Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you on very friendly terms with neighbors?

• 17-04-2014 7:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭

I'm not, and I think it is disappointing.
    Not that I am entirely blameless, we have had a couple of issues over the years over things like parking, and I am quite a confrontational person, ie not the kind who will just roll over and be walked on.

But to be honest I do think its a shame. I live down near the end of a cul de sac, and none of the residents are particularly friendly with each other, so its not just me...they are a mixture of longterm (ie older) residents and people like me, less than 10 years on the road. One or two newer and younger families but as its in one of the posher areas of Dublin again the newcomers tend to be distant and quite unfriendly and not bothered to knock on a door and introduce themselves.

We did introduce ourselves last summer to a new comer to a very frosty reception.

I love my house to bits but I wish I had friendlier neighbors. I guess I came from a 'fair city' type of environment and when I go back to visit my parents I am quite envious of their neighbors, even though my area and house would be considered more desirable.

Ah, maybe a first world problem (and my teen kids love living here) but I just wish there were a few more friendly faces around. Its definitely an area where everyone is in a rush and never seems to have time to stop and chat. Now I have a family and fulltime job myself so don't have oodles of time on my hands, and I do have friends who live a few minutes drive away, so I am not billy no mates. Am I making sense and does anyone else feel the same way I do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

"High hedges make good neighbours"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Just don't paint their wall!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Well at least not a funny green

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Dublin_Mom wrote: »

I love my house to bits

How?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

I have perfect neighbours,havent spoken to them in years and no plans to change it.
    They don't bother me and I don't bother them.
    Works grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

you have to 'bump into' people when knew to an area not go calling on them or vice versa, otherwise you come across like that ms bucket one (bukay ;) )

as for the neighbours of my folks place, thats different, that was home growing up and everyone was friendly there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

After years of not speaking to my neighbour thinking he was a bit of a twat, turns out he's a brilliant bloke.

He's run off with my wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Thundering_Sky

I get on alright with them, say hi when we pass each other but that's about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

If by neighbours, you mean jail mates then yeah.

So friendly. I remember big Bob cornered me in the his cell one night and asked me if I wanted to play mammys and daddy's. I didn't want to offend him (he's 28st and 7ft after all) reluctantly I said yeah.

Ok he said, you want to be mammy or daddy?

Um, daddy I said. (I thought if it was gonna turn into a sex game, I at least would be the man)

Great said bob. Get over here and suck mammys dick. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

I live in an apartment block in Dublin. There are three other apartments on my floor and I know who lives in each one. We're not friends, but we're friendly when we meet in the hall or the lift. None of us are any way noisy or anti-social so it's perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I am yes, we stop and chat and exchange pleasantries whenever we bump into each other. Nice bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭monflat

Yep
    Its d husbands brother we live beside.

Too close sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I get on really well with my neighbors, they're really friendly and for a chat all the time.

Only had a serious issue with one lad, but I won't get into it, 'cos on the whole I love where I live and have great neighbors. It was the complete opposite back at home with the family, 'cos the folks there would barely speak to us, and there was always one old cow across the road who gave us daggers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

biko wrote: »
    I am yes, we stop and chat and exchange pleasantries whenever we bump into each other. Nice bunch.

Ditto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Buddy and Pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

friendly yes, not 'very' friendly. shes in her 60's ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Yes, we're friendly with our neighbours. Brilliant bunch of neighbours. we've cat-sat for one, they dog-sit our boy. Next door send over their grandson's Christmas presents to be hidden in our house before Christmas. We keep an eye on each other's houses if we know one of them is away, and bring in each other's bins on collection day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

We get on brilliantly these days. They haven't called the Gards on us in months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

We get on brilliantly these days. They haven't called the Gards on us in months.
    C, is that you? It better be fecking quiet in that house this weekend, don't make me call the guards to you again at 6am:mad: I'm only kidding, but on the other hand if it was my anti-social neighbour it would be really ironic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Only have one neighbour I avoid like the plague. He's an anti-establishment protest fanatic whose children had to be taken into care due to his abuse and neglect. I often feel like roaring "**** off ya arsehole" at him but I'd reckon there is potential for a Hungerford type massacre brewing within his ****ed up head, so he is best kept away from for safety purposes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

C, is that you? It better be fecking quiet in that house this weekend, don't make me call the guards to you again at 6am:mad: I'm only kidding, but on the other hand if it was my anti-social neighbour it would be really ironic.

Happily, I don't actually have any neighbours, cos they'd hate us. We're loud. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I hate my neighbours. The ones either side of us are just horrible. The rest of the neighbours are very clichey and live in each others ears/gardens in fine weather. We say hello to other neighbours if we pass them, but that's as far as it goes.

We're the middle aged couple with no kids, so they probably think we're weird. We are weird, but not because we don't have kids:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭chuckyarelaw

I ate my neighbours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

Getting too friendly with your neighbours ALWAYS ends in tears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,691 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

No. Ever since former US President George Bush Senior moved in across the road, my son and I have been at loggerheads with him. Although he started it by slapping my son in the arse just because he couldn't take a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

One of my neighbours won the lotto , paid of his wife and fcuked off and abandoned the house .I see him around occasionally when's he,s drying out .The other one is a stuck up cnut whose partner left her for twenty two year old girl. I see him occasionally too , sound funny character.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I live on a main road so have only one set of neighbours.

Never speak to them at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

When I lived in Ireland I got on very well with my neighbours. We'd help each other out without imposing. Really decent people. I like them.

