Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mad Bullock ..... can i sedate him???

• 10-04-2014 8:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭

Recently purchased a bullock in the local Mart and when i got him home he will not come into the pen with the others.....

Finally one day i got him in by pure luck. He ran at a 16ft heavy duty gate and took it of the hinges. He is only 320kg....

Then to top everything of when i let them out he broke into my neighbours farm and wait..... jumped 2 ditches and landed 2 farms away...... Stone mad....

The bullock is with 3 other cattle and wont come into the neighbour pen to get him back. I'm trying for the last 2 weeks. Any ideas because i tried meal and he's just is too nervous.

Question: Can you fire a tranquilser to sedate him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Round Bale

Gilroy wrote: »

Recently purchased a bullock in the local Mart and when i got him home he will not come into the pen with the others.....

Finally one day i got him in by pure luck. He ran at a 16ft heavy duty gate and took it of the hinges. He is only 320kg....

Then to top everything of when i let them out he broke into my neighbours farm and wait..... jumped 2 ditches and landed 2 farms away...... Stone mad....

The bullock is with 3 other cattle and wont come into the neighbour pen to get him back. I'm trying for the last 2 weeks. Any ideas because i tried meal and he's just is too nervous.

Permanent tranquiliser is what he needs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

I always found it a lot easier handle cattle early in the morning. They are that bit quieter then.

As for sedating, how about this;
    http://pedigreecattle.ie/products/feed-additives/tranquil-natural-calmer-1-litre

I think some one mentioned magnesium on here before aswell.
    Patienece and a lot of time and he will calm down enough to keep him within the ditches. The mart probably scared the beyasus out of him.
    An old quiet cow is great to calm them too.

Covered here before too;
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056727111

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Gilroy

I always found it a lot easier handle cattle early in the morning. They are that bit quieter then.

As for sedating, how about this;
    http://pedigreecattle.ie/products/feed-additives/tranquil-natural-calmer-1-litre

I think some one mentioned magnesium on here before aswell.
    Patienece and a lot of time and he will calm down enough to keep him within the ditches. The mart probably scared the beyasus out of him.
    An old quiet cow is great to calm them too.

Covered here before too;
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056727111

Have you every used this product? Does it really work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,207 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

would there be any point going back to the previous owner or the mart as the animal is dangerous?

whelan2 wrote: »
    would there be any point going back to the previous owner or the mart as the animal is dangerous?

No i cant do that, plus its one out of 100's of cattle. We had this years ago "Mad Heifers" but as a farmer you just need to proceed with the best solution. And that is to get the animal back to my farm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

whelan2 wrote: »

I'd tend to agree..
    Chances are he was sedated to get him though the ring and onto OP's books.
    Your better off wothout this animal... throw up the sale if possible !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Id say chances of the mart or seller taking him back are slim . If you could find a lad to take him for finishing now thats what I would do .

bbam wrote: »
    I'd tend to agree..
    Chances are he was sedated to get him though the ring and onto OP's books.
    Your better off wothout this animal... throw up the sale if possible !!

If he was sedated then i'd like to know what the other farmer used to sedate him. I need a bit of that stuff to round him up and get him back home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Will he eat nuts? If so, throw about 75 KG in a trough some evening, and hopefully he will eat 20KG of them. Will be in no humour of running in the morning. Used this successfully with a Limo bull (rig) who was just mental. He was so crazy we couldn't TB test him, and the Dept were fed up with the situation, as was I. ( incomplete test) Dept advised me that if
    I didn't test him, they would send out the Army and shoot him. This was in the shed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Have you every used this product? Does it really work?

No, never used it. Just saw it recently on the site. It could be coloured water for all I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭The Real Elmer Fudd

I feel your pain!! Think every one who buys in cattle has been in this situation at least once. Unfortunately, Id say your best bet in patience.

You could try letting a larger number of cattle into the field, try and get him into the middle of the group and hunt all cattle into the pen and with a bit of luck he'll be in the pen before he even knows it.

