Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Earthquake or what

• 18-03-2014 9:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭

Large bang down here in the Sunny south east. Shook 8-45, anyone feel it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

Pardon me....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

South East Botswana?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Few too many guinness at paddies wkend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

A boy racer in a butter box back firing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭trompele

Yes! My wife said im crazy. Felt that too. 10 km north of wexford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

What!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Only a minute? Not much of a bang. . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

Yeah, I felt it. It reminded me of blasting at a quarry, but with more of a percussive feel about it. It lasted only a few seconds.

Just north of Wexford town.

8.45 is some size of a quake all right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭dwaned

Heard and felt it out here in Rathnure too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Did you not get the memo, op? We're shifting Wexford two feet to the left. A planning retention thing apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Heard that as well,was wondering what it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

8.45 is some size of a quake all right.

My apologies, 8-45 PM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Heard in Solsboro too. Could it be the missing plane?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

That plane finally land?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 166 ✭✭Bananatop

It could be Barry Scott with a really big bottle of Cillit bang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Heard in Solsboro too. Could it be the missing plane?

Username explains it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Felt nothing in Carlow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Yep, got it here in Wexford town. Gave the house a right old shake. Facebook alive with lads wondering what the feck is going on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Enda Kenny returning from his first warp flight.

More news as we get it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

That'd be me ted

I had a rake of porter followed by a vindaloo last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

KKkitty wrote: »
    Felt nothing in Carlow.

Nothing new there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,742 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

It can only mean one thing that Aphex Twin is going to get announced for Electric Picnic tomorrow. :D:D:D

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭freeze4real

Sure didnt fill nothing. Based in WX Town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭JeffK88

Meteorite maybe ?? This map seems to show one over the wexford area if you zoom in ?

http://lunarmeteoritehunters.blogspot.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

crosstownk wrote: »

Nothing happens here anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Its grand,tis only those crazy Yanks and their HAARP gizmo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,879 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Its grand,tis only those crazy Yanks and their HAARP gizmo.

A radio transmission is hardly likely to cause an earthquake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Have the Russians kicked of big time. Or was it the Brits blowing up their own docks again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭dwaned

You heard it here first on Boards.ie, first with the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Ive set up an account to help the victims in Wexford.
    Pm me for details.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

A MINOR EARTHQUAKE shook parts of the south east this evening.

Although initial readings from Irish seismograms were unclear, an Welsh station closest to Ireland picked up a faint tremor

No bonus for them lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

It was Mr. Putin slamming his fists on his desk after hearing about U.S sanctions.

Adamantium wrote: »
    It was Mr. Putin slamming his fists on his desk after hearing about U.S sanctions.

If that's the case the west is in severe trouble, with the size of his fist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,695 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

WE WILL REBUILD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

crosstownk wrote: »

OI!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,879 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

You heard it here first on Boards.ie, first with the news.

It's up there with the famous London Times headline.

Small earthquake in Chile, not many hurt.

Small earthquake in Wexford, not much damage.

It's up there with the famous London Times headline.

Small earthquake in Chile, not many hurt.

Small earthquake in Wexford, not much damage.

Earthquake was in Wales, tremors were felt in the south east.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

I think the Irish seismology department needs to invest in some new equipment..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Fracking hell!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Looting breaking out in Waterford, large parts of the city centre are on fire with possibly tens of euros worth of damage done.

hmmm wrote: »
    Looting breaking out in Waterford, large parts of the city centre are on fire with possibly tens of euros worth of damage done.
    Huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

a graphic from the British Geological Survey clearly indicates a spike in ground motion.

Otherwise known as a post St. Paddy's Day collective Guinness fart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,695 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

There was a woman interviewed on South East Radio this morning asked did she feel the tremors last night. She goes: "We heard a loud bang and there were biscuits on the table and they rolled a bit".

How could she cope after such an ordeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

I guess it is newsworthy, all the same. It seems our little island is experiencing this more often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

KKkitty wrote: »
    Felt nothing in Carlow.

Not even an earthquake would go through carlow