Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boston - Marathon Finish Line Evacuated After Suspicious Packages Discovered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Probably a guy hoaxing in the worst way possible. Seriously irresponsible of a news agency to broadcast a picture of the suspect though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Has Kay Burley flown out there yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

If you watch a news item on this ......... don't watch FOX. Everything is hyped

The cops have gone totally OTT as they do. If the agencies worked in tandem ...... last year's bomb would not have happened. After all, the brothers had been flagged by the FBI - but they never shared.

All I know is. my favourite programme was cancelled because of it .......... they had to show live feed from a non event!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

....and 4.5 hour security queues to get into Coachella festival. Deja Vu indeed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Worksforyou

When's the brother who survived last year going on trial? Djocko or something is his name. Does he still deny it? I've always thought there was something dodgy about the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

When's the brother who survived last year going on trial? Djocko or something is his name. Does he still deny it? I've always thought there was something dodgy about the whole thing.

The guy that was on cctv,that they found hiding in a boat with bomb making material at home?sounds fishy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

What an absolute ****ing idiot. He can expect to be made an example of in court now too to put off other hoax devicers.

kneemos wrote: »
    The guy that was on cctv,that they found hiding in a boat with bomb making material at home?sounds fishy.

He was known as a stoner and was considered American, spoke with an American accent etc. All descriptions of him don't match the profile of someone who'd do this.
    I've never seen any footage of him planting the bomb, have you? Then a friend or relation of his was killed by the FBI a short time later. I'm not saying he's innocent, I don't know but there's something strange about it. I'm surprised he hasn't been found dead yet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

And what exactly did you find fishy Inspector Colombo? Was it the sound of gunfire from the grass knoll?

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    And what exactly did you find fishy Inspector Colombo? Was it the sound of gunfire from the grass knoll?

Read my previous post as it answers your question. Thank you. :D

He was known as a stoner and was considered American, spoke with an American accent etc. All descriptions of him don't match the profile of someone who'd do this.
    I've never seen any footage of him planting the bomb, have you? Then a friend or relation of his was killed by the FBI a short time later. I'm not saying he's innocent, I don't know but there's something strange about it. I'm surprised he hasn't been found dead yet.

If you're saying there was someone else pulling the strings it's possible but they have them on cctv carrying the bags that exploded.
    Presumably the trial will be televised for all to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

What description was he supposed to have, a raging Islamic man who only wore gowns, had a massive beard, and spoke in a thick Arabic accent?

Timothy McVeigh was known to smoke weed, was American, spoke with an American accent, etc. All descriptions of him don't match the profile of someone who'd do this

James Holmes was known to smoke weed, was American, spoke with an American accent, etc. All descriptions of him don't match the profile of someone who'd do this

Point being, that doesn't exclude someone from doing as horrible as the things they've done.

Then again, people believe they were false flag operations too...

If you're saying there was someone else pulling the strings it's possible but they have them on cctv carrying the bags that exploded.
    Presumably the trial will be televised for all to see.

Maybe his brother got influence over him or maybe someone else over both of them but hopefully the trial is televised anyway so we can all get answers. Why was the cop killed or why did they have no after plan? There's a load of strange things that happened.

Duggy747 wrote: »
    What description was he supposed to have, a raging Islamic man who only wore gowns, had a massive beard, and spoke in a thick Arabic?

Timothy McVeigh was known to smoke weed, was American, spoke with an American accent, etc. All descriptions of him don't match the profile of someone who'd do this

James Holmes was known to smoke weed, was American, spoke with an American accent, etc. All descriptions of him don't match the profile of someone who'd do this

Point being, that doesn't exclude someone from doing as horrible as the things they've done.

Then again, people believe they were false flag operations too...

You're getting carried away with yourself. Out to get the conspiracy theorists are you? Action man. :D

I said nothing about false flag operations. Just that I found something strange about the whole thing. He didn't have to look like Osama but from what I've read he didn't really show that much interest in anything religious or political.

Haven't read anything about it in ages but from what I remember he was just an average kid, smoking weed, listening to music and into wrestling. Now untwist those panties and relax yourself. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Lapin wrote: »

Estrada said he was unable to confirm whether one or two bags were found at the scene

Was it Eric Estrada from CHiPs?

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0075488/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    The cops have gone totally OTT as they do. If the agencies worked in tandem ...... last year's bomb would not have happened. After all, the brothers had been flagged handled by the FBI

fyp!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

and 2 FBI agents involved with the case fell from a great height out of a helicopter a week or 2 after the martial law craic!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

I thought they both died.

No, apparantly he was in bad shape but from what I remember it was hard to get much detail on what was happening with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

No, apparantly he was in bad shape but from what I remember it was hard to get much detail on what was happening with him.

