Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Summons for driving without license

• 17-04-2014 10:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭

I received a court summons for driving without a license.

I do have one but didn't have it on me at the time I was stopped. I drive a motorbike 99% of the time so it was in my bike jacket at the time. I was given 10 days to produce it which I was sure I did up to the point I got the summons :)

Anyway, anyone have any experience on what to expect. I have never been in front of a judge for anything before.

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭PLUG71

Probably points!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭fionny

Talk to the garda before the case starts and explain the situation that you had produced it... he may just say he will tell the judge he has it sorted.

I had that happen with a tax issue once. Pays to at least chat with the Garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

I do have one but didn't have it on me at the time I was stopped. I drive a motorbike 99% of the time so it was in my bike jacket at the time. I was given 10 days to produce it which I was sure I did up to the point I got the summons :)

Anyway, anyone have any experience on what to expect. I have never been in front of a judge for anything before.

Thanks!

Once you have the licence you will be fine.

Turn up to court (bring licence, tax and insurance papers just in case) and humbly explain that you thought you had produced your licence but may have forgotten and you are sorry. Judges are for the most part ok and will probably (more so if you have had to take a day off work to go to court) strike it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Lmklad

Thanks!

I'm guessing some people mis-read the OP. The summons is for not having the licence on him at the time of driving. Different to not producing. But the suggestion of talking to the guard is sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭LostInDharma

Lmklad wrote: »
    I'm guessing some people mis-read the OP. The summons is for not having the licence on him at the time of driving. Different to not producing. But the suggestion of talking to the guard is sound.

Its for both, well two summons to be exact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

Its for both, well two summons to be exact.

Can I ask what to you may seem a silly question (but there was a thread here before loads of discussion and it turned out the guy only had a learners permit) is it a full licence for a car you have or a learners permit? If full then just as above turn up with all your docs, find the Garda before court states show all details, when case called just stand up and clearly tell the judge you have produced all documents in court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭LostInDharma

Can I ask what to you may seem a silly question (but there was a thread here before loads of discussion and it turned out the guy only had a learners permit) is it a full licence for a car you have or a learners permit? If full then just as above turn up with all your docs, find the Garda before court states show all details, when case called just stand up and clearly tell the judge you have produced all documents in court.

I have a full licence, all in date. Fully TAXED , NCT. No problems , just didn't have it on me on the day I was pulled over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

I have a full licence, all in date. Fully TAXED , NCT. No problems , just didn't have it on me on the day I was pulled over.

Then just turn up on the day and bring all your original documents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Are there any likely consequences for wasting the court's time?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

No Pants wrote: »
    Are there any likely consequences for wasting the court's time?

The gaurd can check to see whether OP is licensed, insured taxed etc, but:

The OP should have had license with him whilst driving and should have produced it in time.

He deserves some token slap on the wrist for failing on both points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭A2LUE42

Go back to the station where you produced the documents and get them to check their records. They should have wrote it in their books when you were there. Get them to give you something in writing to confirm this. Bring that to court with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭JIdontknow

Exact same situation happened me. Hadn't licence with me, produced it within the 10 days but didn't think to ask for receipt, categorically remember the date, time and even where on the page in his note book he wrote the details down,
    Few weeks later got summons in post, 3 actually for not having licence at time while driving mechanically propelled vehicle, not producing it within 10 days and one other related to them too. ( tried to follow up and get this guards name so I could double check but no joy, was told he should be here between this and that time, then he wasnt there...) . Long story short "friend" of mine called the guard on summons and explained, (Im sure you could do this yourself, find out what station, and try call in and talk to him, some are fairly reasonable), all I had to do was meet the guard before the cases began, showed him my licence and details, he was grand about it and just crossed my name from list of cases that morning, that was it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭LeaveitOff

I had the same situation happen to me. Got stopped, didn't have it on me, produced it the next day at the local station, thought all was fine until a guard called to my mother's with four summons for my arrest about 5 months later. There was no record of my license being produced when i did it, didn't think / know to ask for a receipt.

Long story short, produced all documentation to guard in question and still had to go to court. Three of the summons were thrown out on a technicality, couldn't hear why, and got a 50 quid fine for the other.

I was stopped for speeding so had already got points and the 80 fine as well.

The guard told me it all depended on the judge whether they can strike it off or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 monyman

You will have to go in the court if you got summons whether you are going first time or not. I have never been present in the court but paid the fine for driving my car fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah, it depends on the judge on the day. If the judge sees that you're a reasonable person who does their best to be law-abiding, but you made a simple error this time, they may consider that having to go to court is punishment enough to stop you doing it again.
    This is why it's worth speaking to the Garda beforehand. If the Garda says that he's happy you had the documentation but just forgot to produce it, it's more likely that the judge will strike it out. If the Garda has to go up there and testify "against" you, then the judge may choose to fine you for wasting the Garda's and the court's time when you didn't need to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭timmy4u2

First of all you will not get penalty points, so discount that.
    Does it appear that you did not produce the licence at the Garda Station nominated by you within the statutory time, or at all.
    If that is the case the Garda will not be impressed-not having it with you, failing to produce it at garda station.
    I would have thought in those circumstances that you would have received three summons' s.
    No Driving Licence, failing to produce and failing to carry.

The legislation that demands the legal necessity to carry was introduced to counter those who give wrong names, and names of cousins who hold a licence etc and who may bear similar names therefore it is not a simple ommission in the eyes of a Garda nor does it have a simple remedy.
    Having said that we are human and we genuinely forget, the Garda is also human so it is worth talking to himbut remember the matter will be on the pulse system