Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Victim of vandalism

• 13-04-2014 9:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭

In the past while now, we've had our door mat stolen, dog poo on door mat, aerial stolen off car, full can of red bull thrown at our front window and very recently our front door light fixture first broken and now stolen. And this morning my wife went to work only to discover the drivers side wing mirror smashed. :mad:

Our estate isn't bad but we live across the river from the bad part of town and the scumbags from there across the river to cross through our estate to get to town quicker.

A fence was erected a while back but they just trampled it down next to the path.

We aren't the only ones to be victimised in such a way, other neighbours had their light broken too or pot plants smashed, we just seem to be the most targeted, or so it seems.

Maybe it stems from one incident. The scumbags were creating a ruckus outside our front door. I went out to have a look and they were tying some kid to the lamp post outside or house.

I told them in no uncertain terms to move along and never come back.

There's nothing much I can do to catch them in the act as they do all their work in the dead of night, like the true cowards they are. I could install a CCTV system but I don't have the money for that. And I'm sure they'll see the camera and break it.

Finding the car vandalised like that this morning is really the last straw though. I'm sitting here with murderous thoughts raging through my mind. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Thats right.

Blame us northsiders on everything.

I'll smash your car

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

They stole a broken light?
    Sorry for your troubles. Only way to catch them is spend a night staying awake.

mad muffin wrote: »
    In the past while now, we've had our door mat stolen, dog poo on door mat, aerial stolen off car, full can of red bull thrown at our front window and very recently our front door light fixture first broken and now stolen. And this morning my wife went to work only to discover the drivers side wing mirror smashed. :mad:

Our estate isn't bad but we live across the river from the bad part of town and the scumbags from there across the river to cross through our estate to get to town quicker.

A fence was erected a while back but they just trampled it down next to the path.

We aren't the only ones to be victimised in such a way, other neighbours had their light broken too or pot plants smashed, we just seem to be the most targeted, or so it seems.

Maybe it stems from one incident. The scumbags were creating a ruckus outside our front door. I went out to have a look and they were tying some kid to the lamp post outside or house.

I told them in no uncertain terms to move along and never come back.

There's nothing much I can do to catch them in the act as they do all their work in the dead of night, like the true cowards they are. I could install a CCTV system but I don't have the money for that. And I'm sure they'll see the camera and break it.

Finding the car vandalised like that this morning is really the last straw though. I'm sitting here with murderous thoughts raging through my mind. :mad:

I can almost guarantee that if you caught them on camera and brought it to the gardai, there's a distinct possibility that they still wont do anything about it. That's been my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Thats right.

Blame us northsiders on everything.

I'll smash your car

If my car does get smashed I will find you and I will kill you inform the cops. :pac:

But seriously, this post better be a wind up.
    jane82 wrote: »
    They stole a broken light?
    Sorry for your troubles. Only way to catch them is spend a night staying awake.

It's the fixture they stole, after I fixed it and put it back into place :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Report every single incident to the Gardai as soon as it happens. Make sure they record it and don't let them fob you off. You can set up a webcam internally, looking out an upstairs window. I think there's a forum on here for that kind of thing.

If my car does get smashed I will find you and I will kill you inform the cops. :pac:

But seriously, this post better be a wind up.

It's the fixture they stole, after I fixed it and put it back into place :mad:

Holy sh1t dude. You didnt really take that seriously did you?

I can almost guarantee that if you caught them on camera and brought it to the gardai, there's a distinct possibility that they still wont do anything about it. That's been my experience.

I'm sure they wouldn't too. There isn't even a Guarda presence in town after 10 am :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Hi op best option is cctv but also fit a pir sensor light but mount it higher up if possible.

Cctv systems can be got a lot cheaper these days.

Go to security section on boards and you will get some useful info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Are your neighbours subject to the same harassment?

Holy sh1t dude. You didnt really take that seriously did you?

Emoticons make the internet run more smoothly :)

I'm sure they wouldn't too. There isn't even a Guarda presence in town after 10 am :rolleyes:

Then if you make any effort to sort the problem yourself, you open yourself up to all sorts of repercussions.

