Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Rugby Match Fixing Scandal

• 01-04-2014 1:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭

Unbelievable! There will be many red faces in Dublin 4 and the fallout from this could be absolutely massive. I'm sickened and petrified about what this could mean for Leinster...

Irish Rugby Rocked by Sensational Match Fixing Scandal
    Gardai launch investigation following documents leaked over the weekend

Gerry Thornley
    Topics:
    Sport
    Rugby
    Tue, Apr 1, 2014, 10:35
    First published:
    Tue, Apr 1, 2014, 01:00

Irish rugby today fell into a seismic crisis following revelations of leaked documents revealing a match fixing scandal that reaches the highest echelons of Irish rugby.

In apparent collusion amongst top brass at the Dublin 4 HQ and a leading Irish province, it is alleged that Irish interprovincial results had been influenced prior to contention and the fallout threatens to destabilize the sport on the island.

Gardai sources confirmed this afternoon that three leading names in Irish rugby; Philip Browne, Mick Dawson and Guy Easterby have been questioned and released without charge after it is alleged a whistleblower revealed documents believed to contain details of officiating appointments and the preempting of interprovincial results. The source confirmed that a file is being prepared for the DPP.

The shocking revelations come in the wake of the appointment of Irish and former Leinster player Alain Rolland to oversee the sold out Aviva Stadium interprovincial derby between Leinster and Munster at the weekend.

Eyebrows were raised in relation to the appointment and officiating decisions, however it is not yet clear if the rapidly unfolding scandal relates to this encounter.

The potential fallout from such revelations can not be underestimated and what sanctions the union and alleged province may face is as of yet unclear, however serious financial sanctions may be imposed if the allegations are substantiated, which could propel the game at both a provincial and national level into chaos.

Furthermore the sporting ramifications could see the altering of the status of ongoing or recently completed compositions at domestic, European and even International standings to such a magnitude that the stripping of titles or even expulsion from competitions could entail.

A press conference is due to be held this evening at Garda headquarters, but the IRFU did not wish to comment when contacted.

gthornley@irishtimes.com

Tue, Apr 1, 2014, 10:35
    First published:
    Tue, Apr 1, 2014, 01:00
    We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Principal Skinner

Have to admit you had me going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Using unbelievable as the opening is a bit of a give away, also it's after 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Admittedly that's pretty clever given the ridiculous level of nonsense we've had to endure over the last week. Fair play Gerry, fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

You just bloody well know he insists on using the phrase "Poisson d'Avril".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭DGRulz

Got to the Rolland bit and then I knew :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

ye after 12 so closed