Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How was your ride today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Jesus - did the driver return to the scene?

Reg is as clear as day from your video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Did the car not come back? :eek:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Hope you and the bike are all right

Just wondering about hand signals on the roundabout, does anyone else use them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,437 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

She looked straight at you, knew you were coming, still drove out and then drove off when the collision happened. Straight to the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭XtotheZ

ermmm why did you take your hand off the bars and not brake? Yes i understand there in wrong...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭conkennedy

In fairness, she did come back, she cleared the roundabout and came back. I just don't remember it. Seriously, I don't remember anything from just before the impact until about 30 mins after. I know I tried to cycle around her but she stopped in the middle of the roundabout and impact was unavoidable.

Many thanks to the gentleman who helped me up and walked me home

I thought I fell to the right, but the evidence shows I fell to the left! just shows you how your memory can be effected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,437 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Much damage to you and also to the bike?

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Hope you and the bike are all right

head and arse are sore. I think the bike is OK, I was breaking, I think I hit her at about 10/15km per hour
    Just wondering about hand signals on the roundabout, does anyone else use them?

Yes, when possible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

Jay. Sus.

Hope you're OK. (and the bike) Fair play to the folks who looked after you.

Practically had the same issue myself last week, bar the driver didn't even look at me but I somehow managed to brake and do a nearly 90 degree turn to avoid the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭PerrDub

Well, this is an example of never assuming you will have full right of way on a roundabout, car drivers are not always watching out for the small relatively fast object moving towards them..

Though just to play Devils advocate here, if you had time to raise your hand in protest you had time to brake and move to avoid the collision. Would be a very bad outcome for you if another car was directly behind you and then hit you causing a bad injury...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Arthurdaly

Hmm, sorry for your troubles. No doubt driver was in the wrong here but wondering why you raised your arm, braking may not have prevented the collision but surely would have reduced impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

conkennedy wrote: »
    Mine lasted 2minutes and a trip to A&E...

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=h3saY6smzAc

Ended up with a Concussion and bruised Coccyx

Feck. Recover well. The same almost happened to me leaving work yesterday and still in the business park. I had entered the roundabout and a driver joining at the next entrance flew out without looking to the right. If I had been a few seconds earlier I might have ended up like you or worse. She did apologise when I told her what she did.

Arthurdaly wrote: »
    Hmm, sorry for your troubles. No doubt driver was in the wrong here but wondering why you raised your arm, braking may not have prevented the collision but surely would have reduced impact.

im not sure, I cant remember. I think I was telling her to speed up or to try to catch her attention and make myself more visible. The man who helped me (I rang this evening to say thanks) said the driver said the sun was in her eyes. From the footage I think it was a bull**** 'sorry mate didn't see you' type of excuse.

Anywhoo, we both got a fright. I now have a hostpital bill and need a new helmet. The Grio Savant did it's job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

im not sure, I cant remember. I think I was telling her to speed up or to try to catch her attention and make myself more visible. The man who helped me (I rang this evening to say thanks) said the driver said the sun was in her eyes. From the footage I think it was a bull**** 'sorry mate didn't see you' type of excuse.

Anywhoo, we both got a fright. I now have a hostpital bill and need a new helmet. The Grio Savant did it's job!

I had some food for thought after my incident, due to a comment on here.

Did I, by hugging the roundabout give the driver an indication I was taking the next exit? It's something I noted tbh although it wasn't a factor in my case.

But it is something I won't do in future unless OK.

It actually looks btw, that your raised your arm to say you were taking the exit in front of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,175 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

An expensive lesson... Why the Go_pro recording your spin btw?

It actually looks btw, that your raised your arm to say you were taking the exit in front of you.

I probably was, I would often point in the intended direction espcially if I'm going straight and there's a car behind or infront of me.

My wife is livid.... some how this is my fault, and my fault because I have a bike and my fault I go out on the bike on my own!

