Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weimaraner pups-dogs.

• 18-03-2014 2:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭

Lads thinking about picking up a new pup. What are these lads like with kids.
    My kids are 4 yrs and 2yrs. We had an accident with a dog before and I'm just nervous of it happening again.

Any info greatly appriated guys thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭interize

I have a kennels myself and have had a good bit of experience with Weimaraner's and would not recommend them esp if you have young kids, they usually come in two types, either dominant or nervous which make them difficult to handle. Lots of better breeds out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭snipe49

Lads thinking about picking up a new pup. What are these lads like with kids.
    My kids are 4 yrs and 2yrs. We had an accident with a dog before and I'm just nervous of it happening again.

Any info greatly appriated guys thanks.
    I to have one a male. And he is top dog here has no time for play with any of my other dog's. And if any of my pup's get's to cloce he will snap. so i'd keep him away from my little boy. Is it a pointing breed pup your after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭customrifle

I have dog and bitch weim aswell as male doberman and my goddaughter(8) and her younger brother(5) are over most w ends and are wired to the moon and they get on grand. I would never leave them unsupervised with any dog, doesnt matter what breed. My wife is expecting our first at the minute and all going well as child grows it will have interaction with the dogs.
    The one thing id say about the weims is they are very affectionate dogs but I dont think they would tolerate too much poking by a young toddler. Im not saying they would snap prob just go out of there way to avoid child as they are a very intelligent dog.
    Even with lots of exercise (and I mean lots) the weims are bursting with energy so Id be more concerned about them knocking over child when they are running round.
    I hope im not painting a bad picture of the breed, as I write this the dog is asleep on couch with his head on my lap and the bitch and Dobe are curled up infront of fire. If I were getting one id get a bitch as they are that bit more relaxed than the dogs and if you put in the training they will work all day for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Thanks for your advice guys. I looked at one this evening and I have to say fab dogs. The parts were unreal and gentle. I have to say. Beautiful dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Ye customrifle definitly be a bitch I let the youngleaf ah fetch with the mammy of the puppy's tonite and she was great never tried to take the ball out of his hand or my two year old either for that matter. And was very award off her spacial awareness arou d the kids. Not to say she wouldn't knock them over doe

Your dead right on the supervision thing aswell no chances. What age are your weims

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭customrifle

The dog is nearly 4 and the bitch is 15 months. Shes working well on blood trails so hope to have her out come sept for deer. The dog is a dinger for pheasants but very headstrong. I didnt get out much last season due to work so found he was working too far ahead when on a scent but so recall long line training got him back right again. Good luck with pup hope work out well for you. They are a fantastic dog and do well in most dog shows too