There really isnt any middle ground on this. You either have to take matters into your own hands and face the possible consequences or rely on the appropriate authorities and trust that they do their job properly.

Given recent events you cant expect any real satisfaction from GSOC if the gardai fail at their job.

Are your neighbours subject to the same harassment?

All the houses (8) on our lane had the outside light broken but only use and another neighbour also had them stolen at a later date. And some neighbours with pot plants had them smashed a few times.

All petty stuff. The kind that scumbag kids get up to because the have nothing better to do.

Then if you make any effort to sort the problem yourself, you open yourself up to all sorts of repercussions.

There really isnt any middle ground on this. You either have to take matters into your own hands and face the possible consequences or rely on the appropriate authorities and trust that they do their job properly.

Given recent events you cant expect any real satisfaction from GSOC if the gardai fail at their job.

My neighbour said the same thing. Don't go after them or they'll come back harder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Sorry to hear of your troubles op. Always been a nightmare of mine to be paying of a mortgage in a house that little fcuking toerags get their kicks from vandalising. :mad:

You could always go full metal jacket on their ass though, go out all guns blazing some evening and become known as the 'man you don't fcuk with'. Fight fire with fire as such.

Sorry to hear of your troubles op. Always been a nightmare of mine to be paying of a mortgage in a house that little fcuking toerags get their kicks from vandalising. :mad:

You could always go full metal jacket on their ass though, go out all guns blazing some evening and become known as the 'man you don't fcuk with'. Fight fire with fire as such.

Hehe, yeah bit of a pity OP :o

Not to mention the house is in negative equity :rolleyes:

Yeah I'd love nothing more than taking a hurley to their backs. Let's see how they laugh as they lie on the ground with a broken back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

There's a couple of problems with cctv. Firstly, in our experience, scumbags just put up their hoodies and cover their faces when they damage your property and can't be identified, unless of course after the gardai have been to your home, seen the footage and happen to see the scumbag later on that day/night.

Secondly, not all cctv recorders are of great quality. So there's no point in having the system if the images aren't very clear.

We have 3 victim of crime letters in our filing cabinet and there are 3 usb keys with cctv footage of the incidents that we submitted in a file somewhere in some garda station.

Things stopped for a few years now but the main evil piece of sh*t has been in prison for over 2 years and unfcuking believably is gettting out soon, 10 weeks early. Still, he's a junkie repeat offender from a truly nasty line of scumbag criminals so it won't be long before he's back in prison, hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Sadly I don't think there is anything you can do OP. Retaliation will just escalate the problem - make it more exciting for the kids to challenge you. You can ask if a Garda car can include your road on a drive by, you can ask for planning permission to build a more substantial wall, but neither of these things will make a lot of difference.

We had a situation some years ago where, because of our location on an estate, our house was 'egged' on a regular basis. Its a tedious and expensive job getting egg off tyrolean finish. It was mostly kids from one family (on the estate) but the father - a person with a responsible and socially aware job - refused to engage with anyone about them. Now his brats are grown and gone he is an upstanding and hardworking member of the Residents Committee, so presumably he had a blind spot about his kids.

Would it maybe be possible, now the evenings are getting longer, for a few people from the houses to 'just happen' to be standing around outside chatting, gardening, at the front of the houses, at the kind of times the kids come through? Not aggressive, rather giving a casual greeting to them, but just being there and giving a human presence to what they see as a row of maybe 'posh' houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

You will have to get the fence put back up. Even if you have to pay for it yourselves. Who erected it in the first place? Can you tell them you need it reinstated, and this time put up decently. Arrange all of your neighbours and get pressure put on whoever you need to resolve this, probably council, councillors etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Forget about the law OP get all the men from your road together and go and tell them if the messing does not stop they will get a hiding

There's a couple of problems with cctv. Firstly, in our experience, scumbags just put up their hoodies and cover their faces when they damage your property and can't be identified, unless of course after the gardai have been to your home, seen the footage and happen to see the scumbag later on that day/night.

Secondly, not all cctv recorders are of great quality. So there's no point in having the system if the images aren't very clear.

