Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Potential Officers From the Republic

• 21-03-2014 1:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭

Hey Guys

Just thought I'd set up a thread for those of us not living in Northern Ireland at present and who have passed AC or are still waiting. Maybe we could discuss potential problems moving up such as bank accounts, housing, not sticking out like a sore thumb because of our accents :):) and what reaction we could get from the public etc. It would be great if serving officers could contribute and share anything with us that might help. I think Shield is from the Republic but I stand open to correction.

Anyway love to hear from ye

El Tri

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭shampon

Hardest thing to get used to is driving on the other side of the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭El_Triboy

shampon wrote: »
    Hardest thing to get used to is driving on the other side of the road.

Thanks for the pity reply. I take it it's grand so!

El_Triboy wrote: »
    Thanks for the pity reply. I take it it's grand so!

Just remember, Viva La Mexico.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭El_Triboy

shampon wrote: »
    Just remember, Viva La Mexico.

Gotcha so follow your saxophone till ya reach the white fronts and then bobs your teapot. Alri ice-cream cone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭biker701

If you do make it as an Officer just be aware that riots have been caused by Officers arguing with the locals over who has the nicer Tayto! Seriously though, I'd just assume most of your concerns would be covered early on in Garnerville, I think you start with the residential bit, then presumably by then you'd club together with other students to find somewhere local to rent or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭popolive

In on this thread. Anyone know how many potential/current officers are there from the South ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭RedmondHR

I missed out on the last drive, hoping to get the next one. Haw have yous got with it?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Most of the posters here have closed their accounts.

-Shield.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭majgreen

biker701 wrote: »
    If you do make it as an Officer just be aware that riots have been caused by Officers arguing with the locals over who has the nicer Tayto! Seriously though, I'd just assume most of your concerns would be covered early on in Garnerville, I think you start with the residential bit, then presumably by then you'd club together with other students to find somewhere local to rent or whatever.

If you make it to GV and live more than 35 miles away then you can apply to remain residential for the whole course. Those inside 35 miles are expected to travel after the first 4 weeks (unless you have a good reason not to)