Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VMware Server

• 19-03-2014 12:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭

Sorry if this is the wrong place.

I've installed VMware Server and have Windows Server 2008 running on it. I created a VM and everything seems fine until I try to access the console, here's where it gets messy.

When I do this through Chrome and click on console it requests that I install the remote console plug in which I don't think I can do in chrome.

In internet explorer or Firefox, when I click on the VM or any tab relating to the VM, everything disappears, I can't get to the console to even try install the plug in

I'll post 2 pics now to try explain

Any help with what I'm doing wrong or what I can/should do would be greatly appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

So pic 1 is in IE, there are 2 VMs because I thought I'd somehow made a mistake in the first but neither would work. Pic 2 happens as soon as I click on either VM in the left window pane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

If you're using ESXi 5.5 then have you downloaded the VSphere Client to match it ? Works better in my experience than the web browsers.

Ken

ZENER wrote: »
    If you're using ESXi 5.5 then have you downloaded the VSphere Client to match it ? Works better in my experience than the web browsers.

Ken

I don't even know what that is :o

I have VMware Server installed, when I click that it brings me directly to my browser with a login screen. Then I get the screen from Pic 1 above.

I maybe should have mentioned this is for college so I have little knowledge on it :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    I don't even know what that is :o

I have VMware Server installed, when I click that it brings me directly to my browser with a login screen. Then I get the screen from Pic 1 above.

I maybe should have mentioned this is for college so I have little knowledge on it :/

You can get it here : https://my.vmware.com/web/vmware/details?downloadGroup=VC550B&productId=351&rPId=4975

Also (if I remember correctly) you should be able to get it either from your installed server (just browse to ip address of server) or from the installation media.

Essentially it's a client you can use instead of a browser, it's more stable than using a browser.

At a guess (can't see the error you're getting anywhere) you're looking at a java problem, mostly cause it's always a fecking java problem.

What exactly have you installed ? There are a number of different server products available from VMWare, ESXi 5.5 is probably the most popular for those starting out.

Have you installed the VMWare server on it's own hardware which you are accessing now from a remote machine ?

Ken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Do what Wexie says, also make sure flash player plugin is up-to-date for all browsers

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

it looks to me like he has actually installed vmware server (like vmware workstation but runs as a service without needing to log in to run VM's) rather than ESXi?

it also looks like he is running it in linux not windows?

wexie wrote: »
    You can get it here : https://my.vmware.com/web/vmware/details?downloadGroup=VC550B&productId=351&rPId=4975

Also (if I remember correctly) you should be able to get it either from your installed server (just browse to ip address of server) or from the installation media.

Essentially it's a client you can use instead of a browser, it's more stable than using a browser.

At a guess (can't see the error you're getting anywhere) you're looking at a java problem, mostly cause it's always a fecking java problem.

We were given this by the lecturer so I'd rather try get this working than something else, unless they are the exact same?

What exactly have you installed ? There are a number of different server products available from VMWare, ESXi 5.5 is probably the most popular for those starting out.

Have you installed the VMWare server on it's own hardware which you are accessing now from a remote machine ?

Ken

It's just called VMware server. Everything is on my laptop

vibe666 wrote: »
    it looks to me like he has actually installed vmware server (like vmware workstation but runs as a service without needing to log in to run VM's) rather than ESXi?

it also looks like he is running it in linux not windows?

Yep, that's it. It's running on my laptop W7.

I can't understand how I can get into the console tab in Chrome but can't install the plugin but IE and FF won't even let me look at the installed VM, never mind getting near the console.

I know this is probably frustrating to some, my apologies, trying to explain it as best I can and all the help is appreciated! :)

I should also not that in Chrome I went to the permissions tab to make sure I had Admin privileges and it looked fine

It's just called VMware server. Everything is on my laptop

disregard what I said so (at least the Vsphere client bit). Normally VMware server would be installed on bare metal (server) as a hypervisor which then runs VM's. You'd use the client to remotely access it from a management station.

Yep, that's it. It's running on my laptop W7.

I can't understand how I can get into the console tab in Chrome but can't install the plugin but IE and FF won't even let me look at the installed VM, never mind getting near the console.

I know this is probably frustrating to some, my apologies, trying to explain it as best I can and all the help is appreciated! :)

I should also not that in Chrome I went to the permissions tab to make sure I had Admin privileges and it looked fine

what happens when you try to install the plugin in chrome?

