Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pc building services in cork?

• 21-03-2014 2:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23

Hey guys, this is my first post here, so i hope everything is in the right place etc :)

I'm planning on buying a full set of pc parts for a build within the next week.
    I have very little experience doing much to pc's, despite being into tech in general. It's crunch time in college at the moment, so it's also a consideration of time to get somebody else to spend the time on this one.

What I'm looking for; a place in cork (ballincollig or cork city preffered) that will build my pc fr me if I provide the parts.
    Also, if ye could give me a ballpark figure, so I can have an idea of how much you think i might end up having to spend for this service would be great.

Thanks in advance for anybody who helps me out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭yawhat!

Fill out the template and whats your budget?

Everyone here buys from hardwareversand and they will put the pc together for 30 euro.

Its the cheapest out of any company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Stuie2081

yawhat! wrote: »
    Fill out the template and whats your budget?

Everyone here buys from hardwareversand and they will put the pc together for 30 euro.

Its the cheapest out of any company.

I'm sorting out the parts myself, I'm not asking about parts, all I need is somebody to assemble.

I don't want to use hardwareverssand's assembly for two reasons

(1) I'm using the price comparison trick highlighted in another thread here to save money (it won't allow you to save money in the pc configuration tab though....it still charges full price).

(2) I've read of people saying that they are very sloppy and that things often get damaged in transit.

Fair enough, sure someone here from Cork will help you out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Blitz17

I'm in Cork myself and would easily be able to assemble it but getting the time could be the issue, overtime is getting a hammering in work ! :D What parts have you gone for ?

Blitz17 wrote: »
    I'm in Cork myself and would easily be able to assemble it but getting the time could be the issue, overtime is getting a hammering in work ! :D What parts have you gone for ?

That's fair enough....my time isn't amazing either man. :)

The parts I will be ordering are;

Intel i5 4670k 3.5 ghz quad
    Msi gtx770 4gb
    Gkill ripjaw 8gb ram
    1tb hybrid drive seasgate
    Samsung dvd read/write 16x
    Corsair 300r case
    Windows 7 (I hate 8)
    Z87 motherboard (can't remember the brand.. it's the fatality pro)

I probably forgot some of he parts offhand. ...but that's the bones of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

You should really go for a dedicated ssd + hdd. Those hybrid drives are good but not a patch on a dedicated one. They are more of a budget option.

BloodBath wrote: »
    You should really go for a dedicated ssd + hdd. Those hybrid drives are good but not a patch on a dedicated one. They are more of a budget option.

I agree but I'm near my budget tbh....and it'll be a while before I could afford a dedicated ssd.....so for now hybrid so I don't have slow hard drive speeds for now...and then get an additional ssd..

If that's a bad idea feel free to say...but it seems to make sense to me..
    Would you think a 7200rpm drive of good quality be more advisable for now?

Nope if you can't afford the ssd for now then it's a good idea. I'd never go back to running windows off a single hdd.

I just noticed you said you were going for the fatality pro. That's a €170 mainboard. A complete waste of money in my book.

Get something cheap and cheerful like the Asrock z87 pro 3/4 or extreme 3/4 if you want sli/crossfire support.

What cpu cooler are you going for?

I just noticed you said you were going for the fatality pro. That's a €170 mainboard. A complete waste of money in my book.

Get something cheap and cheerful like the Asrock z87 pro 3/4 or extreme 3/4 if you want sli/crossfire support.

What cpu cooler are you going for?

Thanks for the input man, I'll look into those mobos :)

I'm not sure at all, seeing as I could go cheaper on the motherboard, I could get something passable. Any suggestions on coolers? I don't know much.

A 212 evo will do the trick. Great little cooler that will net you a decent overclock.

You would have enough to get a dedicated ssd then as well.

A Crucial m500 120gb ssd + a Western Digital 1tb hdd.

A 212 evo will do the trick. Great little cooler that will net you a decent overclock.

You would have enough to get a dedicated ssd then as well.

A Crucial m500 120gb ssd + a Western Digital 1tb hdd.