Whenever, you do get him in, if it was me he wouldn't be getting back out as no matter what you do from this point on you will always have hassle with him. Even if he does settle, every time you go to handle or move the rest of the cattle he'll rise and take a few more along with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Will he eat nuts? If so, throw about 75 KG in a trough some evening, and hopefully he will eat 20KG of them. Will be in no humour of running in the morning. Used this successfully with a Limo bull (rig) who was just mental. He was so crazy we couldn't TB test him, and the Dept were fed up with the situation, as was I. ( incomplete test) Dept advised me that if
    I didn't test him, they would send out the Army and shoot him. This was in the shed!

Eh I don't think the depth would have us out. :D

Reggie. wrote: »

Well that's what the Vet Officer in the Dept. told me.

Never happen believe me. Army would be left open for damages. Officers run a mile from such things

I did suggest that I shoot him myself, hang him from the loader, butcher him and then put him in the freezer, but the Dept. guy nearly had a stroke.
    Something to do with abattoir ?

You guys not get a bit of practice during the foot and mouth? You wouldn't want a 5.56 round whizzing about the mass concrete walls of my shed...........:)

I did suggest that I shoot him myself, hang him from the loader, butcher him and then put him in the freezer, but the Dept. guy nearly had a stroke.
    Something to do with abattoir ?

You guys not get a bit of practice during the foot and mouth? You wouldn't want a 5.56 round whizzing about the mass concrete walls of my shed...........:)
    actually we did alright but that was the wild sheep and deer up the mountains not in a private shed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

The army had to shoot some cattle near us about 10 years ago. Dept organised it.

towzer2010 wrote: »
    The army had to shoot some cattle near us about 10 years ago. Dept organised it.

Mm mm interesting. What was the reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Sounds like its not the first time that bullock was sedated.
    Previous owner must have sedated him to get him sold.
    My uncle bought a lovely quiet cow a few years ago. I was with him to bring it home. The cow was unusually quiet but a couple of hours after we got the thing home it went berserk no ditch or fence held her. He rang the local gun club and 2 guys with rifles came and managed to track her 3 miles and shoot her.
    Of course she was buried but that's a few years ago. Everyone suspected the farmer he bought it off sedated her but no proof. But a couple of years later the same farmer got in trouble for animal cruelty.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 625 ✭✭✭roadsmart

Mm mm interesting. What was the reason?
    They broke the Official Secrets Act.

roadsmart wrote: »
    They broke the Official Secrets Act.

Ah treason...... Punishable by death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭on the river

Ah treason...... Punishable by death

The man that hath no music in himself, Nor is not moved with concord of sweet sounds, Is fit for treasons, stratagems, and spoils; The motions of his spirit are dull as night, And his affections dark as Erebus. Let no such man be trusted. Mark the music.”

William Shakespeare,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

towzer2010 wrote: »

I think I heard of something like that happening was it somewhere in Mayo years ago. It was a bunch of bullocks that were totally wild and hadn't been TB tested in 3 years or something. I think they belonged to an old man who couldn't get them in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Yes. Was done here years ago. Neighbours bullock broke in here couldn't be penned or moved under any circumstances. They came one evening with a pickup full of young lads, I mean ten or a dozen, no good. After that they contacted a local deer farmer and he came with the tranquilser and the gun, job done. They loaded him out in the field. I'll never forget the hammering and shaking of the trailer after he was given the antidote. He went bat sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭nhg

A limousine I assume.....

A bunch of cattle to get him into pen, they usually settle after a while - unless he's a stag....

Had one here since November, he was grand in the shed, different matter when out in the yard, kept him in shed to finish along with another bullock, when rest were left off to grass in March, he went to factory last Tuesday, roaring & pawing the ground when in pen waiting on truck to collect him.

His head & neck were so big wouldn't fit in head gate for bolus.

nhg wrote: »

A bunch of cattle to get him into pen, they usually settle after a while - unless he's a stag....

