, OP, if they're doing this to you.

Maybe he's been looking a bit thin and they are concerned? Some people are very caring.

Well then, that friend can do the same for me!
    I reckon a bag of chips, a Domino's large pizza, garlic bread, chicken wings, tub of ice-cream and a 2lt bottle of Coke will sort me out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭fiachraX

Just notify any takeaways that you'll want to use in future that this has been going on, and to ring you back if an order is supposedly placed by you. That way, you won't get blacklisted by them. For the other takeaways, it's more their problem than yours and you don't care if they blacklist you, but they might be able to see from caller id who's actually calling.

fussyonion wrote: »
    Well then, that friend can do the same for me!
    I reckon a bag of chips, a Domino's large pizza, garlic bread, chicken wings, tub of ice-cream and a 2lt bottle of Coke will sort me out

On it's way. I used Appleguys mobile no, sure everyone does these days.

No i want sensible solutions, his second attempt was much better!

Changing my number isn't really a feasible solution to what could be a temporary problem

My second attempt was just outlining my first attempt.

You have limited options.

1. Do nothing and let it run its course until they get bored.
    2. Change details.
    3. Move.
    4. Contact all the takeaways and explain the situation.

Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭bogwalrus

Think hard about a person you might have pissed off in the last 8 months. Did you get in any disputes on adverts or done deal? Did you give personal abuse to someone on customer service over the phone.

I heard of a guy who worked for eircom customer service and did something similar as he had all personal details of a person that gave him loads of abuse over the phone.

The trick is to get back at the person many months afterwards.

So think long and hard and let us know when you remember=)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Just tell the take-aways to ignore any order unless it's a just eat order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

The only other thing I can suggest is asking the takeaways not to deliver to you. They can always make a note of your number and redial the phone number used by anyone who places an order giving your number. It can't be that unusual a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

You need to go all Liam Neeson on their ass. Find them and kill them. That'll knock the smirk off their face(s).

bogwalrus wrote: »
    Think hard about a person you might have pissed off in the last 8 months. Did you get in any disputes on adverts or done deal? Did you give personal abuse to someone on customer service over the phone.

I heard of a guy who worked for eircom customer service and did something similar as he had all personal details of a person that gave him loads of abuse over the phone.

The trick is to get back at the person many months afterwards.

So think long and hard and let us know when you remember=)

Na i don't think its a personal attack because theres a few friends of mine have all been affected by it over the weekend. If it was personal it would be just me. We still (between us) can't figure out who it is.

I'm hoping they will get bored and forget about it soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Na i don't think its a personal attack because theres a few friends of mine have all been affected by it over the weekend. If it was personal it would be just me. We still (between us) can't figure out who it is.

How old are you if don't you mind me asking?

It seems very juvenile, maybe a younger relative of yours or one of your friends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Funny how people see things differently when they are looking for advice themselves. Was there any Chicken Karma in the mysterious deliveries?
    I don't know why people post looking for help if they're going to ignore any advice they are given. :rolleyes:

You were advised to put it in a bag of rice (which you change every day) and in the hot press for a few days. This is the only chance you have, do it or your iPhone is ****ed! Sin é!

Dont turn it back on for a week!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=75028379&postcount=12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Just get the takeaways to take you off file and order off just eat or something from now on.

Then they would have to give more details next time.

Or you could tell them only to deliver to you if the number they call with matches the number they have on file.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

8 large anchovie and pineapple pizzas on the way to the OPs gaf right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

So you need all 300 of those contacts then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

Is there a connection between you and your friends? Were you all at college together? or on the same football team?

Maybe it involves someones angry ex? or maybe one of you pissed of someone without knowing ?

Bob Z wrote: »
    Is there a connection between you and your friends? Were you all at college together? or on the same football team?

Maybe it involves someones angry ex? or maybe one of you pissed of someone without knowing ?

Did the five of ye survive a plane crash ye were destined to die in by missing it due to an ill advised last minute Mickey-Ds? Perhaps Death is trying to get you, one portion of MSG at a time...and possibly a "choking on big prawn" scenario...