Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Springer Problems

• 26-03-2014 6:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭

Hi lads having a bit of trouble with my springer pup.He is 8 months and starting to show his springer type.Which in fairness is not a bad thing.He is very headstrong and is very hyper type.The problem is he is not returning the retrieve to hand and also he is not stopping on the whistle when i send him out to range,he only will close by when he knows Im there beside him.He is good on the heel and sit.And when i have him near buy he will stop sit on the whistle only close buy.How and what way should i overcome these problems.I need a pup that can retrieve properly and stop when needed.Please any info from of ye springer men would be very greatfull:).Apart from these two headaches he is showing good signs and is not afraid of to much cover or water.Notting fazes him. Should I say when i send him for the ball he will pick it up and run the other way and then sit down and play with the ball and the make no attempt to return with the ball just keep it for himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭allan450

if you want the truth he is not ready yet to be let lose hunting yet by the sounds of things.if he is pulling away already it will be a nightmare down the line in a few months.Then put that with scent and gun fire its a disaster waiting to happen.i mean that in the nicest way possible.The retrieving aspect of it sounds like he wants you to play.have you an closed in area you can do retrieves even in the house so he cant run away.slowly call him and give him lots of praise get down to his level also.Dont snatch the dummy let him hold it for awhile and give the command drop ect ect.after a week or so he should be getting it then try in a bigger area like garden then field ect ect.im training a cocker bitch same age at moment getting her ready for a few tests in summer.il send you a few videos of them through email if you want to see her progress.pm if so.dont panic the pup is young mate.ps try and keep the hunting and dummy work separate so your pup may become sticky.best of look Allan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,974 ✭✭✭jimf

my golden rule with springer training is little and often 1 thing at a time retrieving and returning to you are really 2 separate issues

imho get your dog to return to you first all the time every time then move on to retrieving ie tennis balls small dummies

he may have developed small bad habits through play acting with you but now is the time to get this right otherwise can you imagine when he starts getting on game and scent what its going to be like

if I have a springer acting the jack I have never yet failed to get them to return to me by using a long line gently stopping them in their tracks if I don't get an instant recall reaction don't overdo it when he starts doing things right 2/3 times and no more for a while

what ever you do don't loose your cool then you are ballcocked

maybe try him in an unfamiliar area away from home this can at times have amazing results as I found out to my great satisfaction years ago with 1 of mine best of luck their a great dog by the way have 5 myself