Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vintage Photography question

• 24-03-2014 5:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭

The missus arranged for the family to go and get some old-fashioned style photos taken a little while back so we went and did that and have been told when we can pick up the picture that we'd pre-paid for. Now, they've also given us a bit of paper with packages on it that we can buy but we're not sure how they work exactly.

Could someone who's maybe had these photos done tell me a bit about it? The photographer took at least five different photos so I'm guessing if we decide to just stick with the one pic we will be able to pick which one of the five to take home with us. But if we went for a package, the options are

Cheapest Package
    1 "8x10"
    2 "5x7"
    8 "Wallet"

Most Expensive Package
    6 "8x10"
    6 "5x7"
    24 "Wallet"

There are other packages in between but what meself and herself are wondering are is that 1 (or 6) of each of the photos?

You can also but just the proof set. Is this one print of each of the photos?

I'm sorry if I'm asking a dumb question but I'd like to have a bit more of a clue before going up to collect our picture. Thanks to anyone who can help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭kc90

Might be best to contact the company/photographer, no one else will know for sure. Based on my experience, it's only one photo unless stated otherwise in the package. So, the cheapest package would be just the one large photo, 2 smaller duplicates of it, and 8 wallet duplicates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Yes just ask them. Usually the package is one photo in each size and the same photo at that.
    But they may differ. Give them a call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Moved to the Photography forum as there are professional photographers in that forum who would be able to answer your question.

dudara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

Thanks for the responses, I probably am best giving them a call, just wanted to know if anyone has bought a similiar packages to give me an idea.

And thanks dudara, sorry if CI was the wrong place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,250 ✭✭✭pixbyjohn

I would love to know how you get on as some of these companies try to sell you the most expensive package.

Well I can let ye know next week. We're to collect them on April 1st.

(Hope that date isn't a warning!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭CinSoots

pixbyjohn wrote: »
    I would love to know how you get on as some of these companies try to sell you the most expensive package.

Imagine that, a company trying to sell their most expensive package. The scoundrels trying to make a living.

CinSoots wrote: »
    Imagine that, a company trying to sell their most expensive package. The scoundrels trying to make a living.

It was more a comment about how they try to sell their more expensive package really. I never called them scoundrels, you did :D

Well I said I'd update so I will.

We went up today to collect the pictures and the girl showed us what the packages were about. We were opting for the least expensive package as that was already a luxury for us without getting one of the bigger packages. We got one - that we'd already paid for - and then she laid out the other four pictures that had been taken and says we can have three out of those four. I asked how much to take all four - five in total - and so she charged us an extra tenner and we ended up with one copy of all five pictures, which was exactly what we wanted.

If ye want to go for one of the more expensive packages they give you a couple of each picture. The proof set is a small copy of all the pictures.

And, pixbyjohn, if you were wondering if they gave us the hard sell I have to say they didn't at all. The girl just had all the pictures laid out and then explained about the packages. There was absolutely no "Ah go on, ye will" even when we were asking each other what we'd do. They were lovely and the photographer himself was great with kids which I'm sure isn't easy for photographers. He had a little squeaky toy to get the attention and have the child look in whatever direction.

So, all happy in the Knickers household tonight. Thanks to everyone who replied.

Thanks for the feedback, very positive and I am pleased that you got a good deal.