My neighbours now only contact me if there is a problem. more than likely I problem I am causing :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Mostly, except for three. We are having all out war with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Sir montygom

My neighbour is great ..... He got UPC 100mb broadband ....I know cause I do speed tests every night 😉......got picture of bottom of his router by accident 😜.....jebus I hope he doesn't post here as he knows my username !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭jescart

Zombies ate my neighbors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Yeah I do thankfully. Well my parents are close and have cousins along the road too so I suppose it a bit inbred but I like it. There's at least one field dividing us all so its close but still you can't hear anyone riding/ fighting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Get on with them as our kids all pal around together. I'd know them well enough to stand out and chat with them and the one time I had hassle (in 10 years) outside my house, they were out quickly to help so I'm lucky I suppose.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

MAKE YOUR new neighbours immediately regret moving into their new home by introducing yourself as a 'senior resident of the street' and telling them that 'everyone round here likes things just the way they are.'
    - Viz Comic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭dobman88

We moved house last week. We were settled where we were but our LL decided to sell up. We were very friendly with the neighbours on either side of us. We had keys to each others houses in case of emergency and would regularly pop over to each other. The small kids on one side would pop in most days to play with our puppy.

Now we live on an estate where we don't know anyone and the other day when the puppy was playing with a neighbours dog, the neighbour came out roaring at my pup, even though I was keeping an eye on them and his dog is a lot bigger. It's amazing how different two places can be in the same town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

nearest house is nearly a mile away....still one who owns land up here manages to make life difficult

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

I'm surrounded by eldery people mainly.

I would consider myself on friendly terms with them, i help with their shopping or leaving out the bins. Even tech support for most of them. A lot of them got scared after a group of people had moved out of the row and stolen everything from the house they were renting and loads of stuff from the gardens around so I gave them all my phone number if they are ever worried about anything.

There have been other times when i wouldn't have a clue who my neighbours were or anything though but i'll always have a smile and a wave for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Or kick a ball into their garden.
    Or play loud music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

wazky wrote: »
    "High hedges make good neighbours"

at home or neighbours complained that the trees at our house were to high and that it blocked the sun, so we thought ok we'll trim the tops. Then the feckers wouldn't let us in to their garden to get better access and make the job safer or to clean up. Then they complained about the mess.

They were dicks though, we had donkeys and they used to dump the grass cuttings in the field with them. We told them to stop (apparently you shouldn't give fresh cut grass to donkeys) and they didn't stop instead they put shards of glass in with the cuttings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Don't know my neighbours and am generally not bothered about it. If you live a terrace of houses I can understand but in a block of flats with people on different timetables, people moving in and out every so often, etc. it is mostly a fact of life unless you are really keen and chat to everybody you pass.

That being said I heard a crazy / nice story from a student of mine. The girl and her family lived in a flat and new people moved in next door. Both families became great friends and then about ten years later they both bought new flats in a new build right beside each other so they could stay close. They bought the flats before they were built so they could choose the matching flats. Crazy!/nice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Dublin_Mom wrote: »
    I'm not, and I think it is disappointing.
    Not that I am entirely blameless, we have had a couple of issues over the years over things like parking, and I am quite a confrontational person, ie not the kind who will just roll over and be walked on.
    It's a little off-topic, but usually when I hear someone say, "I'm not one to let people walk all over me", what that actually means is, "I walk all over others so they can't do the same to me", that is, they approach every possible confrontation with the aim of coming out of it victorious, rather than coming out of it with a solution that's beneficial to all involved.
    That may not apply to you, but if it does, it's something worth thinking about in terms of how you approach disagreements.

Anyway, on topic, yeah we get on pretty well with our neighbours. Just this morning our next door neighbour knocked on the door cos she couldn't start her car and needed to get it to the NCT. So I went and got my jump leads and got it started. I also told her to leave it running for at least 30 minutes or it's going to fail the NCT :D

It's mostly down to my wife tbh. If it was down to me, we'd only be on greeting terms with our neighbours, but she's gotten to know a few of them. Having a child and a dog helps, because you bump into other parents and dog/pet owners on a regular basis and get to know them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I get on well with all the neighbours, except the ones in the house closest to us. They are students and they have parties in the garden til 6 in the morning, which would bother me except for the fact that they have a collection of African drums which they'll play non-stop. Oh and they have a rooster that crows at 4.30am!
    We go over to complain and they're all polite and it'll be quiet for a few weeks and then it starts again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Nope.. living in the same place over 2 years now and wouldn't know anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

I get on well with all the neighbours, except the ones in the house closest to us. They are students and they have parties in the garden til 6 in the morning, which would bother me except for the fact that they have a collection of African drums which they'll play non-stop. Oh and they have a rooster that crows at 4.30am!
    We go over to complain and they're all polite and it'll be quiet for a few weeks and then it starts again.

Africa is old hat now....the next generation are already in training,somewhere in darkest Pyong Yang......trim that ivy bush I Say !!! :eek:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gSedE5sU3uc

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

danniemcq wrote: »
    at home or neighbours complained that the trees at our house were to high and that it blocked the sun, so we thought ok we'll trim the tops. Then the feckers wouldn't let us in to their garden to get better access and make the job safer or to clean up. Then they complained about the mess.

They were dicks though, we had donkeys and they used to dump the grass cuttings in the field with them. We told them to stop (apparently you shouldn't give fresh cut grass to donkeys) and they didn't stop instead they put shards of glass in with the cuttings.

I sincerely hope you spent the next two years gathering donkey sh*t and turned their hous into a mud hut!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

We're here over 10 years and get on fine with ours [small cul-de-sac in a large estate]. Will stop and chat if I see them but that's generally as far as it goes.

Totally different to where I grew up in the 1970 and 1980s. Back there we were in and out of the neighbours house every day, playing with their kids. A number of my best friends come from that stretch of road. My parents and quite a few of the neighbours are still close; socialise together etc.