Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

undercover garda

• 25-03-2014 2:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭

Anyone else find this interesting?

I was reading a case were an under cover garda from the special branch arranged to buy a huge shipment of drugs from a well known drug dealer. It said the guard in question was polish and knew 4 different languages and had been sent on special courses so he could play the role effectively..

I also remember hearing of a guard who actually played the part of a homeless person and for months lived on the streets just to catch a drug dealer in the act..

I also hear they have a huge selection of under cover cars and vans ect..

Far from the ones you see stopping you for having no tax :P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Nidge_Weasel

Anyone else watch that and just think what a shower of w*nkers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

I'd have pepper sprayed the whole bunch of the pricks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Gardai are fantastic actor's. Our top ones act in such programmes like Love/Hate and crimewatch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

scudzilla wrote: »

Tazers are much more user friendly and less damaging to the environment :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

What kind of a drug dealer would a Garda catch by pretending to be homeless? A normal low level one? Nah never happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

GenieOz wrote: »
    What kind of a drug dealer would a Garda catch by pretending to be homeless? A normal low level one? Nah never happened.

Well you'd be wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

are all garda like Srg Dick O'Toole in Killinaskully, selling stuff from their stations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I remember seeing the undercover guardai drug squad drive into the Electric Picnic in a white minibus and then hop out and try to mingle...the polo shirts and square head short back and sides were a bit of a giveaway. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

carzony wrote: »
    Anyone else find this interesting?

I was reading a case were an under cover garda from the special branch arranged to buy a huge shipment of drugs from a well known drug dealer. It said the guard in question was polish and knew 4 different languages and had been sent on special courses so he could play the role effectively..

I also remember hearing of a guard who actually played the part of a homeless person and for months lived on the streets just to catch a drug dealer in the act..

I also hear they have a huge selection of under cover cars and vans ect..

Far from the ones you see stopping you for having no tax :P:P

Link please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

MadsL wrote: »
    I remember seeing the undercover guardai drug squad drive into the Electric Picnic in a white minibus and then hop out and try to mingle...the polo shirts and square head short back and sides were a bit of a giveaway. :D

Nah, that was the mormons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I've been to every Electric Picnic, and I think 2013 was the first year I wasn't accused of been an undercover Garda, although twice I was informed that I was working as security there. :confused:

It has happened at other festivals and events too. I really should start confiscating drugs or something...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

I've been to every Electric Picnic, and I think 2013 was the first year I wasn't accused of been an undercover Garda, although twice I was informed that I was working as security there. :confused:

It has happened at other festivals and events too. I really should start confiscating drugs or something...

Stop wearing your sheriffs badge in full view and you'll be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

Gardai are always undercover, funny trying to watch teenagers trying to sell fireworks to off duty gardai then having to the through the street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Steppenwolfe

scudzilla wrote: »

Sadly this behavour is tolerated here. In any other country they would have been battoned and thrown in the back of the van.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Well you'd be wrong

You're trying to tell me a Garda lived on the streets for months to catch someone selling a hundred euro worth of heroin a day? LOL.
    Sadly this behavour is tolerated here. In any other country they would have been battoned and thrown in the back of the van.

The hundreds of them? Yeah good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,378 ✭✭✭893bet

What laws did they break in the video to warrant arrest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Hello there, would you have any idea where I could get a bit of e?

Yeah. 1991.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 42 Scotty P

Great bunch of lads.