We have 3 victim of crime letters in our filing cabinet and there are 3 usb keys with cctv footage of the incidents that we submitted in a file somewhere in some garda station.

Things stopped for a few years now but the main evil piece of sh*t has been in prison for over 2 years and unfcuking believably is gettting out soon, 10 weeks early. Still, he's a junkie repeat offender from a truly nasty line of scumbag criminals so it won't be long before he's back in prison, hopefully.

True 99.9% of them wear hoodies. I've seen a few already walk past the house and all wearing hoodies.
    looksee wrote: »
    Sadly I don't think there is anything you can do OP. Retaliation will just escalate the problem - make it more exciting for the kids to challenge you. You can ask if a Garda car can include your road on a drive by, you can ask for planning permission to build a more substantial wall, but neither of these things will make a lot of difference.

We had a situation some years ago where, because of our location on an estate, our house was 'egged' on a regular basis. Its a tedious and expensive job getting egg off tyrolean finish. It was mostly kids from one family (on the estate) but the father - a person with a responsible and socially aware job - refused to engage with anyone about them. Now his brats are grown and gone he is an upstanding and hardworking member of the Residents Committee, so presumably he had a blind spot about his kids.

Would it maybe be possible, now the evenings are getting longer, for a few people from the houses to 'just happen' to be standing around outside chatting, gardening, at the front of the houses, at the kind of times the kids come through? Not aggressive, rather giving a casual greeting to them, but just being there and giving a human presence to what they see as a row of maybe 'posh' houses.

We can't build or erect anything to stop them from walking past the front door. It's one of those estates with houses right on the foot path. It's a closed estate though, not hated but unless your living here or visiting there is no reason for you to be here.

We live in a cul de sac. It was great until the bridge over the river that let people from "that" estate to cross over into town as a short cut was demolished a few years a go. Then they found a path by the river trampled the fence no matter how many times we repaired it. And cross now past the few house in our cul de sac as a shirt cut to town. And like I said. They do all their work by the cloak of night.

You will have to get the fence put back up. Even if you have to pay for it yourselves. Who erected it in the first place? Can you tell them you need it reinstated, and this time put up decently. Arrange all of your neighbours and get pressure put on whoever you need to resolve this, probably council, councillors etc.

We've fixed it a few times now. But since the downturn in the economy none of us have spare cash for such things anymore. The estate barely gets enough money together to get the grass cut around the place. The council unfortunately has nothing to do with us.
    Forget about the law OP get all the men from your road together and go and tell them if the messing does not stop they will get a hiding

If only we could. But we all have small children and if things got nasty it wouldn't be to hard of any of the scumbags to really terrorise us. A while back I caught a few of them running on the wall that separates the back of the gardens from the houses on the other side. It's that easy to get to the house as we all have a house that's right on the foot path.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭knotknowbody

looksee wrote: »

Jeez, some parents can be blind, if it was me in the above situation the fathers house would have got the same treatment as mine, my gaff gets egged tonight then his gets egged the next night and so on until the egging stopped, you have to fight fire with fire sometimes, but it is important to pick your battles and fight them cleverly.

Organise your neighbours (get oral permission from all of them for you to persue the issue on their behalf) and start contacting every single person running for local election in your area. The elections are next month and they would all sell their grannies right now. See what they can do for you. Get whoever is most likely to re-elected out for a chat. There is no established right of way there so there is no reason access can't be cut off again. It does sound like planning permission for a big mofo wall will be your only way out, but if you are lucky that could be paid for by the council and up by the end of the year. If you are stuck there you will need a long term solution, because the hordes of scumbag kids will just keep coming.

Someone got the old bridge you mention demolished for probably this exact reason. It was probably the council. This is the knock on effect of that decision. You need them to find a way to close off the path the kids are using because you are suffering as a result.

Yes. I must speak to a friend of mine who's lived in town all his life and knows all the local counsellors.

As far as I know the old bridge was part of a property and therefore private. The people didn't want the responsibility if something happened, hence it was demolished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭ebbsy

The fuzz are too busy handing out penalty notices for car tax to people like me than deal with damage to property.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

It does sound like planning permission for a big mofo wall will be your only way out, but if you are lucky that could be paid for by the council and up by the end of the year. If you are stuck there you will need a long term solution, because the hordes of scumbag kids will just keep coming.

