Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wednesday 16/4

• 15-04-2014 7:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭

Cheltenham 3:50

I’ve been waiting for Kumbeshwar to run a decent race all season and although I had him firmly in mind for the Grand Annual at the festival he obviously didn’t make it there primarily because of a bad run on heavy ground at Sandown before it. His Haldon gold cup run would obviously be enough here and he has shown up well a few times since at Cheltenham not quite staying in heavy ground. I think this 2m5f on good ground may well suit him, and although the favorite will be hard to beat if he gets his jumping right, 10/1 with paddy power looks value. He is on a career low mark and should be really well in if back to any kind of form.I just don’t think he would be out again for this season if he wasn't right and the stable is back in good form.

2 Points win 10/1 Paddy Power

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Great minds and all that. The trip is the worry for me but Kings horses in good nick compared to last time and the handicapper is finally relenting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

aidankkk wrote: »
    Cheltenham 3:50

I’ve been waiting for Kumbeshwar to run a decent race all season and although I had him firmly in mind for the Grand Annual at the festival he obviously didn’t make it there primarily because of a bad run on heavy ground at Sandown before it. His Haldon gold cup run would obviously be enough here and he has shown up well a few times since at Cheltenham not quite staying in heavy ground. I think this 2m5f on good ground may well suit him, and although the favorite will be hard to beat if he gets his jumping right, 10/1 with paddy power looks value. He is on a career low mark and should be really well if in back to any kind of form.I just don’t think he would be out again for this season if he wasn't right and the stable is back in good form.

2 Points win 10/1 Paddy Power

Got the ATR tracker email about 20 mins ago. He's my only bet tomorrow. Have been waiting a long time to get a few quid from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Cheltenham 3:15

Broadway Buffalo
    ran a very good race at the festival albeit over a longer trip and I think he has been given a chance here by the handicapper. In addition he has a 7lbs claimer on which can only help and to my eye he should be in the top 3 in the betting here. He is still more or less unexposed and could well be still improving. 12/1 looks about 4 points too big and worth a bet.

1 Point win 12/1 Various

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Lahinch's classics runs 845 Dundalk, put in my tracker after its run vrs My Titania. Will be watching to see how she fares on her 2nd ever run and see can she give my fancy for the 1,000 guineas a form boost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Strange that Saint Roque goes chasing this late. Unless they want to get him handicapped for something like the Galway Plate but I'm clutching at straws here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

On the kumbeshwar race I would just fear that Buywise could be a stone or so well in on Cheltenham running. He was for me the most unlucky loser of the whole week including Ataglance. Price is plenty skinny for this but I would be reluctant to oppose him as the market stands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

5 I like the look of today

2.05 Cheltenham Blue Heron 10/1 stepped up on the useful form he showed in 3 Bumpers when winning incredibly easily on his hurdling debut when well backed (not a great race) and although this is a big step up in class I think he's got the potential to land this on just his 5th career start for an in form stable.

2.40 Cheltenham Top Smart 9/1 is a horse that I've always felt has had a boat load of ability but he's a bit of an enigmatic monkey. Off a mark of 124, he's only 1lb higher than the mark he scored at 3 starts back at Exeter last season and I think he has the potential to be a lot better than that if putting it all together on the track. Given that he was still in contention when falling at 4 out in Cheltenham's 4 Miler at last years Festival he clearly looks to enjoy Prestbury Park and with trip and ground sure to suit I think he's primed to run a mighty race for the in form Seamus Mullins team.

3.15 Cheltenham Royal Regatta 9/1 is a horse I was very sweet on in the Martin Pipe at Cheltenham where he travelled very well before a horse cut across his and he lost a bit of momentum at which stage he was too far back to make a challenge. A horse I think has the potential to be a lot better than his current mark of 133, Royal Regatta is reunited with Dickie Johnson today and I think there is a lot more to come from this unexposed 6 year old.

3.50 Cheltenham Kumbeshwar 10/1 is one I'm following Aidan and the other lads on. Off 137, he could be incredibly well handicapped on old form and he showed enough in the Haldon GC to suggest he isn't regressive. Will give Aidan full credit for this one if he wins but I'm definitely another one on board.

