Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Something to cheer people up today

• 25-03-2014 2:43pm
    Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Bjk0L7WIcAAZ1WA.jpg
    Bike thief in cuffs, while a Garda holds his bolt cutters

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2014/03/25/busted-20/

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

On the busiest street in Ireland and he decides to use a bolt cutters on locked bikes!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,676 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I'd say he could have easily got away with it.

Say he had spent the few seconds cutting the locks, and got on to a bike, would a passer-by really have stopped him? I think not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,967 ✭✭✭De Bhál

didn't even have the sense to not dress like a scumbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

That's not a bike thief, it Callinan being escorted out of the building, with his golden hand(cuffs)shake :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

De Bhál wrote: »
    didn't even have the sense to not dress like a scumbag
    Should've worn hi-vis.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Not the brightest spark in the box though with that strategy though, although I think he could absolutely get away with it possibly anywhere else. It is literally one of the busiest places in the country. Genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,640 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Not sure I'd rob any of those bikes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

Sure id say another hour or so he will be back out on the street minus his bolt cutters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭Mousewar

Great to finally see someone detained for about 40 mins before being let go and made to absolutely promise not to do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Unreal, the scum, delighted for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

I lock my bike there! maybe once a week, not sure that bolt cutters would work on my kryptonite lock, hes not very experienced if hes using it there at that time.

looks like a kid too, juvenile detention here is just a breeding ground for hardened criminals. only good outcome is 1 less bike robbed today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

take a look at his stance,he could not give a flying fook that he was caught ,more than likely he will be at it again in the next day or so.
    lowest of the low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,150 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

CatFromHue wrote: »
    On the busiest street in Ireland and he decides to use a bolt cutters on locked bikes!!!!!
    Green&Red wrote: »

Sadly these brazen pondscum have no fear of a passer-by intervening to stop them from stealing bikes...

Great to see the Gards take one off the streets, even if it's just for the day, means more people will find there bikes still where they left them...

At the end of the day flashy bikes or not someone still relies upon them to get around on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I'd love a coffee from Butlers right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Green&Red wrote: »

I'd love one of those giant bike taxis. No idea what I'd use it for.

I have a cynical view on bicycle theft now, probably the same view as the gardai themselves. its a soft crime and keeps muggings down. if you dont want your bike stolen use a real bike lock, not something from the 2euro store or whatever was cheapest in the local bike shop. its like putting a ribbon on a gift when u use a cable in plastic type job

Id love to see less crime but realistically its always gonna exist in 1 form or another, be smart and lock in/at a safe place with a good lock/s

I'd love one of those giant bike taxis. No idea what I'd use it for.
    mobile puncture repair/chain replacement/mud guards, bike lights etc

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

First posted in the stolen bike thread so closing this one