I just read this on CNN:

The city then underwent days of fear as the two identified suspects, the Tsarnaev brothers, were on the run. Police say they killed a Massachusetts Institute of Technology police officer in the process, and then Tamerlan Tsarnaev was run over by his younger brother, Dzhokhar, as they battled police. Dzhokhar Tsarnaev has pleaded not guilty to 30 counts and is scheduled to go on trial in November

I just read this on CNN:

The city then underwent days of fear as the two identified suspects, the Tsarnaev brothers, were on the run. Police say they killed a Massachusetts Institute of Technology police officer in the process, and then Tamerlan Tsarnaev was run over by his younger brother, Dzhokhar, as they battled police. Dzhokhar Tsarnaev has pleaded not guilty to 30 counts and is scheduled to go on trial in November

Even the running over his brother incident seemed very strange, alot of weird things but hopefully they'll be cleared up from next November. That's if he's still alive then. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Jonny7

By all accounts himself and his brother were heavily self radicalised

They were also caught on campus grounds with bombs and weapons after the bombing, killed one of the cops/security, then fled, fighting pitched battles with police

THey held also carjacked a motorist whom later escaped

One brother was killed, the other hid in a boat until apprehended, he had some wounds, including to his throat but has survived

There is cc tv footage of them with the bags

Would be an extraordinary coincidence if these two brothers photographed at the scene, with the bags (and apparently the authorties have footage of them planting), then walked off, then later fought police with weapons, including a pressure cooker bomb - which were used in the original bombings - but weren't guilty of the bombing

Besides the surviving brother could still be done on any number of charges, including the murder of security/cop on university grounds after the bombing (at the very least)

It's essentially a foregone conclusion - they only uncertainty now is whether he will receive the death sentence or not

Jonny7 wrote: »
    By all accounts himself and his brother were heavily self radicalised

They were also caught on campus grounds with bombs and weapons after the bombing, killed one of the cops/security, then fled, fighting pitched battles with police

THey held also carjacked a motorist whom later escaped

One brother was killed, the other hid in a boat until apprehended, he had some wounds, including to his throat but has survived

There is cc tv footage of them with the bags

Would be an extraordinary coincidence if these two brothers photographed at the scene, with the bags (and apparently the authorties have footage of them planting), then walked off, then later fought police with weapons, including a pressure cooker bomb - which were used in the original bombings - but weren't guilty of the bombing

Besides the surviving brother could still be done on any number of charges, including the murder of security/cop on university grounds after the bombing (at the very least)

It's essentially a foregone conclusion - they only uncertainty now is whether he will receive the death sentence or not

I thought it was the older brother who was into it?

There's just so many questions that need answers. Surely they'd have an escape plan? Why kill the campus cop when he wasn't even paying attention?

I think I remember at the time them saying they were going to release the footage of the bombs been planted, I haven't seen it. Maybe the two just lost it but there sounds like more to the story. Why is he pleading not guilty if it seems so cut and dried?

Even the running over his brother incident seemed very strange, alot of weird things but hopefully they'll be cleared up from next November. That's if he's still alive then. :eek:

Analyse or think anything enough you'll find strange happenings and weird coincidences.The simplest scenario is usually the right one.

I thought it was the older brother who was into it?

There's just so many questions that need answers. Surely they'd have an escape plan? Why kill the campus cop when he wasn't even paying attention?

I think I remember at the time them saying they were going to release the footage of the bombs been planted, I haven't seen it. Maybe the two just lost it but there sounds like more to the story. Why is he pleading not guilty if it seems so cut and dried?

Yup it's thought the older brother was the defining influence

They had just planted bombs in broad daylight - I don't think they planned on getting "away with it", quite the contrary, they had a small arsenal and had been preparing it for quite awhile - which appears why the cop/security on campus was killed, they had an amount of guns and bombs with them, presumably for another attack

I presumed he is pleading guilty because he is younger and can perhaps claim he was led, coaxed, forced into it by deceased brother - but personally speaking, the guy doesn't have a hope

overview on wiki for the whole thing
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boston_Marathon_bombings
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dzhokhar_and_Tamerlan_Tsarnaev

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

From the video link that lad seems to be definitely not right in the head!

Analyse or think anything enough you'll find strange happenings and weird coincidences.The simplest scenario is usually the right one.

Yeah, hopefully the trial shines some light on the inconsisticies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Care to share some of your wise thoughts?

Jonny7 wrote: »
    Yup it's thought the older brother was the defining influence

They had just planted bombs in broad daylight - I don't think they planned on getting "away with it", quite the contrary, they had a small arsenal and had been preparing it for quite awhile - which appears why the cop/security on campus was killed, they had an amount of guns and bombs with them, presumably for another attack

I presumed he is pleading guilty because he is younger and can perhaps claim he was led, coaxed, forced into it by deceased brother - but personally speaking, the guy doesn't have a hope

overview on wiki for the whole thing
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boston_Marathon_bombings
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dzhokhar_and_Tamerlan_Tsarnaev

They had a couple of days to do another attack didn't they? Just shooting a cop and then hijacking a random car seems very strange, maybe they just panicked.

It'll be interesting if that's his defence or he has another story. Time will tell I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,430 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

The two guys from last year definitely did it, no conspiracy there, but did they have a green light? I think that is possible, as it has happened before.

Effects wrote: »
    Care to share some of your wise thoughts?

Read the whole thread before you make a show of yourself next time.

They had a couple of days to do another attack didn't they? Just shooting a cop and then hijacking a random car seems very strange, maybe they just panicked.

They were in the process of carrying out/preparing another attack, they shot the officer in college grounds, then car-jacked some guy, came with another car, loaded it up with guns and home-made bombs - got intercepted by cops - big firefight ensured, that's where the older brother died

As soon as their pictures were released to the public they were on a ticking clock, a controversial interrogation took place a short while after the attack whereby the younger brother admitted they were going to try and blow up the rest of their bombs in Times Square NY