6.35 Southwell Queen Olivia 16/1 is a bit of a speculative one but she travelled powerfully for a long, long way on her first two starts over hurdles when keen and I think a mark of 98 could definitely underestimate her if she can finish off her races now handicapping for trainer Caroline Bailey. It looks quite telling that Andy Thornton comes here for one ride after a solitary ride at Cheltenham (both for Bailey) and I think this unexposed mare could go quite nicely at a decent price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,932 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Meihua in the 7:15 at Dundalk is a strong fancy for me. Last race it ran in was an excellent barometer of form with many of those horses going on to secure some nice wins. Opposition today appears to be significantly weaker so prices of 7/1 looks absolutely massive to me right about now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

No dosh coming for Kumbeshwar today - out to over 14/1 on BF. Gamble on Pacha Du Polder in that race - 9/1 to 9/2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Sorry to jinx you rossom but got on blue heron and royal regatta earlier this morning really think both are cracking prospects also did a little ew speculative one on muckle roe in the first at 40-1. Was also on buywise at the festival maloney really got him in a bad position and then got unlucky looks a fantastic chaser.

Meihua in the 7:15 at Dundalk is a strong fancy for me. Last race it ran in was an excellent barometer of form with many of those horses going on to secure some nice wins. Opposition today appears to be significantly weaker so prices of 7/1 looks absolutely massive to me right about now.

Gonna put my neck out. Will not stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Patrolman 8.15 Dundalk at 12s
    Shaped nicely on his handicap debut LTO, on reasonably good terms with a few of his opponents tonight, sure to come on for the run, nicely drawn and has an in-form claimer on board.
    Should have a win on him at a mark of 62 based on maiden runs.
    Hopefully is kept closer to the pace tonight.

Very interested (non financial) to see Oblitarator today at Newmarket for Ger Lyons. I recall spencer being over a couple a weeks back for a few mounts at Dundalk - wonder was he riding out this fella? Anyway, he's entered in the 2,000 guineas & the dam already produced Just the Judge to win the irish 1st/uk 2nd 1000 gunieas not that parallell's can be drawn for his solitary run last year. Still, worth keeping an eye on.

BumperD wrote: »
    Very interested (non financial) to see Oblitarator today at Newmarket for Ger Lyons. I recall spencer being over a couple a weeks back for a few mounts at Dundalk - wonder was he riding out this fella? Anyway, he's entered in the 2,000 guineas & the dam already produced Just the Judge to win the irish 1st/uk 2nd 1000 gunieas not that parallell's can be drawn for his solitary run last year. Still, worth keeping an eye on.

He might have been riding him but he was over to ride that horse of Murtaghs that got beaten in the maiden when backed off the boards

UrbanSea wrote: »
    He might have been riding him but he was over to ride that horse of Murtaghs that got beaten in the maiden when backed off the boards

Ah, thanks Urban. I could not remember the detail, just remember some of the lads here noting he was over for a friday night but I knew someone would put me right!!. I probabaly read too much into his jaunt across the Irish sea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭SM746

Just noticed a horse tipped here a few weeks back by Rossom I think; Justonefortheroad won earlier at Beverley. Think he was 6/4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

gonna give The Romford Pele one last chance back over hurdles, still think he's alot better than a rating in the 120s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭skippymac6

Jocular of Murtaghs. Think he's been beaten since again.

Lyons did say that if he has a class horse in the yard then it's defo Oblitarator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭BQQ

Umustbejoking has shown little since arriving in the UK, but he's fallen 27 lbs in the weights since then and I think he could make a winning seasonal debut in the 17:35 at Southwell.

He won a chase in France and was mostly campaigned unsuccessfully over hurdles in Britain.
    Consequently, he dropped over a stone in the weights and was well backed when switched to fences last time out. (last summer)
    He disappointed and hasn't been seen since.
    Now he's down another 8 lbs with a first time hood again over fences.
    Aidan Coleman rides for the first time and I thought it was significant that he went to Southwell today when Venetia has runners at a Cheltenham meeting that she has a strong record at.