Perhaps I should have gone on the club's Good Friday spin instead! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭fago

One thing I learned from all the mental roundabouts in Galway is the importance of eye contact. If I don't see the driver at the next exit look at me I slow to a crawl.
    One morning it saved me where a driver braked late when he saw me and came a good 20ft onto the roundabout in the wet. Drivers have a tendency to look behind you and never see you at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

Mine lasted 2minutes and a trip to A&E...

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=h3saY6smzAc

Ended up with a Concussion and bruised Coccyx
    glad your around to tell the tale.
    remember when people get into cars for some unknown reason they see cyclists as no more than a feckin pest on the road and if they knock us down ,so what as long as the car wasnt damaged what does it matter.
    so please in the future be very carefull around these maniacs:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Surely the driver will foot the bill in this instance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

Con. Hope you are feeling better today and not banned from cycling by your better half!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,444 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

daragh_ wrote: »
    Con. Hope you are feeling better today and not banned from cycling by your better half!
    Don't worry about that, Darkglases has his hands full banning people from Soccer nowadays - bans from cycling have dried up:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭omri

Just been checking the video - pretty scary and hope you'll get better soon.

Now I have to ask this though. It might be the weird camera perspective or obviously much easier to analyze now than react on the spot. But between 0:28 where car is visibly entering the roundabout and 0:29 where you raised your arm (0:30 bike hits the ground) there is plenty of room (in terms of distance between you and the car) to "escape" either left or right. As I said it might be just "easier to say than done" thing, but it looks as if you did not try to save yourself - due to the "hand gesture" - did you actually manage to slow down at all ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭monkeyslayer

gosh, good to hear you're mostly ok after that, that driver is an idiot, i was even shouting at my laptop watching her pull out!

daragh_ wrote: »

She's tried.

No bike or beer for 2 weeks, doctor's orders

No driving either. At least I have next week off work.

MY plan as you've probably seen on strava was working up to 100k spin by the end of next week. Those plans have been put back.

I'm told it's ok to do a mild work out on a static bike towards the end of the week, depending on how I'm feeling.

According to the Garmin I was doing 14.8km/h on impact. So not fast. I had been doing 25km/h on Sycamore Drive - again not fast, but I was slowing down anyway coming up to the roundabout.

It's funny (if you can call it that) my my recollection is I went down to the right, but I clearly went to the left. You can see from the footage that there's no movement for about 12 seconds. I was out for the count! The motorist came back to see if I was OK, but I have no memory of it, I also don't remember a man and his boy coming over to see if I was OK and they were heading up to the national aquatic centre. The man who helped me home (I was on the bike for 2 minuted) told me last night when I rang to say thanks, that I gave the man pin point directions to the aquatic centre and even showed them on google maps on the phone how to get there. I remember nothing of it.
    crosstownk wrote: »
    Surely the driver will foot the bill in this instance?

I never got her details, apparently I kept telling her that I was fine and not to worry and I seemed more concerned for her and for my self. I vaugely remember spinning the front wheel to check it wasn't buckled.

I haven't listened to all the go-pro footage.

Helmet needs replacing and I'll have an A&E bill. So about €225 it's set me back.
    omri wrote: »
    Just been checking the video - pretty scary and hope you'll get better soon.

Now I have to ask this though. It might be the weird camera perspective or obviously much easier to analyze now than react on the spot. But between 0:28 where car is visibly entering the roundabout and 0:29 where you raised your arm (0:30 bike hits the ground) there is plenty of room (in terms of distance between you and the car) to "escape" either left or right. As I said it might be just "easier to say than done" thing, but it looks as if you did not try to save yourself - due to the "hand gesture" - did you actually manage to slow down at all ?

Yes, I could clearly see her, I presumed she could see me, and I could also see the road was clear left and right. At first I thought she was going to stop, and (I think) I pointed to indicate intended direction I was going in and to catch her attention, she didn't yield, I tried to go around her, she then stopped leaving me no where to go. I think her indecision is what ultimately lead to the impact. If she had have floored it I think I would have made it around the back of the car no problem, it was just that hesitation...

The headache is mostly gone this morning, but I've been keeping up with the nurofen. But i've more aches this morning. Neck is stiff and sore, bruises on my left knee and inner thigh, I suspect from the top tube and saddle, sprained index finger on the left hand, wrist is stiff and I've still got a pain in me hole - I mean coccyx!

