Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parked car damaged, Ranelagh

• 27-03-2014 9:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭

On the off chance anyone here owns or knows the person who owns a black Astra 07D8075 parked in Ranelagh tonight, it was hit a number of times by a bint parking a Jag, who when I pointed out to her that she was hitting the car behind replied "I'm not, **** off and mind your own business".

This kind of **** boils my blood so I left a note on the Astra with my details and her reg number, but if she arrive back first I'm sure it'll be gone so hopefully someone in here knows the person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

What type of jag out of interest?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

ION08 wrote: »
    What type of jag out of interest?!

X-Type jag, light blue with several scrapes on the passenger side funnily enough...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Had I been there, I would have whipped out my phone and pretend to take a few photos of her car as she was parking, I'm sure she'd be a bit more cautious then.

No point in even reporting that to the Guards is there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Cork selfbuild

Hate hate hate that attitude with a passion, witnessed similar myself last year, but the driver broke the lamp and didn't care, when I pointed it out they got back in their car and drove off after a failed parking attempt, took the details and the owner was back before I left, was really grateful for the info...

Fair play for talking up, too many people don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,622 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

fullstop wrote: »
    a note on the Astra with my details and her reg number, but if she arrive back first I'm sure it'll be gone so hopefully someone in here knows the person.

Surely you should phone the local station and give your contact details in case the owner comes back, the note you left is gone and s/he reports it as a hit and run?

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

It's one thing if the driver genuinely doesn't realise they've hit the other car (not being ageist, but I see this a LOT with elderly drivers outside where I work) but someone being fully aware of the situation and continuing to do it would make me furious. Second the idea of ringing the Gardai and giving the details of the cars. Odds are on they might be able to see who owns the 'victim' car and get in touch with the owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,582 ✭✭✭greasepalm

i would report it as i saw a same situation of 4 teenagers getting into parked car across the road with angled parking,they reversed to the other side of road reversing into a parked car they got out looked at it and laughed about it and drove off with a slab of beer for the party later.i got reg and model reported it to garda station as a hit and run,a few days later her mother rang to thank me for reporting it as she would have hated damage done to her car in same situation.
    a number of years earlier had my door done in and no one saw it.
    next time if it happens report it as insurance bills are high enough for us to pay,maybe they had no tax or insurance and if they had killed someone and no one reported it.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I've a big ass dent in my front right wing, which i'm 99.999999% was caused by the silver Rover below.

Untitled_zps0a3a05fb.jpg

No way to prove it though and no reg, bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I wish someone had done the same for me as the OP did. Parked my car a while back at the post office, I was 8 minutes tops in there, came back out and there was a large dent in the right-back side at the petrol part. A nice big lashing of silver paint on the dent as well. It cost me a lot to get fixed because of an arse-hole like this.

I wouldn't hesitate to get the reg of an arse-hole doing something like this if I saw similar happening, and forward it to the damaged car owner. I have no time for idiots that hit and run without even leaving their details on my wiper.

Bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

Toots* wrote: »
    It's one thing if the driver genuinely doesn't realise they've hit the other car (not being ageist, but I see this a LOT with elderly drivers outside where I work) but someone being fully aware of the situation and continuing to do it would make me furious. Second the idea of ringing the Gardai and giving the details of the cars. Odds are on they might be able to see who owns the 'victim' car and get in touch with the owner.

No offence but even if they are old and don't realise. I still want their reg number. I don't care if your 2 or 102 if you go and damage my car, you or your insurance should be paying. My last car was vandalised more than once and I had to pay up every time. So I don't care about the other parties circumstances at all. You did it, you pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Was parked at the shop on Saturday, with me sitting in passenger seat while himself picked up a few things. Noticed a 5 series reversing in for a parallel park in front of us. He came in fast and whacked off my front bumper.

He got out and looked, and then walked straight off, even though he must have seen me sitting there. Amazed TBH, I'd wouldn't have cared if he'd acknowledged it with a "sorry".

Anyway, I'd contact the Gardaí with the info. Does no harm

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Had I been there, I would have whipped out my phone and pretend to take a few photos of her car as she was parking, I'm sure she'd be a bit more cautious then.

No point in even reporting that to the Guards is there?

why pretend?
    just video the entire thing and let her freak out :)

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

No offence but even if they are old and don't realise. I still want their reg number. I don't care if your 2 or 102 if you go and damage my car, you or your insurance should be paying. My last car was vandalised more than once and I had to pay up every time. So I don't care about the other parties circumstances at all. You did it, you pay.

Oh I completely agree. What I'm saying is I can understand driving off if you genuinely didn't realise you'd hit something (still doesn't make it right, but why would you stop if you didn't know you did something wrong). In a case like this, if I got the reg I'd definitely leave the owner a note - and have done in the past. But realising you've hit something, and then just driving off anyway takes a special kind of asshole.