Of course, he might be there for another one of his rides and I may end up looking silly, but I've backed it.

Kumbe****

SM746 wrote: »
    Just noticed a horse tipped here a few weeks back by Rossom I think; Justonefortheroad won earlier at Beverley. Think he was 6/4

Yeah I put him a few weeks back. Had to be dropped into a seller to do so though.

Bad day at the office thus far. Hopefully Queen Olivia can salvage the day.

That Godolphin colt very impressive. We're there a few non runners? Lyons horse could have been backed at bigger than 6s last night I'm sure went off 15/8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭BQQ

BQQ wrote: »
    Umustbejoking has shown little since arriving in the UK, but he's fallen 27 lbs in the weights since then and I think he could make a winning seasonal debut in the 17:35 at Southwell.

He won a chase in France and was mostly campaigned unsuccessfully over hurdles in Britain.
    Consequently, he dropped over a stone in the weights and was well backed when switched to fences last time out. (last summer)
    He disappointed and hasn't been seen since.
    Now he's down another 8 lbs with a first time hood again over fences.
    Aidan Coleman rides for the first time and I thought it was significant that he went to Southwell today when Venetia has runners at a Cheltenham meeting that she has a strong record at.

Of course, he might be there for another one of his rides and I may end up looking silly, but I've backed it.

Well backed again, but only 2nd (beaten a length.)

UrbanSea wrote: »
    That Godolphin colt very impressive. We're there a few non runners? Lyons horse could have been backed at bigger than 6s last night I'm sure went off 15/8

Yes, oblitarator was 6/1 in places, generally 5's , with lads 5/2 last night. Sp 15/8. Didn't see race but he was beaten a good few lengths.

Bit annoying that Queen Olivia didn't finish off her race that well after travelling into contention extremely well. Outbattled by the heavily gambled Edmaaj by can't really complain with a 20/1 2nd.

She looks like she'll make a nice chaser too.

Paul Deegan has been unreal over AW this year.

2nd, bleh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,908 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Calle Aneto 16-1 ew 8.15 Me like
    I think change of jockey will help. Needs a more controlled ride.Trying to make all is not working.

Really, really nice debut by Stars So Bright. Very surprised she has no entries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

rossom wrote: »
    Really, really nice debut by Stars So Bright. Very surprised she has no entries.

That was very impressive.

Surprised that Golden Falcon is utterly without friends in the next, backed it at 36's on Betfair.

Calle Aneto 16-1 ew 8.15 Me like
    I think change of jockey will help. Needs a more controlled ride.Trying to make all is not working.

Tried to make all again. Pipped on the line

Rocky 5-1 win 9.15
    Only one I see winning.

Rocky 5-1 win 9.15
    Only one I see winning.

Wins easily, really awful race .

BumperD wrote: »
    Lahinch's classics runs 845 Dundalk, put in my tracker after its run vrs My Titania. Will be watching to see how she fares on her 2nd ever run and see can she give my fancy for the 1,000 guineas a form boost.

Got the job done but doubt the race will amount to much form wise.

only1stevo wrote: »
    Shaped nicely on his handicap debut LTO, on reasonably good terms with a few of his opponents tonight, sure to come on for the run, nicely drawn and has an in-form claimer on board.

You called that one. And when it was 12s .

only1stevo wrote: »

Happy Easter baby!! Helps my mate hit the 2k mark for the half marathon for Laura Lynn on Friday so a great win all round.
    Corby is one to follow too.

You called that one. And when it was 12s .

Cheers BTBW, hope you had a bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

kiers47 wrote: »
    On the kumbeshwar race I would just fear that Buywise could be a stone or so well in on Cheltenham running. He was for me the most unlucky loser of the whole week including Ataglance. Price is plenty skinny for this but I would be reluctant to oppose him as the market stands.

You'd have to think if Buywise could improve his jumping a bit he could prove to be a smart performer!! Won that with ease in the end after making numerous mistakes.