Still, it could have been a lot worse. If I hadn't of seen her and didn't start to break I probably would have ended up on the bonnet!

Thanks for all the well wishes guys, much appreciated.

Had a check over the bike, seems the handlebars are out of line and I was missing the bar tape cap. Front wheel seems fine no buckle. Went up to the roundabout and found the cap! Walking was sore!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭stecleary

If you dont have her details the garda station is your next call. Show them the vid and if she refuses to cover costs go to town on her in court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭EB_2013

Glad to hear you are okay and the bike damage wasn't too bad. Her reg details are easy enough to make out in case you need them.

I'd definitely be getting her to cover the costs, she was totally in the wrong.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

stecleary wrote: »
    If you dont have her details the garda station is your next call. Show them the vid and if she refuses to cover costs go to town on her in court

He said himself that he kept on saying he was fine to her.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,444 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

He said himself that he kept on saying he was fine to her.
    That's irrelevant as he was concussed. He has the video evidence that can be assessed by the Gardai and presumably some medical evidence of the concussion. What I do know from my own experiences of concussion is I was apparently able to tell one hell of a good story but was actually completely oblivious to my own physical and mental condition (indeed in one case I was all for getting back on the bike and completing my commute from what I've been told - spending the following 4 days in hospital suggests I may not have been fully in control of all my faculties, not that I can remember anything until more than an hour after being admitted to hospital)

How was she to know he was concussed though?

Completely irrelevant - if she was at fault (and I am expressing no opinion myself) she has responsibiility for the consequences of her actions

No-one can use the excuse that they were absolved of responsibilty simply because someone who in this case was concussed may have indicated they were OK. She is presumably no medical expert (and even if she was medically qualified she would be "conflicted" if she claimed there was no concussion)

It needs to be borne in mind that concussion is a possibility with any head injury, and medical assistance should be sought. Indeed there is a legal obligation not to leave the scene in the case of injury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Peter T

Like the way she said the sun was in her eye's. She's wearing sunglasses...

thanks guys, im gonna pop around to the cop shop and ask their advice

OK, guard was a little disinterested until I showed him the footage. He took my details, I told him what I knew and emphasised that I had no memory of the 15 mins after the bang.

I said I didn't want to make a big deal about it, I was just looking for advise. He asked what else I was looking for, I said that the incident has me out of pocket to the tune of €225. The A&E costs and the cost of replacing the helmet. I said that I didn't think there was damage to the bike, but I couldn't get that checked until Tuesday.

He said he'd contact the driver and come back to me in a couple of days.

I thanked him and as I was heading off he shouted "HOLD ON TO THAT FOOTAGE!".... so we'll wait and see.

Thanks again for the advice guys.

I never got her details, apparently I kept telling her that I was fine and not to worry and I seemed more concerned for her and for my self.
    Beasty wrote: »
    Completely irrelevant - if she was at fault (and I am expressing no opinion myself) she has responsibiility for the consequences of her actions

No-one can use the excuse that they were absolved of responsibilty simply because someone who in this case was concussed may have indicated they were OK. She is presumably no medical expert (and even if she was medically qualified she would be "conflicted" if she claimed there was no concussion)

It needs to be borne in mind that concussion is a possibility with any head injury, and medical assistance should be sought. Indeed there is a legal obligation not to leave the scene in the case of injury

Maybe Con can fill in what happened but it sounds like he was telling her not to worry so she didn't leave the scene.

Concussion if you are not aware of it just sounds like something you'd put on your couch so if the driver was hearing him talk fine and say he was fine but had never heard of a concussion how is she to know what to do?

I'm sure she will take responsibility for her actions but
    stecleary wrote: »
    Show them the vid and if she refuses to cover costs go to town on her in court

is jumping the gun abit here

Guards just rang. Said the registered owner will contact me shortly.

He said he wasn't going to file a report provided there was an amicible agreement. I said I didn't want a big issue made,it was a simple accident, no malice intended.

Suggested I might remove the video from you tube once it's sorted.