Thanks very much for your input.
    When I'm home (currently dossing from work) I'll price everything for myself and see what works out. Glad I posted here now, cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

The savings you make on the motherboard should cover the SSD and the cooler.

One last question; any suggestions on power supply? What wattage, and good brands?
    This should be my last question, I seem to understand enough about the rest of the parts I am choosing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

whats left in your budget?

anything from 550w+ and a decent brand will be grand.

if money is tight the Superflower Amazon's on HWVS are good value, but have a big blue light you cant disable.

The XFX pro core series are quiet and decent. ugly cables but a nice value choice.

anything Corsair is pretty good. the lads here are recommending the CX600. I havent looked into it but nothing since their 430Wv1 has been bad iirc?

CoolerMaster can be hit and miss at the lower end of the budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Slksht

Corsair cx 600 would be my recommendation man. The guys have allready covered the downgraded mobo. One word of caution, and I'm in the minority here, have used two asrock boards and have had problems with both. Not saying I'm the rule but something to consider :)

How soon do you reckon you'll have the parts?

What problems and what board? The vast majority of us here use them.

Don't be putting doubts in his head. You are very much the minority.

They make a huge range of boards though but the S1150 Z87 stuff should be fine.

Used three in my time, never had a problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Aka Ishur

I'm in Cork City and happy to help out if you are in a bind.

Thanks for all the support lads, and Aka Ishur, I might end up taking you up on that.

I'm just finalising my decisions on parts, and getting the very last of the money together, the order will be placed within the coming week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Blitz17

Stuie2081 wrote: »
    Thanks for all the support lads, and Aka Ishur, I might end up taking you up on that.

I'm just finalising my decisions on parts, and getting the very last of the money together, the order will be placed within the coming week.

I have a 300r windowed case for sale on adverts aswel if thats the case you are going for.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭evo2000

Stuie2081 wrote: »
    Hey guys, this is my first post here, so i hope everything is in the right place etc :)

I'm planning on buying a full set of pc parts for a build within the next week.
    I have very little experience doing much to pc's, despite being into tech in general. It's crunch time in college at the moment, so it's also a consideration of time to get somebody else to spend the time on this one.

What I'm looking for; a place in cork (ballincollig or cork city preffered) that will build my pc fr me if I provide the parts.
    Also, if ye could give me a ballpark figure, so I can have an idea of how much you think i might end up having to spend for this service would be great.

Thanks in advance for anybody who helps me out.

Got my Pc from hwvs pre built immaculate build quality! id highly recommend it, just avoid getting windows 7 home... as it ll be in german and theres no way of changing it outside of installing an english version!

evo2000 wrote: »
    Got my Pc from hwvs pre built immaculate build quality! id highly recommend it, just avoid getting windows 7 home... as it ll be in german and theres no way of changing it outside of installing an english version!

They have an English version. Got three PCs built from their and never had a problem as well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭evo2000

yawhat! wrote: »
    They have an English version. Got three PCs built from their and never had a problem as well.

I got the wrong one anyway :( no harm tho i just downloaded the english version and reinstalled the key works just the same regardless of language

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Slksht

What problems and what board? The vast majority of us here use them.

Don't be putting doubts in his head. You are very much the minority.

A pro 3 and a z 87. Both were south bridge issues. As for the don't be putting doubts in his head, I expressly said that I'm not the rule.

looked into getting the computer built by hardwareverssand.....for some reason when i use the price comparison sites to save money i can't get these savings in the configurator?

anybody able to shed light on it?
    I would ask on the existing thread that's there for this, but it seems inactive....anybody know what I have to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭MRTULES

Just put it together bit by bit your self using geizhal.De then add resemble or something like that to your basket. Can remember exactly what it's called now.
    Sorry it won't be 11.99. I'm thinking of p&p.
    If you check under the service tab on the right hand side menu, I think it'd be in there.

After diggin around and I just found it i think...

IN case anybody was confused like i was...here it is

http://www.hardwareversand.de/Service/746/Rechner+-+Zusammenbau.article