Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, now we're a bird sanctuary

• 20-03-2014 2:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭

Remember when chimney boxes were all you needed to protect your home from birds?

About two years ago a nursing home was built up next to the back wall of our home. Previously this was just a forested area.

Since then the birds have been making nests in our houses. They're practically wood peckers.

They've chipped away at wood panelling in a neighbours house and made a nest in my roof through a gap (not sure if they made it themselves) under a tile and into my rafters. That was fixed this year before nesting season. But now my wife has just sent me a picture saying they've drilled a hole in the wood facia and have nested in there.

I cannot blame the birds, they're only taking back their own land.

Once we move them on they come back and create holes/nests in other areas.

Has anybody come across this before. It'd be fascinating if only it wasn't happening to me! :)

I'm posting this in this section as it's as a direct result of chopping down the wood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭martinn123

smcgiff wrote: »
    Remember when chimney boxes were all you needed to protect your home from birds?

About two years ago a nursing home was built up next to the back wall of our home. Previously this was just a forested area.

Since then the birds have been making nests in our houses. They're practically wood peckers.

They've chipped away at wood panelling in a neighbours house and made a nest in my roof through a gap (not sure if they made it themselves) under a tile and into my rafters. That was fixed this year before nesting season. But now my wife has just sent me a picture saying they've drilled a hole in the wood facia and have nested in there.

I cannot blame the birds, they're only taking back their own land.

Once we move them on they come back and create holes/nests in other areas.

Has anybody come across this before. It'd be fascinating if only it wasn't happening to me! :)

I'm posting this in this section as it's as a direct result of chopping down the wood.

An Ornithology Thread, caused by De-Forestation, from a Accountancy Mod, in C+P,

sure no bother to the lads here.

I'm not sure the two things are related, as different species of birds, have different nesting habits.
    So the colonies who frequented the Woodland, may not be reclaiming their territory so to speak.

For example, the House Martin, ( yes that's me )
    House martins build nests on outer walls of buildings under the eaves. Exceptionally they can be found inside roofs or in sheds. They are colonial nesters, with an average group size of four to five nests, although large colonies with groups of tens or even hundreds of nests are sometimes reported. Town colonies tend to be smaller than countryside ones.

The breeding season runs from May to August when insects are abundant, but some chicks are still in the nest in September. The nest is made of pellets of mud mixed with grass, lined with feathers and vegetable fibre. A new nest is completed in one to two weeks, while repairs to an existing one normally take only a few days.

http://www.rspb.org.uk/wildlife/birdguide/name/h/housemartin/nesting.aspx

So they would not have nested in the woodland area previously

Hope this helps, NOTE, its illegal to interfere with a nest while the Birds are breeding, hatching, fledging............but you knew that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

martinn123 wrote: »

Hope this helps, NOTE, its illegal to interfere with a nest while the Birds are breeding, hatching, fledging............but you knew that.[/QUOTE]

Actually, no, but common decency means I wouldn't go near them.

It's not house martins, they're crows. Or a new species of woodpecker :p

Hope this helps, NOTE, its illegal to interfere with a nest while the Birds are breeding, hatching, fledging............but you knew that.[/QUOTE]

Actually, no, but common decency means I wouldn't go near them.

It's not house martins, they're crows. Or a new species of woodpecker :p

Well Crows do nest in trees,
    A Carrion Crow's nest is built in the fork of a tree, cliff edge or even electricity pylon and is a large construction of twigs lined with hair and bark. It is built by both birds.

The duties of incubating the eggs are performed by the female. The eggs are about 43 mm by 30 mm, smooth and glossy, pale bluish-green with dark brown and grey markings. Both adults feed the young birds.
    http://www.garden-birds.co.uk/birds/carrioncrow.htm

But in the absence of a tree, will not usually build a nest in the eaves of your house
    Woodpeckers are not native to Ireland.

Well Crows do nest in trees,

http://www.garden-birds.co.uk/birds/carrioncrow.htm

But in the absence of a tree, will not usually build a nest in the eaves of your house
    Woodpeckers are not native to Ireland.

You may have got that right.

They are used to nesting in the local trees. Local trees go bye bye and they are 100% breaking into weak spots in local houses and nesting.

I've seen it with my own eyes.

BTW, I know they are not actually a woodpecker species.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Superdaddy

Can you describe the bird, main colour and any patches and where they are located. Size of bird, size of hole made. It would be highly unusual for woodpeckers to nest in a fascia. We now have Greater spotted woodpeckers in Ireland. Mostly in Co. Wicklow. They arrived about 5-6 years ago from the UK.
    What part of the country are you living in. Any photos you have would be a help in identifying it.

You are correct it is an offence to disturb the breeding place of a bird. All birds are protected in Ireland, some may be killed under a derogation for specific reasons. You can also apply for a licence under section 42 of the wildlife act if they are causing damage.

xterminator-ongediertebestrijding-kauw.jpg
    This is a Jackdaw. Is this it?

Or a starling?

european_starling.jpg

Superdaddy wrote: »
    xterminator-ongediertebestrijding-kauw.jpg
    This is a Jackdaw. Is this it?

It's possibly a Jackdaw. They are quite aggressive, they've no problem sweeping down on us when we put out the bins. I've had one touch the top of my head.

Or a starling?

european_starling.jpg

Would they get in behind wood?

The culprits last year were crow/jackdaws. However, I've not been home this evening and I cannot see the hole on the picture my wife sent. She's assured me they are in situ. They are very loud in the morning and are very close to our bedroom. Only confirmed today they had moved in.

My money is on starlings, noisy little birds and often nest behind fascia and in cavity block walls. Jackdaws also nest in cavities such a holes in trees, rocks, chimneys. They are the reason we put covers on chimneys. I've never had either one touch me though, that sounds a bit strange.

Yes, my money's on Starlings, too, I have them behind the facia on my shed every year, they Krap all over the stuff in storage, once the chicks hatch the adults will spend all day catching worms etc, they will land on a branch and check for preditors before entering the nest, to feed, see if you can get a few pics.

Yeah - I think ye might be right. I'll take pics at the weekend.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 10,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭BryanF

Change your timber fascia to aluminium fascia/soffit. Remember to leave 10mm gaps for attic ventilation but ensure there covered with insect mesh

Feck. That's a big hole, and it wasn't there a month ago when we went ul on the roof to fix the hole on the slates.

Looks like rot to me. Starlings don't create holes. Its an ideal nesting location for them.