Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fixed Charge Notice/Penalty Points

• 20-04-2014 9:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭

Hey guys, first time poster here.
    Just wanted to drop in to see if anyone could help out with a query I got.
    So here goes, last Wednesday I was driving to Waterford and I was caught speeding by a Garda, nice chap, pulled me over explained everything and I felt rather foolish for not realising the speed of the road and he told me I was being issued 2 penalty points and a fixed charge and then sent me on my way.
    All well and good, now I'm just wondering do I pay the €80 now or do I wait for a letter telling me of the fixed charge and if I do pay it now where do I pay it?
    Also if I am to wait for a letter will it be sent to me(car registered to me) or the person whose name is on the insurance(I'm on someone else's policy as a named driver)
    I'm kinda lost as this is my first time getting penalty points.
    Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance for the replies/answers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Ticket will come to you. You don't have to pay until you get it.

Fair play for accepting responsibility , I thought it might be another "how do I get out of this/unfair money scam" thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

You'll be sent a notice in the post. As you were driving it'll be addressed to you. It'll enclose details on how to pay for your points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Zekey

corktina wrote: »
    Ticket will come to you. You don't have to pay until you get it.

Fair play for accepting responsibility , I thought it might be another "how do I get out of this/unfair money scam" thread.

No no nothing unfair about it, Garda was sound out about it
    now I wouldn't of been speeding if I wasn't such a foola and just paid more attention, I'm more than willing to own up when I make a mistake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Zekey

Cheers for the quick replies mugs and Tina

Quick follow up, will it be the Garda or the RSA who send me the letter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Alan Shore

Not an issue for now but you need to check the small print on the insurance policy.

I seem to remember a condition that the car the named driver is driving is not registered in their own name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

The RSA send the letter. You have to send them back the licence number of the driver concerned (you) and there waqs a case where a driver tried to out the blame on someone else because he had too many points already but the guards had photographic evidence and caught him out.

No insurance penalties for 2 points and they will be gone in 3 yrs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Zekey wrote: »
    Hey guys, first time poster here.
    Just wanted to drop in to see if anyone could help out with a query I got.
    So here goes, last Wednesday I was driving to Waterford and I was caught speeding by a Garda, nice chap, pulled me over explained everything and I felt rather foolish for not realising the speed of the road and he told me I was being issued 2 penalty points and a fixed charge and then sent me on my way.
    All well and good, now I'm just wondering do I pay the €80 now or do I wait for a letter telling me of the fixed charge and if I do pay it now where do I pay it?
    Also if I am to wait for a letter will it be sent to me(car registered to me) or the person whose name is on the insurance(I'm on someone else's policy as a named driver)
    I'm kinda lost as this is my first time getting penalty points.
    Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance for the replies/answers

I think if it was garda office in person who pulled you over, then he took your details from your driving licence and asked you for your address.
    This address should be the one your fine will be posted to.
    Vehicle owner or insurance policy should be quite irrelevant here imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Alan Shore wrote: »
    Not an issue for now but you need to check the small print on the insurance policy.

I seem to remember a condition that the car the named driver is driving is not registered in their own name.

Yes, that might be an issue, but we can assume OP is registered owner and main policy holder is his/her spouse, and he is named driver.
    Otherwise, there is something not right there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Might be an issue at some stage if perhaps the Insurance is in a Parents name, in which case the car should also be in that Parents name.