Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Singing Priest steals the show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

He has something of the Elton John about him alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I would hate that :o

I know everyone loves it, he seems like a nice man, good singer etc. But not for my wedding thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Nobody has posted about this yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

eek, as if Irish weddings were not cringe enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Is this not a common enough thing? I remember our priest would regularly sing portions of songs with no choir or any backing music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Tbh while it was a nice performance, he's made the wedding about himself there rather than the couple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Adamantium wrote: »
    Is this not a common enough thing? I remember our priest would regularly sing portions of songs with no choir or any backing music.

It happens occasionally alright. I heard that Fred Phelps from the Westboro Baptist Church used to sing a few bars of I want to break free by Queen from time to time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Right,If I can't pray the gay away,

I might as well sing it away!!.......

No....wait....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

mauzo! wrote: »

I know everyone loves it, he seems like a nice man, good singer etc. But not for my wedding thanks!
    Maybe I'm old fashioned, but surely the focus should be on the bride:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭robbiezero

I guess people will remember their wedding long after your average Irish wedding merges in your memory and becomes indistinguishable from every other Irish wedding they attended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Tbh while it was a nice performance, he's made the wedding about himself there rather than the couple.

That was my view on it. It's quite nicely done, but the emphasis of the wedding is supposed to be the bride and groom. All everyone is going to be talking about after that wedding is the priest. Rather than the discussion after the service being all about "Didn't she look lovely", it will be "Wasn't the priest amazing".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Did he post it on YouTube and view it over 200,000 times???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

If it's all about the bride( and parenthically, it seems, the groom) then why have best men, bridesmaids or any body else at the wedding? Anybody can steal the show. I once ate the cake a bit early. That was kinda stealing the limelight. It certainly has been talked about since. Maybe too often. Maybe it's remembered more than the bride's dress.

Call me bitter but if you want the day to be about yourself alone feck off abroad and send a video. Then there can be no confusion about non standard looking wedding cakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Cornelius Cornpipe

Grand performance. He's well able to sing. Really seemed to enjoy doing it. Well done to the Father.

No need for the auld snarky comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭maneno

That was just part of the wedding,so abit off saying he stole the show,very nice voice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

padd b1975 wrote: »
    :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Did he post it on YouTube and view it over 200,000 times???

Your post is immediately invalidated by your overuse of that poxy smiley.

And since those 200000 views were to see him sing rather than see the wedding my point is made. He might not have uploaded it but he was the focus of it. He also has another album out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

mauzo! wrote: »

Sounds like someone doesn't want to be upstaged!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Your post is immediately invalidated by your overuse of that poxy smiley.

And since those 200000 views were to see him sing rather than see the wedding my point is made. He might not have uploaded it but he was the focus of it. He also has another album out.

So what? It's not like the wedding would have been notable anyway. It'll be a great talking point in years to come for couple that their wedding made the papers all over the world

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Nice article and shows the community based spirit of the occasion. Now just so long as the Priest does not start singing songs from the Cohen playbook, like The Old Revolution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I read a few comments from him saying he has been doing it for years, changing the names to suit the couple.

I would be more p!ssed off at the guest who videoed it and UPLOADED it on the day of the wedding!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

that's the first time i've seen someone called O'Kane outside of county derry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

ElleEm wrote: »
    I read a few comments from him saying he has been doing it for years, changing the names to suit the couple.

I would be more p!ssed off at the guest who videoed it and UPLOADED it on the day of the wedding!!

Given all the different angles it was clearly a pro wedding video.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Given all the different angles it was clearly a pro wedding video.

Thanks for that!

I thought it had to be a guest due to the timing. I watched it the morning after, I think the 7th when the video had the 6th on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

ElleEm wrote: »

It seems to be recorded professionally so maybe that's part of the deal.