Had one here since November, he was grand in the shed, different matter when out in the yard, kept him in shed to finish along with another bullock, when rest were left off to grass in March, he went to factory last Tuesday, roaring & pawing the ground when in pen waiting on truck to collect him.

His head & neck were so big wouldn't fit in head gate for bolus.

A charolais.....

All,

Got him back yesterday evening. Ended up putting all cattle into pen then jumping the pen gate and running around behind him.

Then i ran at him, he turned quickly and could see the others eating in the pen and IN HE WENT...... :eek:

I couldnt believe it.... I got he home and put him into field with 25 others. Wait till you hear this, i walked out into the field to count them later and he walked past me.... NUTS..... Now he seems fine.....

Maybe he will calm down now. What a waste of two weeks...

All,

Got him back yesterday evening. Ended up putting all cattle into pen then jumping the pen gate and running around behind him.

Then i ran at him, he turned quickly and could see the others eating in the pen and IN HE WENT...... :eek:

I couldnt believe it.... I got he home and put him into field with 25 others. Wait till you hear this, i walked out into the field to count them later and he walked past me.... NUTS..... Now he seems fine.....

Good to hear ya got sorted....In a way

All,

I had a similar experience with a heifer.

She was pure crazy, jumped every cute, wall, ditch, known to man, would have made a great show jumper in the RDS.

the final straw came when she kicked down the wooden door in the shed and jumped the pin.

couldnt get her back in would charge at you in field.

Anyways after a few months we got her in with cows and sent her to the factory.

My advice BEWARE OF THAT bull. we will strike again.

Your better off getting rid of him , too much trouble and hassle and

above all not safe.

I wish you the best dealing with that wicked creature. good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I would agree with on the river , don't presume he wont act the maggot again . Glad you got him in though , maybe he got spooked when they were loading him for the mart and thats all thats up with him but still don't take any chances with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

nhg wrote: »

Why do people assume that all Limo's are mad.

I have limo's for the past 20 years and rarely have a wild one - wild cattle are mostly down to how you manage them. How many times have I saw farmers hitting and shouting at cattle for no reason when a bit of gentle coaxing will get the job done easier. Or bringing out 15 fellas in a field to get in cattle when one man with a lock of nuts will do the same job and less stressful on man and beast..................

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Dunedin wrote: »
    Why do people assume that all Limo's are mad.

I have limo's for the past 20 years and rarely have a wild one - wild cattle are mostly down to how you manage them. How many times have I saw farmers hitting and shouting at cattle for no reason when a bit of gentle coaxing will get the job done easier. Or bringing out 15 fellas in a field to get in cattle when one man with a lock of nuts will do the same job and less stressful on man and beast..................

Completely agree with you!

One proviso, twenty years ago, for the average Joe they were touchy. Handled with finesse or tolerance, they could be dealt with but 'handled' by the wrong person then they were the first ones to cut up.

Nowadays they are quieter than most with the odd throw back where an animal is bred out of 'old stock' or just the exception that 'proves the rule'.

The breed society have done a terrific job of weeding out the rotten genetics. They had to! It was the only thing holding back the expansion of the breed.
    They did and it has!

Nowadays I smile when I hear it expressed, it's completely wrong but has just become part of the language, a spoken history.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

The limo get there law from the french, where they must be treated with high respect, or else they will be grumpy and will teach you manners. The limo are great mothers and great diplomats always willing to fight their corner , they are born leaders in any herd .

The downside is if they have it in for you its over. When a limo is insulted they are pure hot heads and are hard to calm down.

A limousin will always be a controverial animals for the right and wrong reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭chuckyarelaw

Would you not just give him a few cows to ride?

Poor lad probably just needs a good seeing to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭Good loser

I would advise driving the bunch into the/a yard regularly and/or into a shed. Keep an eye on his behaviour. Never face him or isolate him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭sheeper

Some times there is just a nutter in the bunch , sure look at people gold to a pub most people are enjoying the night but there's always a nutter in the corner !