Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So here's an idea

• 19-03-2014 10:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭

Today I watched 2 videos online. I've titled these myself, goodluck googling if you're one of the three people who haven't seen these yet.

Both videos were shot in portrait, for the love of sh*t?! So since people persist in being dumbasses, why don't companies take the higher ground and just rotate the lens for the sake of humanity? Genius amn't I, ol' Steve Jobs never thought of that one.

What amazing ideas have you got AH? I'm joking, I don't care. They'll be stupid anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Rotating the lens won't help. it's not the lens that decides landscape or portrait mode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

I'm gonna bet a few grand that someone will lazily re-release a cover of "Summer of '69" in 2069, and it'll do well in the charts. Get ridiculous odds, huge payout and then enjoy my endless winnings at the age of 75. Booyah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭hjkl

I'd say that you are the only person who cares about this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Nice try Archimedes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

biko wrote: »
    Rotating the lens won't help. it's not the lens that decides landscape or portrait mode.

Besides the point, I don't care if the process will involve nuclear fusion just do it. Seriously can't be that hard in this day and age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Is there not an app on these so called smart phones that would change from landscape to portrait and vice versa depending on the requirements?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

WikiHow wrote: »
    Is there not an app on these so called smart phones that would change from landscape to portrait and vice versa depending on the requirements?

The Turner App.

On several levels..

You're missing the crux of the matter lads and the depths of my genius. Clearly, an app is no good. If they're too dumb to tilt their phone then they're too dumb to use an app properly.

Mint Aero wrote: »
    If they're too dumb to tilt their phone then they're too dumb to use an app properly.

And if they are too dumb as you say they should not have a Smartphone, give them a drawing pad and markers and let them draw.

It's the phones that aren't smart if they don't pre-empt peoples stupidity. Clearly it's a major design flaw.

Should people sit a 4 hour exam to see are they suitable for a smartphone?

No the companies should make phones record properly without tilting by default.

Are you sure there is not a setting for this?

I'm sure of nothing except that people persist in recording wrongly

I feel that there may be a setting, i think the 4 hour exam is a good idea.

Can I correct the papers and get 20cent per paper plus 3 months off work annually with pay?

Ah hear thats a bit much now.

Just putting it out there? Might seem like a radical idea but.....feck it it'll never catch on

Could the solution be to get rid of portrait and landscape mode and have a square capture?

But then we'll have to change every monitor in the world for our facebooks too

There is always a hitch somewhere in the plan, clearly this is causing huge distress, i will immediately send an email to apple to tell them to address this problem in less than 50 words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

iOS needs to only use the camera in landscape, its very easy to do in Android so I dont see why Apple cant put it in. They tend to develop stuff a 5 year old can use but made the mistake of assuming people could hold a phone properly. Best to keep these people away from heavy machinery while we're at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Silent mode for Hoovers and Hairdryers. Trying to get a nice sleep, and suddenly you're woken up by the evil hoover, hell bent on ruining your sleep. Hairdryers are pretty annoying too. So give them a silent mode option, and make life easier for the rest of the people living with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

mod

There has been numerous threads over the last while about incidents on Paddys day. These threads have all been closed. We are having no discussion on them as there is to many questions as to what may or may not have happened. I have gone through this thread and deleted many of the posts that refer to it.

If you have an issue with this PM me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

I think Pot Noodles should have wee electric motors inside for stirring, and a wee 2 minute timer on the lid z z z z z

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

ardle1 wrote: »
    I think Pot Noodles should have wee electric motors inside for stirring, and a wee 2 minute timer on the lid z z z z z

It's waay quicker just to tip them straight into the toilet - saves electricity and is only marginally less nutritious. Chewing the pot is very good for your teeth though.