Big walls don't stop these anti-social waster toerags, they will just pile pallets up against it as a ladder and they have their rat-run back.

The only thing that will work is people out patrolling the area at night with powerful torches and cameras, let the scum know they are being watched and recorded!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

All the houses (8) on our lane had the outside light broken but only use and another neighbour also had them stolen at a later date. And some neighbours with pot plants had them smashed a few times.

All petty stuff. The kind that scumbag kids get up to because the have nothing better to do.

Cobblers......Kids,scumbag or otherwise,have PLENTY to do,if they could be bothered to seek it out or invest a bit of their own energy into it.

Increasingly,in a society which increasingly needs to "group" everything,these Kids need to be channelled into something productive and/or positive.....If they choose not to go voluntarily,then some means needs to be found to give them a good Kick in the Arse (Metaphorically,I stress !).

Breaking up other folks property and generally making a goddam nusiance of themselves should never be a "Painless" option for impressionable youth....ever ! :o

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Are your neighbors drug dealers? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

Organise your neighbours (get oral permission from all of them for you to persue the issue on their behalf) and start contacting every single person running for local election in your area. The elections are next month and they would all sell their grannies right now. See what they can do for you. Get whoever is most likely to re-elected out for a chat. There is no established right of way there so there is no reason access can't be cut off again. It does sound like planning permission for a big mofo wall will be your only way out, but if you are lucky that could be paid for by the council and up by the end of the year. If you are stuck there you will need a long term solution, because the hordes of scumbag kids will just keep coming.

This is your best option I feel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

I "invested" in a couple of large teenagers and had them befriend the scumbags. This is a long-term strategy, but very effective. On the upside, the first step involves sex with your partner..

This is definitely playing the long game. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Follow them home and vandalise their houses.
    Tie them to lamp posts.

When you see them approaching, run out, semi clothed, and dance around the garden, shouting about aliens/zombies approaching to take over. They will then have you down as the 'mad b*s***d' rather than the fella we can irritate. Do a version of the Haka in the process. Pretend to talk to God and St. Anthony or something. That should get rid of them lol.

I'm too slight for them to take me as a serious threat :(

You just need to convince them that you're insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Ring the guards and ask them to send a patrol around more regular.

Consult with your neighbours and set up a neighbourhood watch.

The only real chance you have of stopping this is to present a united front with your neighbours.

Unfortunately this type of behaviour is all to common these days.

Get in touch with your local TD as well, he/she is the person who can make things happen with the guards.

Eat more pies and take up being a ninja. Worse case scenario, you'll be so busy eating and doing ninja classes, you won't have time to be at home for them to annoy you.

I was half thinking of planting a bamboo garden in the front. Under the surface, spiked bamboo smeared with poop. That'll teach them to mess with me! :pac:

Very hard to keep a bamboo garden neat though. You need a serious Flymo.

You just need to go out and appear insane. Honestly, nothing scares the crap out of me than poor unfortunates in psychiatric hospitals standing at windows talking to St. Bernadette.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Bear in mind, if they injure themselves on your property, your probably fooked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭cometogether

A knife dragged across the face would prob stop it to be honest

You're suggesting he slashes himself? I think they mean go out in your bathrobe, smeared in your own shyte and roaring incomprehensibles. Self-harm is going too far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Steodonn

Get a few balaclavas and a van. Pull up when there is only a few of them waving a gun shaped stick drag them into the van and somehow imply that your in the ra for years and dont put up with this **** . Not only will they leave you alone you will also have a loyal crew of ready made henchmen should you ever what to pursue a career in organized crime/freedom fighting/terrorism

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭DildoFaggins

Just get the required things to surf the secret web hire a hitman and you are done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭Vision of Disorder

Steodonn wrote: »
    should you ever what to pursue a career in organized crime/freedom fighting/terrorism

I suppose you could join the police yourself OP? :)

start to practise acting crazy