Nothing, I was told to expect a run/save option but I don't get anything. Black screen with plugin needed *click to install*. I click and nothing happens. I was told Chrome isn't good for VMware to begin with hence changing to FF and IE but I'm even further behind in them

disregard what I said so (at least the Vsphere client bit). Normally VMware server would be installed on bare metal (server) as a hypervisor which then runs VM's. You'd use the client to remotely access it from a management station.
    vmware server is nothing like ESXi, it's (more or less) a more basic version of vmware workstation that can run as a service so VM's can be left running even if no user is logged on in the base OS, usually windows or linux. it doesn't run on bare metal like ESXi.

you should be able to access the consoles of your VM's the same as you would in vmware workstation, by opening the vmware server application itself and clicking (or possibly double clicking) on your vm(s) so they open up on the right hand side.

from your screengrabs, both vm's are running already, so it should be a simple task to get the console up.

vibe666 wrote: »
    vmware server is nothing like ESXi, it's (more or less) a more basic version of vmware workstation that can run as a service so VM's can be left running even if no user is logged on in the base OS, usually windows or linux. it doesn't run on bare metal like ESXi.

you should be able to access the consoles of your VM's the same as you would in vmware workstation, by opening the vmware server application itself and clicking (or possibly double clicking) on your vm(s) so they open up on the right hand side.

from your screengrabs, both vm's are running already, so it should be a simple task to get the console up.

Should be simple but pic 2 is what happens when I click on the VM, everything disappears. I can't right click as its in a browser and treats it as a webpage and brings up the usual right click options. That's in IE and FF

As I said above, I can get to the console via Chrome but can't actually do anything because it asks me to install a plugin that I cannot install.

did you install the VM's yourself, or were they provided as part of the course with vmware server?

just wondering if remote desktop is enabled on them so you can use that to log on to them as if they were remote servers.

all you need is to be able to see them on your network. if you can ping them by IP address you can put the IP address into the remote desktop client on your laptop to log on remotely.

I was wondering the same with regards to RDP. Also how did you manage to install Server 2008 if you couldn't access the console to see the VM ?

Ken

Ok I'm gonna just take lots of snaps and try use that to explain what I have and what I'm doing and what's going wrong, gimmie a few minutes :)

Use psr.exe to record your steps. Click Start > search> psr.exe.

Ken

Use psr.exe to record your steps. Click Start > search> psr.exe.

Ken

Do I just post the local host link to the psr?

Jaysus I think I'll pack this course in!! :D

What course are you taking part in ?

Ken

What course are you taking part in ?

Ken

Science in Computing in IT, Higher Cert with the option to go on to degree... I'm starting to think it's not really an option!!

Don't be so hard on yourself ! IT is the type of thing that comes naturally or you need to work at. There are pros and cons to each side. But it is definitely doable if you have an interest.

Virtualisation is where we're heading in IT right now (more like we're already there actually . . ) so it's worth the effort to get familiar with it and learn what you can. VMWare, HyperV (Microsoft) and Citrix are the brands to get familiar with.

As mentioned above it's a good idea to make sure your computer has everything necessary to run the majority of software. Make sure you have:
    • .NET
    • Java
    • Flash

as a minimum to cover most bases.

After that there is plenty of assistance on tap here by some very talented people who are capable and more than willing to assist.

Ken

Virtualisation is where we're heading in IT right now (more like we're already there actually . . ) so it's worth the effort to get familiar with it and learn what you can. VMWare, HyperV (Microsoft) and Citrix are the brands to get familiar with.

What ZENER said, I work for one of the large manufacturers and I'd say about 80/90% of projects I see involve virtualised servers only, mostly VMware although HyperV is becoming much more popular with 2012. Hardly ever see Xen but that may well be because of vendor relationships. But it's safe to say that virtualisation isn't going away.

Don't be so hard on yourself, it's really not rocket surgery so you'll get there in the end. Don't be afraid to ask here as already said, also VMware have an excellent knowledgebase with a lot of very good documentation.

Cheers, I feel like a dope :D

I'm away from the laptop now but I'll get back to here tomorrow. Thanks again for the help lads!

don't feel like a dope, we all start somewhere. :)

even the biggest IT genius's in the world started from exactly where you are right now so don't ever feel like you're not able. what makes us able is sticking with it until it eventually makes sense. ;)

Ye are gonna kill me... :p

It was the compatibility view settings in IE. As soon as I sorted that I was able to install the plug in and from there I got the OS installed and everything is up and running :)

Took me a while but finally got it!!!

Thanks for all the help!