Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World Masters Athletics Indoors Champs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

For anyone interested in the World Masters Indoor Championships, results are available here:
    http://budapest2014.hu/index.php/en/results/
    I can not find a list of the full Irish team or who has won what so far, though I know there have been medals.

The boys on Jumping the Gun are featuring a blog by James Thie who is doing the 1500, 3000 & 800 O35.
    http://jumpingthegun.ie/blog/2014/3/...still-on-track
    He is in the 3000 final against Ciaran Doherty later today.

In the M50 60m Michael Linden ran 7.88 in his semi with 7.75 needed to go through.

Personally I will be watching out for the 1500m & 800m. 800m semi-finals were held yesterday where a 2:08 was needed to make the M45 final. The M60 final should also be interesting with O60 World Record Holder Joe Gough from Waterford up against former record holder Nolan Shaheed of US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭emerald007

The jumpingthegun punks mentioned Mick Traynor from Raheny won a medal in the cross-country as well. No results to hand yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

It was on the Raheny site
    MICK Traynor (right) has won a silver medal at the World Masters' Indoor championships in Budapest. Even though it is an indoor event the programme of events includes an 8km cross country race.

The redoubtable Mick finished 8th overall in the race and second in the O 45 category beaten by a French competitor in the race for gold. He will be in action on the track later in the week.

John McDermott (Sligo) O70 Pentathlon 3rd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

dna_leri wrote: »
    John McDermott (Sligo) O70 Pentathlon 3rd

Fair play to John. He's a chance to medal in the 400m too.

I wont be the first Strandhill person to win a masters medal now so......wont be the second either in fairness :pac:

James Thie 1st in M35 3000m in 8:20 [Ciaran Doherty not listed, goes in 800 this evening]
    Tony Whiteman 1st in M40 in 8:50
    Mick Traynor just edged out of a medal in M45 by 0.4s
    Paul Cowhie 5th M50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭tomdempsey200

what time is geb and bernie on?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

what time is geb and bernie on?:)

9am (+15 days)
    and
    6.15 pm (+2 days)

You might want to put on the kettle while you wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Joe Gough won the M60 800m in 2:15.08

Btw are there any past Olympic medalists competing?

YFlyer wrote: »
    Joe Gough won the M60 800m in 2:15.08

That's great going..

Looking at the times, I suspect most of these finals are tactical races.

I don't know of any Olympic medallists competing - Thie & Whiteman are as good as you'll get in terms of pedigree. I think if you are good enough to win an olympic medal you will not be paying your own fare to Budapest for a WMA championship.

Yes you could have been World Champ dna :)

Amazing to see that Anthony Whiteman ran 1.49 last year and 1:48 back in 2012.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

YFlyer wrote: »

One of the older lads at my club in Melbourne once said that the key to a good masters athlete is either 1) never doing athletics during your teens, 20s and 30s and only taking up the sport in your 40s or 2) competing in younger years but never training seriously until your 40s, so your body is still intact. Makes sense to be honest. I can't imagine top Olympic athletes coming back to run in their 50s and 60s after what they have put their bodies through for multiple decades.

The president of my club is competing for Australia in Budapest. He got the double silver in O65 over 800 and 1500 last year in the World Outdoors, but only managed 7th this week in the 800m. Tight tracks an issue I guess given there are none down under. Hopefully he fares better in the longer distance. He was only a couple of tenths off 4th so not miles away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Chivito550 wrote: »
    One of the older lads at my club in Melbourne once said that the key to a good masters athlete is either 1) never doing athletics during your teens, 20s and 30s and only taking up the sport in your 40s or 2) competing in younger years but never training seriously until your 40s, so your body is still intact. Makes sense to be honest. I can't imagine top Olympic athletes coming back to run in their 50s and 60s after what they have put their bodies through for multiple decades.

I used to think the same but I dunno is it as simple as just the physical

Personally I think it takes a huge amount of mental strength to effectively reset the clock knowing

1) Your body will take longer to recover from the same type of work you did previously
    2) No matter how well you train you will progressively get slower rather than quicker
    3) You will not get within an a$$es roar of your previous times

This is before you get into the fact that many of these athletes dedicated themselves completely to the sport, it was their job and as such when giving it up it took alot to adjust back to what would be described as a normal life, making it very hard to pick it up just as a hobby after. How many people stop back into the office after retirement to help out for old time sake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭tomdempsey200

Chivito550 wrote: »

The president of my club is competing for Australia in Budapest. He got the double silver in O65 over 800 and 1500 last year in the World Outdoors, but only managed 7th this week in the 800m. Tight tracks an issue I guess given there are none down under. Hopefully he fares better in the longer distance. He was only a couple of tenths off 4th so not miles away.

there's some truth in that but it's not a rule by any means

there's a 44 year old guy in the UK
    started doing 10ks again after years away and he's doing 29 minutes

also that 60 year old guy doin 32 minute 10ks..did nothin til he was 40

then on the other hand there's geb and bernie still strutting their stuff and a couple of other ex pros still doin big stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Agree with ecoli. There's a guy I run with sometimes who used to be very very good. He never stopped running but he stopped competing. About 18 months ago he did a few races, was thinking about getting into it again. But racing hard is a lot of pain for (by his standards) terrible results. He'd do well on the masters circuit if he wanted to, but he doesn't want it any more.

From Irish Masters Athletics Website:
    Brian Lynch North Eastern Runners not only took the O/60 1500 Metres title but also improved on his world record, recently set in Athlone.

M60 1500 Meter Run Final
    ===============================================================
    Name Age Team Finals
    ===============================================================
    Finals
    1 Lynch, Brian M60 Ireland 4:26,62
    2 van der Hoorn, Martinus M61 Netherlands 4:28,15
    3 Gough, Joe M61 Ireland 4:33,68
    4 Shaheed, Nolan M64 United State 4:39,39
    5 Dunlop, Alastair M60 Great Britai 4:39,74
    6 Stolwijk, Cees M64 Netherlands 4:42,51
    7 Rentsch, Walter M60 Germany 4:47,28
    8 Archer, Kevin M60 Great Britani 4:47,74
    9 Finielli, Giovanni M63 Italy 4:51,09
    10 Oxland, David M62 Great Britain 4:53,29
    11 Chamusca, Fernando M63 Portugal 4:56,03
    12 Vaagstoel, Karl M62 Norway 4:56,97

The day also saw 3 further bronzes medals come to the emerald shores with Joe Gough adding bronze in the O/60 1500 Metres to his earlier gold in the 800 Metres.

Ann Woodlock added another bronze to her collection in the 1500 Metres O/75, with cathal Mclaughlin also taking an excellent bronze in the O/45 1500 Metres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭NiallG4

dna_leri wrote: »
    From Irish Masters Athletics Website:

brian-lynch.jpg