Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Assignment help please..

• 20-03-2014 2:13am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭

Lads, I'v to write a court case report on a recent case in either the district or circuit court.. Can't find anything on the recent court cases available online

I'v to include

Formalities in the court room
    the procedure in which evidence is given
    evidence produced
    role of the court clerk
    role of the garda in court
    role of the judge
    role of the jury (if one is present)
    and then summary of the case..

I'd appreciate if anyone could link me to a case that i could get all this information from please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭okioffice84

Sounds like you should be visiting a court- it's the best way to figure out all the rolls of the people working there. Take an afternoon to go don to the local court...you may find it very interesting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭234

OP, there are no reported judgments of the DC or CC, and no newspaper report will contain that information. The assignment is clearly designed to require you to visit a court in person, and I'm sure that was communicated to you, so just use courts.ie to find the next sitting which is near to you and head along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Luimai

jamesr123 wrote: »
    Lads, I'v to write a court case report on a recent case in either the district or circuit court.. Can't find anything on the recent court cases available online

I'v to include

Formalities in the court room
    the procedure in which evidence is given
    evidence produced
    role of the court clerk
    role of the garda in court
    role of the judge
    role of the jury (if one is present)
    and then summary of the case..

I'd appreciate if anyone could link me to a case that i could get all this information from please :)

As stated by previous poster you wont get that info from any court report, so either go to a sittin of local district court as you will see multiple cases and actually figure out the various roles as the cases go by or else speak to a local friendly garda. Best option, do both! Just out of curiousity, why exactly do you have to write a court report??.
    Ps if going to a court sitting, get a scheduled court date (the new charges are mentioned and dates given for hearing etc, usually cases are not heard on the first day up) also, juries only exist in circuit court. Court can be a good day out if you're in to that sort of thing!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

Talking to a mate on the phone earlier. Apparently we'v to write a report on a recent case and then explan what everyones job is in general and not in that particular case..

Feckin FETAC those assignment pages are never clear with the instructions..

Anyway. I suppose that makes the assignment easier for me. Just write about a case and then explain the relevant jobs lol..