Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€1 text competitions to win €1000

• 23-03-2014 7:11pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4

You know those text competitions stations do text win to 57*** costing €1. How many entries would the average program get ? Is it above board ? Could a dj pick his or hers friends entry ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Sounds like someone had spent a few grand in text charges to win a grand. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I would enter Mooney's Money about twice a week minimum, still waiting to hit the jackpot....

I would guess they would get around 2 or 3,000 entries daily - nice profit margin if true.

Best way to find out would be to bang off a slightly pissy e-mail to Derek, his ego will be unable to stop himself giving you an on air reply.

Be prepared to be patronized and belittled to within an inch of your life though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,184 ✭✭✭✭L1011

The texting platforms used by media organisations have audit-trailed random selectors in them for this purpose. All entries with the correct answer and/or prefix depending on how they're doing it are available for selection.

Only exclusions would usually, if they chose to do this, recent winners or abusive texters - if they do this it should be in their T&Cs on their website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

With regard to 'mooney's money ' , I resent the national broadcaster wasting valuable broadcasting time with this rubbish especially since they are funded by our licence fee and then they have the audacity to call it mooney's money , just betrays the arrogance of the shower in Montrose , pat rabbite needs to take an axe to that lot for abusing the licence fee paying public , yes I pay my licence .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 874 ✭✭✭More Music

Don't waste your money if you don't think you have a chance of winning.

The odds of winning are a lot better than the Lotto though. And yet people still play that.

These premium rate text lines are managed by a third party. The broadcaster has a web login which lists entrants and revenue etc. There is a "pick random winner" button which does the obvious. Takes the control away from radio presenter or producer.

Nobody claims that these are not money making operations. If TV3 run a competition with a €5k prize they would expect to make more than €30k over the course of a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

In fairness, to the above poster's comments, I've not got a problem with a commercial entity engaging in these competitions. If TV3 want to flood us with Xpose related competitions in the ad break, so be it. If iRadio or Today FM want to run them, go ahead. If Setanta want to give it a whirl, that's fine. And, if 98FM or 4FM want to, that's cool too.

However, if Mooney (and others) on RTÉ Radio 1, which IS directly license supported- then, that's not right. It's a daily prize, and it is ramped up on certain days. TV3 and commercial radio stations are (technically) established to make a profit, so you can't blame them for running these. But, if a radio or television station, which is established as a public service broadcaster, engages in these- it's a bit unfair and wrong. They should not be taking part in these 'text in' games. It is the same for The Late Late Show, but we'll leave that to the Television forum. They shouldn't have this massive drive on product placement, commercial call-in raffles, and the like.

If a biddy wants to spend her pension on a text competition on daytime light entertainment radio, that's perfectly fine- but it should not be part of a dual funded radio show.

Oops69 wrote: »
    With regard to 'mooney's money ' , I resent the national broadcaster wasting valuable broadcasting time with this rubbish especially since they are funded by our licence fee and then they have the audacity to call it mooney's money , just betrays the arrogance of the shower in Montrose , pat rabbite needs to take an axe to that lot for abusing the licence fee paying public , yes I pay my licence .

Whoaaa.... Such anger !

Chill out FFS. Its's only a Quiz title playing on the similarity between the words Mooney and Money.

I'm not a big fan of the Mooney Show but I think the quiz name is quite clever.

There are many things I could get annoyed about in relation to the way RTÉ waste licence payers money, but this would never even make the list of shortlists.

I would suggest that being resentful to the point of demanding minesterial interferance to axe a light entertainment afternoon radio programme is a tad excessive.

Calm down a bit lad.

If a biddy wants to spend her pension on a text competition on daytime light entertainment radio, that's perfectly fine- but it should not be part of a dual funded radio show.

Why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

Because why should we allow profit generating games on a public service broadcaster whose sole purpose is to fulfill a public service remit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 874 ✭✭✭More Music

RTE is allowed to run commercial ventures because of its dual funding mandate.

If they weren't allowed run advertising and commercial competitions we would all be paying a lot more licence fee to cover the shortfall.

So, as it stands you have a choice. You can pay a lower licence fee and decide to enter competitions if you want, or scrap the competitions and not have any choice on paying a higher licence fee.

Ireland is a small country, a decent PSB that's only state funded is not viable.

A decent PSB that's commercial only is not viable either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Because why should we allow profit generating games on a public service broadcaster whose sole purpose is to fulfill a public service remit?

Entertainment?a bit of fun?less boring radio?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

crazygeryy wrote: »
    Entertainment?a bit of fun?less boring radio?
    Mooney's money is great craic altogether :confused: