Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My bank account got hacked

• 18-04-2014 11:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,950 ✭✭✭✭

my Aib bank account has got hacked. I took 30 euro out of my paddy powers account about 2 weeks ago and it didnt go back into my account and my wages have not gone into my account last thursday night either

I have a bit of money left but there is nothing coming into my account.

Somone used my debit card for some american website worth 9.90 euro and im afriad that company are recieiving all the money going into my accout

Its really been a bad friday for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

OMG so sorry OP.

Nightmare situation.

Get on to them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Try here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=544

You'll get better advice. Good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

Try here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=544

You'll get better advice. Good luck!

There's surely a helpline to call them on for things like this? Even at this time! Try aib.ie and contact aib section

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

There is a 24 hour fraud line you can call them on.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    my wages have not gone into my account last thursday night either

I have a bit of money left but there is nothing coming into my account.

Somone used my debit card for some american website worth 9.90 euro and im afriad that company are recieiving all the money going into my accout

Its really been a bad friday for me
    The only thing that could have happened is AIB put your bank on hold because they detected something a miss? Maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

There's surely a helpline to call them on for things like this? Even at this time! Try aib.ie and contact aib section
    I don't know it! Maybe try online banking?

There is a 24 hour fraud line you can call them on.

Just call and tell them to cancel your cards and freeze any outgoing transactions. Slippery bastards

I don't know it! Maybe try online banking?

1800 242227 that's for lost or stolen cards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Coke and hookers ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Sorry to hear :(

God forbid someone takes my .69 cent!!

mauzo! wrote: »

Bastards they are. All of em nothing but a shower of bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Would he have preferred Halls?

Halls are dirt. Soothers are what you want

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

OP ring your bank emergency number and get your account safe, NOW.

AIB security issues are ridiculous... DOWN WITH THIS SORTA THING

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Alter Egotist

im not sure at all if its the same thing but my bank account started acting the fool a few weeks ago also with my paddy power account and other payments. also my direct debits coming out were acting the fool also. i rang the bank and they said there was ghosting on my account (payments and withdrawls being rejected) was actually charged 7.80 twice for non payment of direct debit. the bank search for what wasnt paid and came back to me. i needed to update the iban with my pp account and with the two direct debits. might not be the same thing but was definitrly my problem with pp. im not a huge gambler but i was moving a good few hundred quid into my account when it happened me and scared the crap out of me. your money hasnt been deposited by paddy power so you will get it back. also if your card/account was skimmed itll be insured by the bank. thats part of the ridiculously high fees we pay. your error could be something more serious and i hope its not but try re the iban issue aswell. hope you get sorted out. i know nobody has money to spare and know quite well what it can be like to not have any of it.

Al.

Paddy power gambling comes with alot of problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Ring the number on the back of your debit card!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Put the card into the floppy disk holder and hack the hackers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

That's terrible hope it gets solved soon OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Your wages could be delayed due to SEPA(which is beyond a joke, as I know someone who sent money with it to the Netherlands and the money didnt clear in 20 days).

An AIB debit card is pretty hard to use online fraudulently. It requires you to enter a digits from a password thats unique to your account

But I would still call AIB now. They have phone banking staff 24/7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Mine did too. They took 75 grand the fcukers. The missus was raging as she had it earmarked for a new Porsche. I had to dip into one of my other accounts to make it up to her. Must try to remember to ring them about it on Tuesday. Feck it, sure I'll probably have forgotten by then. Damn long-weekends.

ring the 24 hour helpline op - just to be safe. They're pretty good at sorting stuff like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 its me_330

My account only got hacked last week. First transaction was in dollars. Stop ur card ASAP b4 ur account is empty. They bought flights with my card and emptied my account.
    Don't know why cause they r hardly goin to get on the plane after buying the tickets wit a stolen card as the details

its me_330 wrote: »
    My account only got hacked last week. First transaction was in dollars. Stop ur card ASAP b4 ur account is empty. They bought flights with my card and emptied my account.
    Don't know why cause they r hardly goin to get on the plane after buying the tickets wit a stolen card as the details

feckers robbed the rest of your post too. :eek: Ring the Boards helpline and cancel your account. ASAP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Sorry to hear, OP. Our CC was hacked a couple of weeks ago. I'd love to know how the fcukers did it as the card hadn't been used in months. Bank jumped on it quickly and we got the money back.

Have you reported this yet?

Sorry to hear, OP. Our CC was hacked a couple of weeks ago. I'd love to know how the fcukers did it as the card hadn't been used in months. Bank jumped on it quickly and we got the money back.

Have you reported this yet?

I've started cancelling my cc every four or five months and getting a new one issued as it is so common lately. There's a million ways a fraudster can get the details and hard to combat. Getting a new card issued is just another way to guard against it, but again, not a guarantee of safety. Bank account hacked, now that's a head-wrecker altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

Mine did too. They took 75 grand the fcukers. The missus was raging as she had it earmarked for a new Porsche. I had to dip into one of my other accounts to make it up to her.

Your harem of mistresses were not too happy about it either so I heard. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭jescart

They'd want to be some fairly advanced hackers if they were able to block transfers into your account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

It's odd that there's no money going into the account.

Have you got online banking? Have you logged in to see what's going on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I've started cancelling my cc every four or five months and getting a new one issued as it is so common lately. There's a million ways a fraudster can get the details and hard to combat. Getting a new card issued is just another way to guard against it, but again, not a guarantee of safety. Bank account hacked, now that's a head-wrecker altogether.

I just use a virtual credit card for anything online as I don't trust the card details to be kept securely anymore.

You just pre-load it with the amount and that's all it has access to.

Otherwise, I'll use PayPal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

God forbid someone takes my . 69 cent!!

Giggidy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

SpaceTime wrote: »
    I just use a virtual credit card for anything online as I don't trust the card details to be kept securely anymore.

You just pre-load it with the amount and that's all it has access to.

Otherwise, I'll use PayPal.

That's what we're doing too. Which is the best one to get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

This cashless society is going to be such fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

That's what we're doing too. Which is the best one to get?

Entropay is pretty good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Bogan

The 9.90 euro was happening before with rogue call centres in India or hackers keylogging you and were collecting card details. Because the amount was so low a lot of people didn't notice or dispute and they could keep scamming for longer.

With Paddy Power they might have got your details by keylogging you for your Paddy Power username and password and changed the bank details in your account to divert it straight to them. You need to report it straight away to Paddy Power and the bank. If this has happened you would be wise to reinstall your operating system to make sure you have no keyloggers still hiding there waiting to get your new details.

That doesn't explain why your wages didn't go in to the bank. Your bank details are with your employer and the hacker would need to hack your employers payroll system to change your bank details. Unless your wages went in to your account first and they sent them to their own account soon after, but you would have seen that on your online statement.

The wages is the main mystery as the other two things could be explained by you having malware or keyloggers. Your missing wages doesn't make sense at all because your employer has your bank details to put the money in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

What the fuq is a "sun prod"?

Is all this hacking due to windows xp not being supported?

i want that 69 cent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,616 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

the_syco wrote: »
    What the fuq is a "sun prod"?

Hahahaahahahahahahahahah, funneh

Sorry for your loss OP, its probably SEPA the l337 barstewards.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/