Which begs the question... were they looking

Suggested I might remove the video from you tube once it's sorted.

Which begs the question... were they looking
    Couple of points

Leaving it up could be prejudicial should you take it forward in a legal sense

If you reach an amicable agreement others could see that video, recognise the driver and/or car, and perhaps confront her or take things into their own hands in another way

Hence in my view it would be sensible to take it down regardless

Concussion if you are not aware of it just sounds like something you'd put on your couch so if the driver was hearing him talk fine and say he was fine but had never heard of a concussion how is she to know what to do?
    That is completely irrelevant in my book - if there was a head injury no-one knows the potential consequences until it's properly checked out - (I know that very well from personal experiences, but there are plenty of reported incidents where people give the appearance of being absolutely fine which subsequently turns out not to be the case)

The driver could be considerd negligent for not insisting it's checked out if she knew there was a bump to the head (or any other injury for that matter)

I agree on the head injuries possible ramifications but was there any sign of a head injury?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

Did they do a CT scan on your head in the hospital?

Beasty wrote: »
    Couple of points

Leaving it up could be prejudicial should you take it forward in a legal sense... others could see that video, recognise the driver and/or car, and perhaps confront her or take things into their own hands in another way

Good point.

Owner of the car, not the driver rang. The lady admitted to being in the wrong and they've agreed to cover costs of A&E and new lid.

I said I'll be getting the bike checked on Tuesday butI didn't think there was any damage to the wheel, fork or headset.

BailMeOut wrote: »
    Did they do a CT scan on your head in the hospital?

No, they did coordination and reflex tests and then observed me for 6 hours. Gave me a list of things to do and to watch out for and to come back immediately if any symptoms presented over the next few days.

I knew my name, date of birth, phone number, day of the week, where I worked, what I had for breakfast and that I had saved my legs that morning before heading out etc etc, the only thing I didn't know was the immediate minutes after the bang and the walk back home. So symptoms were not severe. They had discussed scans and xray of the pelvis, but the pain was in sitting not walking, suggesting bruising in the coccyx rather than a fracture or break.

No bike for 2 weeks, R&R for a week, mild exercises such as brisk walk or static bike towards the end of the week, but to stop immediately if headaches return

My understanding is that evidence of concussion does not normally show up on CT (or MRI) scans, and there is often no external injury (particularly where helmets are worn). It normally requires the sort of tests undertaken on conkennedy to establish the extent of any concussion

I would add that in my most recent incident I have very little doubt that the hospital initially failed to diagnose the scale of concussion I had (as is evidenced by my virtual complete amnesia for a week or so afterwards and significant memory loss thereafter) - I am actually going to have to see a consultant about some of the ongoing effects and the accident itself was 7 weeks ago.

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    An expensive lesson... Why the Go_pro recording your spin btw?

Sorry, just seeing your message now.

I had a very close call last summer, similar incident, motorist failed to yield on a (different) roundabout, she stopped, I stopped, I nearly got hit by a transit van that was behind. The motorist (in a cabriolet mini) then hurled abuse at me for being on the roundabout saying I should give right of way to her!!!! She was on MY left, I was on her Right.... clealy didn't understand the concept of how to give right of way!

I got a fright and went out and got a go-pro that afternoon and I just record everything since.

In fact, I couldn't remember if I had switched it on,onFriday morning, only when I got home and saw the light flashing (bike was in the kitchen) did I realise it caputured everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭metroburgers

What was outcome in latter incident?

I had a very close call last summer, similar incident, motorist failed to yield on a (different) roundabout, she stopped, I stopped, I nearly got hit by a transit van that was behind. The motorist (in a cabriolet mini) then hurled abuse at me for being on the roundabout saying I should give right of way to her!!!! She was on MY left, I was on her Right.... clealy didn't understand the concept of how to give right of way!

I got a fright and went out and got a go-pro that afternoon and I just record everything since.

In fact, I couldn't remember if I had switched it on,onFriday morning, only when I got home and saw the light flashing (bike was in the kitchen) did I realise it caputured everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭metroburgers

What was outcome in latter incident?