Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Retrim. Leather seats.

• 11-04-2014 11:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,

As a few of ye know from a previous thread I've just bought a 2010 Mazda 6. Pics to follow late next week, I promise, when I collect the car! Cant wait now.

It has cloth seats. I'm considering doing a retrim of sorts so as to have leather or faux leather seats more probably due to budget.

I heard there was a place on Ushers quay that the taxi lads use but I cant find a number or website anywhere.

Then theres this guy on adverts http://www.adverts.ie/car-motorbike-boat-services/leather-seat-covers-for-cars-mpvs-vans-and-trucks-custom-fit/2173158 - note take off link if I shouldnt have linked it mods. I just wondered had anyone used this one. He's quoted me €280 which seems incredibly cheap. I was expecting at least €500 even it was faux leather to be honest.

Anyone have any experience of this lot? or the one on Ushers Quay? or is there another option maybe?

I might just leave it cloth but no harm in considering ones options.

It may be the case of save up to a grand or so and get it done properly.
    http://nolanautocare.ie/ this one seems to do a good job from the photos but its too expensive for me right now. As I say though might be worth the wait and getting done right.

Any suggestions or opinions welcome.

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Try Nolans OP:

http://nolanautocare.ie/

Edit: Oops - apologies OP - I speed-read your post and completely missed that you are already aware of Nolans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Dont bother with a re-trim. It's easy enough to buy the seats on eBay and fit them yourself. AS Cars on eBay break a lot of 6's so get onto them. The Mazda leather isn't all that bad either. Sure the backs of the seats are pleather but the facing is decent enough.

EDIT - They have the sports half leather here:
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Leather-Seat-Set-Mazda-6-2008-2012-Hatchback-Estate-models-Spare-/131092865882?pt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM&hash=item1e85be635a

Heated too so be sure you get the switches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

I did mention them in my post. They're not cheap. €1300 - €1900 is quoted on their site so I'm probably somewhere in the middle with a mazda 6. Its over budget currently unfortunately. As I say might be worth saving for. But I was wondering are the other options worth looking at.

cheers though.

That is cheap but its half leather unfortunately. I have a young child which is one of the main reasons to look at some sort of eh wipeable option. :D

OP, here's the website for the place on Usher's Quay.

They're called CUC:

http://www.cucupholstery.com/

Hth.

I just remembered another outfit I linked to recently in another post where somebody was looking for car seat covers, but it says on their website that they also do retrims, so they could be worth a call.

They're in Dundrum:

http://autofashion.goldenpages.ie/

OP, here's the website for the place on Usher's Quay.

They're called CUC:

http://www.cucupholstery.com/

Hth.

Thanks for that. I rang them there. €475 roughly is what she said on the phone. Wasnt sure exactly though on the make and model.

I'll go down to them and take a look at what I'd get for that.

If it looks cheap I wont bother. I'd rather have baby sick on my nice looking cloth seats than cheap looking/feeling rubbish fake leather.

If its fake leather that actually looks decent and feels ok we'll see.

Seemingly this is the place all the taxi lads go and swear by it as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Thanks for that. I rang them there. €475 roughly is what she said on the phone. Wasnt sure exactly though on the make and model.

If it looks cheap I wont bother. I'd rather have baby sick on my nice looking cloth seats than cheap looking/feeling rubbish fake leather.

Example of their work from a few years ago - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=64161841&postcount=4

Looks pretty good in the picture, wonder what it feels like though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

R.O.R wrote: »
    Example of their work from a few years ago - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=64161841&postcount=4

Looks pretty good in the picture, wonder what it feels like though?

That stuff is as rough as a ducks arse. I wouldnt put it anywhere near a car that i planned on selling at any stage in the near future. Any prospective buyers will think it was a taxi.

And yes im sure its perfectly fine for a taxi. (ive sat in many) and im sure it cleans up fine. But by god it feels cheap, it touches cheap, and it looks cheap.

no chance id put that anywhere near a car OP if there was a commercial advantage to it.

As suggested already if you want leather then get some on ebay that are OEM and swap them out.

listermint wrote: »
    That stuff is as rough as a ducks arse. I wouldnt put it anywhere near a car that i planned on selling at any stage in the near future. Any prospective buyers will think it was a taxi.

And yes im sure its perfectly fine for a taxi. (ive sat in many) and im sure it cleans up fine. But by god it feels cheap, it touches cheap, and it looks cheap.

no chance id put that anywhere near a car OP if there was a commercial advantage to it.

As suggested already if you want leather then get some on ebay that are OEM and swap them out.

Yeah they dont look great to me now I have to say.

I think I'll take the OEM suggestion as the way forward if I do make it happen.

cheers all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

We've a 2012 Sport SE in the garage at the moment, so I just went down to check.

The leather is unlikely to have come from factory, as I found the zip on the back of the driver's seat to unzip the cover, and remove it.

I'm not going to unzip it as it's up for sale at the moment, and I doubt I'd get it back on properly, but it's possible that there is still the normal cloth underneath, as it leaves the factory.

If there is cloth underneath, it means a breaker might just sell the covers to you, and fitting those would be a much smaller job than fitting a whole new seat set.

R.O.R wrote: »
    We've a 2012 Sport SE in the garage at the moment, so I just went down to check.

The leather is unlikely to have come from factory, as I found the zip on the back of the driver's seat to unzip the cover, and remove it.

I'm not going to unzip it as it's up for sale at the moment, and I doubt I'd get it back on properly, but it's possible that there is still the normal cloth underneath, as it leaves the factory.

If there is cloth underneath, it means a breaker might just sell the covers to you, and fitting those would be a much smaller job than fitting a whole new seat set.

I tried to unzip mine and it was foam! But I'd say the covers might be available somewhere!

Where though is the problem and would they fit around a normal cloth seat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Mazda cloth seats have zips too.

Where though is the problem and would they fit around a normal cloth seat?

Probably wouldn't fit over the cloth.

You could price a dealer, ask for the part number and get googling. I reckon contacting AS Cars directly is the cheapest route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I doubt it's a case of just pulling it over the seat and zipping it up anyway. The upholstery on seats is fitted and hooked through to pull it to the shape of the foam. Otherwise it sits up off it in any dipped parts so if you put it on over the cloth it'll look like badly fitted seat covers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Any mazda seats I've ripped apart use a mixture of plastic Velcro and the traditional metal rods sunk into the seat foam to keep the covers on.
    The zips are usually at the back of the front seats.