Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fancy a change in hairstyle? Not in North Korea!

• 26-03-2014 4:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭

Kim Jong Un the crazy little sh1t has just decreed that all men in North Korea now much sport the same outrageously vile haircut as he has himself :rolleyes:

http://time.com/38409/north-korea-kim-jong-un-haircut/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

We must never let Mick Wallace get to power. EVER.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

Merkin wrote: »
    Kim Jong Un the crazy little sh1t has just decreed that all men in North Korea now much sport the same outrageously vile haircut as he has himself :rolleyes:

http://time.com/38409/north-korea-kim-jong-un-haircut/

They were talking about that today in the office. What if you're bald??? Do you have to wear a wig in the shape of his hairstyle? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭John Cherry

That is a pretty slick style. Might pop down to my local barbers in a while,hopefully I can pull it off just as well :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

It looks good tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

131spanner wrote: »
    We must never let Mick Wallace get to power. EVER.

Hopefully Enda won't get any ideas either. A ginge side parting isn't very Zoolander either to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Merkin wrote: »
    Hopefully Enda won't get any ideas either. A ginge side parting isn't very Zoolander either to be fair.

What if you get into power Merkin? What the hell will we all do then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

What if you get into power Merkin? What the hell will we all do then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

If you're bald .. yer shot..

Oh Democratic People's Republic of Korea... Good times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,707 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Nemeses wrote: »
    If you're bald .. yer shot..

Oh Democratic People's Republic of Korea... Good times!

Koreans can't be ginger, so they gotta pick on somebody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

and if you're bald you're ****ed I take it?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

The poor feckers are so fecked.

Imagine that they somehow manage a coup and take down the regime. They've been living in a country-size gulag for so long, what are they going to do next? How do you fight this level of institutionalisation? Right now they even have to watch their haircut if they don't want to die a gruesome death. I'd weep for them if this wasn't AH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

I think he looks great. Might go for that style meself.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

His hair looks like a wig that's several sizes too small. Was genuinely expecting that to be a link to The Onion. Sadly not.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,278 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Oink wrote: »
    The poor feckers are so fecked.

Imagine that they somehow manage a coup and take down the regime. They've been living in a country-size gulag for so long, what are they going to do next?
    Look at Albania now, I guess. Reasonably similar nut-job regimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭FudgeBrownie

Sure most of the lads around Dublin have that haircut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

What do you ask the barber for?
    Short, back and Gangnam style?

According to the BBC
    Meanwhile, a North Korean now living in China says the look is actually unpopular at home because people think it resembles Chinese smugglers. "Until the mid-2000s, we called it the 'Chinese smuggler haircut'," the Korea Times reports.

Just imagine if someone revived the toothbrush moustache and insisted that all students (well those who can) grew one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

Presumably this is about "if everyone looks like me, then they'll never find me if we're invaded"

Well, actually, it's really about "I'm a power crazed paranoid psycho and can do what I want" but there's probably something there about making sure he remains hard to spot if he gets into a bind with some foreign invaders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Didn't we have a state imposed haircut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

Should really buy some shares in a North Korean hairdressing company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Do they all have to act like pudgey, squat little gobshytes as well? Robbing my haircut, the little b0ll**.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

in gaelic times most blokes had the same cut, maybe that was by choice, i don't know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

He looks like a real life cartoon character.

I found this link, it said the Dublin government banned the Anglo Normans from having the auld mullet

http://irishhistorypodcast.ie/2012/08/21/the-medieval-mullet/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

He could have gone for this sh it hot style so his loyal subjects will be reminded how much he has done for them.

orangesoda wrote: »
    I found this link, it said the Dublin government banned the Anglo Normans from having the auld mullet

http://irishhistorypodcast.ie/2012/08/21/the-medieval-mullet/

and also 'the glib' was banned by the english in 1537, long at front, shaved at back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

In fairness with North Korea having practically no electricity, clean water or food. A ****ty hair cut is the least of the peoples problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Ah here, I was looking at getting a WHV for North Korea..if I can't bring my short back and sides haircut it ain't happening

• Site Banned Posts: 348 ✭✭Khomeini

There are no lengths the vile media won't steep to.

Anyway, why wouldn't someone want to emulate the Marshal? He is an Icon of the Youth.

Khomeini wrote: »
    There are no lengths the vile media won't steep to.

Anyway, why wouldn't someone want to emulate the Marshal? He is an Icon of the Youth.

As I posted earlier,
    According to the BBC

Meanwhile, a North Korean now living in China says the look is actually unpopular at home because people think it resembles Chinese smugglers. "Until the mid-2000s, we called it the 'Chinese smuggler haircut'," the Korea Times reports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Update, 4:05 a.m. ET: The BBC corrected its story to say that the haircut rule applies only to university students, not all North Korean men as originally stated. This story has now been edited to reflect that.

Update, March 27, 10:55 a.m. ET: The Associated Press reports that the mandatory haircuts may be an unfounded rumor.

NK bad hair day

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-london-27038723
    North Korean officials visit salon over Kim Jong-un 'bad hair' advert

North Korean officials paid a visit to a London hair salon to question why it had used their leader Kim Jong-un's picture in a poster offering haircuts.
    The poster in M&M Hair Academy in South Ealing featured the words "Bad Hair Day?" below the leader's picture.
    Barber Karim Nabbach said embassy officials were shown the door and the salon's manager spoke to the police.
    The Met Police said: "We have spoken to all parties involved and no offence has been disclosed."
    The salon put up the poster on 9 April and the next day two men claiming to be officials from the North Korean embassy visited the salon and demanded to meet the manager, Mo Nabbach.