Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Swan being walked down Baggot Street

• 27-03-2014 9:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone see the swan being escorted back to the Grand Canal from Baggot Street this evening?

It was like (running with) Forest Gump with different people joining to help and then leaving at points along the way.

Ah we're a great bunch of people us Irish :)

*silly swan was very placid and a bit of a dumdum :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,879 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

amdublin wrote: »
    Anyone see the swan being escorted back to the Grand Canal from Baggot Street this evening?

It was like (running with) Forest Gump with different people joining to help and then leaving at points along the way.

What colour was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

What colour was it?

White and grey. Apparently only a young fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Something like this OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

And everyone went home and ordereded some duck from the local chinese

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Mmmm, swan sandwiches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I blame the fella with the rabbit on the bridge. First he sits with a rabbit, then a penguin walks around sheriff street and now feckin swans.
    I'm going to get a giraffe and put em all to shame

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Swans are super intelligent, if it had wanted to go to the canal it would have went to the canal on it's own. :(

So instead he decided to walk about town for the quack like.

Jeez generalize much. I'm telling you this young fella was not super intelligent.

But he was a nice fella all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

It was a dancing swan, he was looking for a lake

So instead he decided to walk about town for the quack like.

Didn't have a clue where he was going. Walking around on a wing and a prayer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

First we're generalizing polish about eating swans.
    Now we're generalizing the swans too. for shame

Think he was hungry...he had a craving for Birdoffs chipper like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

those dubliners are acting like they have never seen a swan in their lives

Jeez generalize much. I'm telling you this young fella was not super intelligent.

But he was a nice fella all the same.

It might have been a bird. Apparently it's not easy to tell whether they are male or female.

Bleedin neck of him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,594 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Did it have a grapefruit?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Moving in on George Mitchell's patch?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone

Was it dole day? Swan just getting his cash & some flagons & heading back to his gaff

Did it have a grapefruit?

Um, no...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

why didnt you ask, some reporter you are :mad:

fail, you failed hard.

MS.ing wrote: »
    why didnt you ask, some reporter you are :mad:

fail, you failed hard.

Come back Charlie Bird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

It might have been a bird. Apparently it's not easy to tell whether they are male or female.
    The males are the ones with a penis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

I was driving through Ashbourne last night and saw a couple out walking..their cat. I did a double-take, and yep, Cat, walking, people. I lulled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

I was driving through Ashbourne last night and saw a couple out walking..their cat. I did a double-take, and yep, Cat, walking, people. I lulled.

Yep I've seen cats on leads before!!! Bizarre!

Did he get back to the water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Rothmans wrote: »
    Something like this OP?

That's great.. fair play to that guy for taking on the task of trying to lead it back to water while most others just stood around like fools with their phones out.

Pity we didn't see the ending though.. Obviously not enough fools with their phones out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

orangesoda wrote: »
    those dubliners are acting like they have never seen a swan in their lives

Seeing a swan is one thing. Seeing a swan tottering around central Dublin is a bit different.

I saw a ferret being walked on lead just before Christmas. Had to do a double take

I saw a fish being walked on a lead one time. Unfortunately it fell in the river and drowned.

I saw a ferret being walked on lead just before Christmas. Had to do a double take

I saw a ferret on a lead too!!! Did you see it near Ranelagh???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

I've seen a woman walking her ferret on a lead in Stephens green.

Hope the swan got back to where he wanted. Very stressful for him I'd say.
    It's not actually that difficult to tell the difference between the male and female by the way, you just have to know what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I saw a horse fly .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Probably headed for the Swan Centre in Rathmines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

I don't see anything wrong with that in theory, but it would probably be a lot of hassle if there were dogs about, I imagine. :pac:

Gongoozler wrote: »
    Hope the swan got back to where he wanted. Very stressful for him I'd say.
    It's not actually that difficult to tell the difference between the male and female by the way, you just have to know what it is.

Well we got him back to the canal but the little dummy decided to just eat grass rather than get into the water.

Stood with him for about 10 minutes but eventually had to leave him there.

He wasn't too distressed. As a I said in op a continual group of people joining, and helping out the guy in the hi-viz. He was more tired I think. His webbed feet were flipping and flopping and he was not great at walking up the kerb (unlike the swan in the video earlier in this thread) and he kept sitting down in the middle of the road!

I saw a horse fly .

I be done seen about everything when I see an elephant fly!

No, Sligo. At the retail park, very odd place to take your ferret for a walk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Well we got him back to the canal but the little dummy decided to just eat grass rather than get into the water.

He wasn't too distressed. As a I said in op a continual group of people joining, and helping out the guy in the hi-viz. He was more tired I think. His webbed feet were flipping and flopping and he was not great at walking up the kerb (unlike the swan in the video earlier in this thread) and he kept sitting down in the middle of the road!

Why were you waiting around for him to get in the water?
    Not sure if you realise animals don't tend to 'look' stressed like we do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Wait - there was a guy in hi viz with webbed feet and a bad gait who kept sitting down in the road??:confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

Seeing a swan is one thing. Seeing a swan tottering around central Dublin is a bit different.

a donkey was once lose at my gaa ground as well as a horse galloping up the road but that is rural life i suppose

Gongoozler wrote: »
    Why were you waiting around for him to get in the water?
    Not sure if you realise animals don't tend to 'look' stressed like we do...

Well it just would've been good to see that after walking with him for 30 mins.

I know they don't look exactly like us but it is obvious when an animal is frightened or distressed. This guy seemed "ok" and not a bother when he was beside the canal.
    But v near the exit on either end beside the road...but sure what can you do...no option but just leave him at that point.

orangesoda wrote: »
    a donkey was once lose at my gaa ground as well as a horse galloping up the road but that is rural life i suppose

A friend of mine was followed home from the pub by a goat once.

"Followed"...a likely story eh! He was ecstatic to see him still in the front garden the next morning :)