Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What flowers for a biker's garden?

• 24-03-2014 11:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭

Well this is the first year I have a garden. Was in an apartment before. First off I am getting a big shed for the bike. But the problem facing me is I wanna put a few flowers around it.

Not just any flowers . . . My mother is great with flowers so I could ask her if it was just the usual stuff. . . I want flowers that are gonna impress the biker lads when they call in for tae after the ole Sunday spin.

So if all bikers could let me know what flowers impress yas that would be sound!!

Let's try keep this thread as PC as possible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,461 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Well there are a fair few "TULIPS" around........how about them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    Well there are a fair few "TULIPS" around........how about them?

You might sneer but tulips are actually quite nice. Highly recommend them.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Rode-odendrons are nice...........:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

You'll want to portray the biker image so I would go with a hybrid like pansies, :D

No one will come near the big shed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

I quite like the snake head fratiliry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

<High-pitched voice like your man in Little Britain>Ah, Ladies things. Good, for I am a lady too!</High-pitched voice> :D

Now that that's over with, Mrs. Goose has lilies, hydrangeas and tulips out the back here, as well as three big rose plants like Giant Redwoods - dangerous bastards they are, with the thorns - and all manner of little bedding plants like pansies. Looks reet well in t'Summer, it does.

Oh and, it's not necessarily all about flowers. You could paint one of the shed walls white, and hang a wooden 6x4 trellis, stained dark-ish, and also a couple of those Mediterranean-style metal arch things. They're a bit pricey in garden centres, but they can be got on eBay, many of them have an aged sort of look that's quite smart. You can then deploy various climbing plants, little metal pot-holders, that kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

OMG........each post gets a bit gay-er.....................:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

OMG........each post gets a bit gay-er.....................:D

We're not gays, young man - we're Ladies! Oooh-hoooohh!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭Mr Sheen!

I like the idea of a rose bush. . . Looks nice BUT the torns will get ya!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,118 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

A load of venus fly traps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭szatan84

Plant some weed around the shed, doesn't get more "biker" then that. Lol

You might sneer but tulips are actually quite nice. Highly recommend them.....

Where did you get that I was "SNEERING"????

And why would I sneer at "TULIPS" I have a rainbow assortment on my marble table in the kitchen....

f027vr.jpg

Where did you get that I was "SNEERING"????

And why would I sneer at "TULIPS" I have a rainbow assortment on my marble table in the kitchen....

f027vr.jpg

They are lovely Wonda. I will have a proper look when I call up to ya. I think they would brighten up the work bench in the motorbike shed!!:)

leppla wrote: »
    Not just any flowers . . . My mother is great with flowers so I could ask her if it was just the usual stuff. . . I want flowers that are gonna impress the biker lads when they call in for tae after the ole Sunday spin.

I can't help reading that in the voice of Butters from southpark.
    "Hey fellas"

Butters_barbies.jpg

They are lovely Wonda. I will have a proper look when I call up to ya. I think they would brighten up the work bench in the motorbike shed!!:)

Look forward to it....I am gonna be baking today so I will get some chantilly cream in for my homemade scones.

Does that mean you are calling up......:rolleyes:

I will have too see if I get the gardening done first!! Ah we gotta meet up soon and tlk this trip over :cool:.

Leppa, you're grounded young man. You won't be going anywhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Jaysus ladies, would ya get a room :rolleyes:

I like Lilies in my garden by the way :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭prunudo

Skip the flowers, go straight for some box hedging, get a bit creative and you could get something like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 pinksnow

Red hot pokers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭the cats pajamas

i don't think you cannot ever have enough heather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

This thread just went full 'metro'.

Some rustic railway sleepers along the drive would add a surreal look leading to the flowerbeds also....with some solar powered lights to guide you home to the shed when returning from a spin.

I could fit a few fixing anchors to the sleepers for the lads to lock there bikes too. Would look well locked up in front of the tulips and roses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Blondie919

Get lots of cacti: feck all looking after, just water them once or twice a year; and they might even act as a deterrent to thieves if planted close enough to the shed.

Blondie919 wrote: »
    Get lots of cacti: feck all looking after, just water them once or twice a year; and they might even act as a deterrent to thieves if planted close enough to the shed.

Nah, if he loses it coming up the drive he will puncture the good Pilot Road 3's with them spiky menace. :p

Who plants flowers "AFTER HOURS"....????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Ladies' Slipper Orchids are fairly metal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Just plant something to remind you of biker girls, like a big untrimmed bush.

Maybe Planting flowers is "STREET CODE" for some lewd activity that I did not know about??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Whatever you do don't put wooden decking or wooden garden furniture near your garden,first summer will be fine everything looking great,after about five summers of maintenance all you want to do is build a large bonfire out of the cr@p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

He is right, low maintenance is the way to go.

I'd suggest something like this or this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

He is right, low maintenance is the way to go.

I'd suggest something like this or this
    Definitely go with the gnome. Gnomes always get you respect amonst the biker community

Cienciano wrote: »
    Definitely go with the gnome. Gnomes always get you respect amonst the biker community

How about these clicky

By far the easiest and most gratifying way to grow flowers is this stuff

http://www.diy.com/nav/garden/grow-your-own/fertilisers-plant-food/seed_mixes/Miracle-Gro-Multi-coloured-Flower-Magic-Seed-Mix-12738582?noCookies=false

Rake over the patch, shake that stuff on, water it when it doesn't rain, and within weeks you have loads of different flowers of every colour under the sun. It's idiot proof and looks nicer than the carefully arranged, regular interval type planting.

Your bike would look only magical with these as a backdrop. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

szatan84 wrote: »
    Plant some weed around the shed, doesn't get more "biker" then that. Lol

+1 on the dope plants,perhaps some black tulips too?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Red roses and white roses.

Then let them wilt ... or spray them black.

Metaaal.

Sculpt bushes into skulls n bones. Or bewbs.