Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vehicle explosion in Dublin 8

• 31-03-2014 12:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭

MODS I assumed there would be a thread for this, I don't see one. They've possibly been deleted.

Twitter is reporting an explosion in Long Lane D8. There are suggestions in might be malicious.

Picture from Twitter.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BkA35-lIEAArRgT.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Looks rough. Hope no one is hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

More info over on Dublin City board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Hope it's not gay fawkes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Has Gilligan said it's just an April fools prank yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

From the facebook link
    Mental. I heard the explosion n went outside. This dood ran past the gaf with a blood covered face bashing into cars. He either blew up the car (and himself) or was just passing when it went off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/gbcwgbeyqley/
    A car caught fire in Dublin city centre last night, with witnesses in the area reporting an explosion.

The incident took place at approximately 11pm on Long Lane, near the Meath Community Service Hospital, minutes away from St Stephen's Green. Users on social media described feeling and hearing an explosion.

Photographer Alan Bennett said he was around the corner when he "heard and felt an explosion."

"I reached Long Lane about 15 seconds later to see a car on fire," he said.

"[There were] a couple of smaller explosions over the next few minutes as more of the car burned."

He said there were three fire engines, two ambulances and a number of garda vehicles attending the scene, the first of which arrived within minutes.

"I am in no doubt there was an explosion," he said.

Explosion at long lane, Dublin 8 tonight. pic.twitter.com/8KOa4CsALJ
    — Anna Shanley (@annashanley) March 30, 2014

Eavan Murray, a reporter at the Irish Sun, tweeted "There was an explosion just yards from our office tonight. Blast shook our windows."

Her colleague Enda Bolger tweeted: "Heard and felt the reverberations in the office."

There had been no official statement by Gardaí or the Fire service at the time of writing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

No docklands bomb though is it.

I've lit farts that could do that damage.

I am disappoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Ruubot2 wrote: »

Hmm, I might wait for a more reliable source.... Like buzzfeed or the college times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

The incident took place at approximately 11pm on Long Lane, near the Meath Community Service Hospital,

Well that was handy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

And people say you stay away from the Northside as it the dangerous part of the city

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

No word of anyone being seriously injured which is the main thing. Was parked pretty close to that row of housing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I am disappoint.

Not cool.

Two innocent people were killed by the scum who planted the Docklands Bomb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Strikes me as more of a case of arson than a case of explosive terrorism. If it were a bomb I'd say it'd have done more damage judging by the photo. Explosion probably caused by the petrol tank of the car exploding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

I am disappoint.
    Have a bit of cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

No deaths and the injury that occurred might have been an incidental passerby? Sounds like a gangland telegram

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Overheal wrote: »
    No deaths and the injury that occurred might have been an incidental passerby? Sounds like a gangland telegram
    It could just have easily been an engine fault or a bunch of young lads with petrol and a lighter. Still worrying to hear it happen so centrally.