Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unknown owner

• 31-03-2014 10:29am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭

Howdy,

Have a ewe here doesn't belong to us, trying to track down the owner via tag number. Rang the DVO and was advised to ring the Gardaí ! So have done that now but it seems OTT to me that I have to ring the cops. Surely the DVO could pass on my phone number to the owner, would be a lot simpler that involving the cops.

Strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭AnFeirmeoir

Add it onto your lambing percentage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

The Dept have the register of owners but will only give out info to the guards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Add it onto your lambing percentage

You didn't see him, he'd take away from it :pac:
    ganmo wrote: »
    The Dept have the register of owners but will only give out info to the guards

I understand about giving out info, I asked if they'd pass on my number to the owner.

The Gardaí were very good, had yer mans number in half an hour for me. Rang him a while ago and he was delighted to know someone had got the sheep and lamb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Had she travelled far Con? Sounds like someone dumped her off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

About five miles, this is one of the eccentricities of unfenced commonages. She wasn't dumped, she and another hogget went on him last year and he made a mistake and let the same two out again this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

If there's a path sheep'll keep going, they love the coilte walkways around here