Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The car-van test exemption loophole myth

• 17-03-2014 8:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭

You know the thing, small 1l Starlet vans and the likes that are often on Donedeal saying 'NCT and DOE exempt'. I know they're not, but whats the story behind the myth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,103 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Kaiser D wrote: »
    You know the thing, small 1l Starlet vans and the likes that are often on Donedeal saying 'NCT and DOE exempt'. I know they're not, but whats the story behind the myth?

There was a loophole which has been closed.

IIRC you couldn't test a privately taxed vehicle in a DOE centre and the NCT didn't do commercial vehicles. Now everything bar bikes, trailers and agricultural machinery needs to be tested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Del2005 wrote: »

IIRC you couldn't test a privately taxed vehicle in a DOE centre and the NCT didn't do commercial vehicles. Now everything bar bikes, trailers and agricultural machinery needs to be tested.

Thank you good Sir. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Tests on bike coming in next year I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

There's no loophole anymore. The van has to be doe well cvrt tested now regardless of what way it's taxed or anything else. It's 116 euro for a cvrt too every year and quite hard to pass compared with the older doe tests. And people give out about nct I'd rather an nct any day of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭650Ginge

dave1982 wrote: »
    Tests on bike coming in next year I think.

Not unless your in a time wrap and next year is 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭radharc

I have an 11 Astra van and don't do either test and have just renewed my tax again with no problems.

radharc wrote: »
    I have an 11 Astra van and don't do either test and have just renewed my tax again with no problems.

You'll have no problems until you crash or get stopped by a gaurd. They can take the van of you there and then and leave you on the side of the road as technically it's not fit for the roads as it has no cvrt. I'm not trying to say anything against you just giving the facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

650Ginge wrote: »
    Not unless your in a time wrap and next year is 2022

Are you serious 2022?I read something last week thought it said 2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭650Ginge

dave1982 wrote: »
    Are you serious 2022?I read something last week thought it said 2015

Seems so. I'm a bike owner it's a joke. Some of rubbish on the roads not to mention the noise they make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭radharc

Bpmull wrote: »
    You'll have no problems until you crash or get stopped by a gaurd. They can take the van of you there and then and leave you on the side of the road as technically it's not fit for the roads as it has no cvrt. I'm not trying to say anything against you just giving the facts.

I've always been a bit uneasy about it but I assumed if it was a legal requirement then I wouldn't be able to tax it without it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I've always been a bit uneasy about it but I assumed if it was a legal requirement then I wouldn't be able to tax it without it?

The CVRT disc is displayed on screen so after all the CRW vehicles dry up no disc will be an easy spot for a Garda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭Cogsy88

I think trailers have to be tested now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭hallo dare

I also thought that something came in recently for tractors to be tested also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

hallo dare wrote: »

Nope not yet thank ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

Nope not yet thank ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Motor tax office might make a mistake and not ask you for confirmation of your test.
    It doesn't take off you legal requirement to have your vehicle tested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

When do vans need a cvrt, the NCT is after 4 years , do vans automatically have to be tested from new every year??

I am happy to be going back to the NCT, over here in queensland you only do a safety cert when you sell the car, so you can drive a death trap around until you sell it!!

bladebrew wrote: »
    When do vans need a cvrt, the NCT is after 4 years , do vans automatically have to be tested from new every year??

I am happy to be going back to the NCT, over here in queensland you only do a safety cert when you sell the car, so you can drive a death trap around until you sell it!!

There first test is when there from one year old and it's every year from then on. Also if you fail on almost anything it's another 116 odd euro to retest the van. I'd much rather the nct 50 euro every 2 years far better system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭navara man

Also if you fail on almost anything it's another 116 odd euro to retest the van. I'd much rather the nct 50 euro every 2 years far better system.
    a retest is 44 euro

navara man wrote: »
    a retest is 44 euro

I never seen that in my test centre does this apply to the new cvrt test and not the doe. The last time I went it was the first week the cvrt came out I was the only one that passed 5 other lads failed while I was there :eek: there faces were priceless though " what do you mean it failed " the doe was just so handy to pass. I'd say this cvrt is easily in par with the nct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

I'd say this cvrt is easily in par with the nct.
    And rightly so IMO, commercials carry and tow heavier loads than passenger vehicles and so they should be up to the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭navara man

I never seen that in my test centre does this apply to the new cvrt test and not the doe. .

yes cvrt test. failed the test this january on tracking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 kilb1

hi, can anyone fill me in on a doe test for an astra van?
    its taxed privetly.
    do i need van tires for it? (extra load tyres)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

If his permitted payload is less than the carrying load of the tyres, being an Astra its permitted weight might not require c tyres. This was the case with my van, a car derived van but I could legally use low profile 17 inch car tyres as they exceeded the cars weight specs.

Its a very grey area nonetheless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Now, that would be some craic!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭ihateclowns11

Does the van tyres have to have the letter C on them cus I just bought 2 new back tyres and guy who fitted them said they would be good for doe cus they have a heavier load carrying capacity but the tyres dont have a letter c on them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

Does the van tyres have to have the letter C on them cus I just bought 2 new back tyres and guy who fitted them said they would be good for doe cus they have a heavier load carrying capacity but the tyres dont have a letter c on them?

No they don't have to have the C on them all that is required is that the load rating on the tyres can carry the axle weight of the van.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

The sooner the better really.

Stop, it will be a disaster if its brought in hopefully it wont be seen for a long time if ever!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

Stop, it will be a disaster if its brought in hopefully it wont be seen for a long time if ever!

There'll surely be an old grant to take care of it..........:D:D