Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shockingly medieval attitudes to homosexuality among some young people

• 19-03-2014 9:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭

I watched a documentary on Channel 4 last night, Undercover doctor, Cure me, I'm Gay. I'm straight, so I've never had to deal with the issues covered but I found the attitudes of 2 young people on their way to church quite depresingly shocking.

When asked their views on whether gay people are born gay their response was that gays aren't born gay but are possessed by demons. It was one of the most shockingly ridiculous statements I've ever heard. One of the girls was 16 the other 20.

I just wonder how, in this age where the world is more technologically and medically advanced and information is only a mouse click away, do these attitudes prevail in some young people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Not another gay thread :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

I just wonder how, in this age where the world is more technologically and medically advanced and information is only a mouse click away, do these attitudes prevail in some young people?
    Listening to bigoted parents more than likely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

The mediaeval attitude to homosexuality was actually quite accepting. You may amend that thread title!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Common sense doesn't make for good TV. Freaks do. Nothing to do with "young people" in general.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

I watched a documentary on Channel 4 last night, Undercover doctor, Cure me, I'm Gay. I'm straight, so I've never had to deal with the issues covered but I found the attitudes of 2 young people on their way to church quite depresingly shocking.

When asked their views on whether gay people are born gay their response was that gays aren't born gay but are possessed by demons. It was one of the most shockingly ridiculous statements I've ever heard. One of the girls was 16 the other 20.

On any issue you'll get the full gamut of opinions... You do know there are people out there who believe the earth is flat.

Trust a channel 4 "documentary" to find extreme views

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Where are they from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭comongethappy

Rightwing wrote: »

Until you admit your fabulousness they will be on the hour, every hour!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Where are they from?

That town that has a local shop for local people. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Thought this was about gay people being broken on the wheel or hung, drawn and quartered.

Title disappoints.

*I am thoroughly against medieval torture of gay people*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

I found the attitudes of 2 young people on their way to church quite depresingly shocking.

When asked their views on whether gay people are born gay their response was that gays aren't born gay but are possessed by demons. It was one of the most shockingly ridiculous statements I've ever heard.

"young people on their way to church"? What sort of young people go to church these days? They're not all fundies, but you've got a much better chance of finding fundies when you pick targets like these.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Rightwing wrote: »

The programme under discussion only aired last night!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Where are they from?

This is a vital question. Attitudes in Ireland have changed to the point where some teenagers are now out in school. In Russia or Uganda OTOH: :(:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Muise... wrote: »
    This is a vital question. Attitudes in Ireland have changed to the point where some teenagers are now out in school. In Russia or Uganda OTOH: :(:mad:
    I'm guessing the kids in this case might be in a christian fundamentalist society like Uganda or the American bible belt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

As long as its two consenting adults what's it got to do with anyone else what they like to do in the bedroom? Meh. Soon as everyone lives and let lives the better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

That town that has a local shop for local people. :pac:

Castlebar?

Anyway, I've not seen the programme in question, would it be safe to assume it was in one of those fundamentalist christian Southern US backwaters?

Castlebar?

Anyway, I've not seen the programme in question, would it be safe to assume it was in one of those fundamentalist christian Southern US backwaters?

Meanie! The fabulous Miss Panti is from down the road in Ballinrobe!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Getting angry over another person being gay is like being angry over what the lad in front of you ordered in Super Macs. Doesn't affect you in the slightest.

Unless they take the last Mighty Mac, and you wanted a Mighty Mac. Then you can be angry. Never mind that analogy...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

A documentary could have hundreds of hours of filming and interviews. But when they condense it to only 40mins, they are only going to include the entertaining and shocking clips.

I go university in Dublin. And I have heard barely any racist or homophobic remarks off anyone. One of my friends came out and none of his lad friends had a single issue with it. Even one of friends said I cant believe you thought just because Im from west cork that I would have an issue with you being gay.I have seen some macho rugby lads being best of friends with what most people would refer to as "camp guys".

Irish society is very tolerant of difference. But the media only likes to report hate within society

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Muise... wrote: »

It depends really. I've just come back from the off licence where there was a transvestite in the shop going about their business while a group of young people were running in and out of the shop screaming and shouting to their friends outside "Look, look at yer man, c'mere!". As they leapt around the shop I could see the owner was ignoring them. I know he was trying to act like "nothing to see here", but I said to myself "That's just wrong", so I said to the next young lad running into the shop "Lads cop the fcuk on will ye!". THEN the owner decided to kick the rest of them out of the shop.

I know it was only a temporary thing, but jesus when someone can't go into a shop without being heckled and abused, and it's not the first time it's happened either. There was a similar incident that made the national media when a transvestite was targeted and ridiculed by Tesco staff on social media.

You don't have to go as far as Russia or Uganda when homophobic and transphobic incidents are happening on your own front doorstep so to speak.

I'm guessing the kids in this case might be in a christian fundamentalist society like Uganda or the American bible belt.

Yep, I watched the documentary myself last night, the young people involved were American Christian Fundamentalists. They weren't the most bizarre examples though. Some of those people interviewed were highly qualified medical professionals who were absolutely convinced they could 'treat' or even 'cure' homosexuality! Then there were the group of 'ex-homosexuals', all of whom declined the offer of a legitimate scientific experiment to gauge their, *ahem*, 'recovery'.

Czarcasm wrote: »
    It depends really. I've just come back from the off licence where there was a transvestite in the shop going about their business while a group of young people were running in and out of the shop screaming and shouting to their friends outside "Look, look at yer man, c'mere!". As they leapt around the shop I could see the owner was ignoring them. I know he was trying to act like "nothing to see here", but I said to myself "That's just wrong", so I said to the next young lad running into the shop "Lads cop the fcuk on will ye!". THEN the owner decided to kick the rest of them out of the shop.

I know it was only a temporary thing, but jesus when someone can't go into a shop without being heckled and abused, and it's not the first time it's happened either. There was a similar incident that made the national media when a transvestite was targeted and ridiculed by Tesco staff on social media.

There's a way to go, certainly, but some of those kids will realise soon that it's waaaay cooler not to bat an eyelid at someone different. The others, well fcuk 'em, may they always be challenged by you and everyone else.