Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you know what I mean?

• 17-03-2014 7:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭

I've noticed over the past couple of months that an awful amount of people seem to be saying do you know what I mean? There's nothing wrong with the phrase when said in normal English but when it's spoken quickly and pronounced like so "ja know wha I mean" it really gets on my nerves.

Please tell me I'm not alone in my dislike of this phrase and its increased prevalence in Cork?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I say it but don't even say the first part it just comes out as ..know what i mean..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Gwan ye billix, d'know what I mean, ye langer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I know a few people that can't help but say 'ya know?' several times a minute. Does my head in..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Freddie Dodge

What fcukin annoys me a lot more is this "I won't lie" mericanism which has appeared in the last year or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Sprog 4

This reminded me of this

"All my people right here right now...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Yeah, but like, it's not like the worst of all the irritating like "fillers" which people just seem to like throw into every ****ing sentence like multiple times...

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

pat_cork wrote: »
    Please tell me I'm not alone in my dislike of this phrase and its increased prevalence in Cork?

I don't mind it. It's just one of those fillers people use I suppose, ja know wha I mean, like?

I always thought it was particularly Corkonian(?) to say 'like' at the end of it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I blame Eastenders.

Know mean.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Oh I know like, like dyanowarrimeeen like, it's a disgrace like at the end of the day, I mean like going forward like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

U no wat I mean is a Dublin phrase originally.prety annoying all right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

"...if that makes sense".

"I just felt I'd better go home early as I was tired - if that makes sense."

Yes. It makes sense.

"You know what I mean" is not a "Dublin phrase originally", no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,861 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

Now i have liam gallagher whining in my mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

kinda has a ring to it....know what I mean feen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

pat_cork wrote: »
    I've noticed over the past couple of months that an awful amount of people seem to be saying do you know what I mean? There's nothing wrong with the phrase when said in normal English but when it's spoken quickly and pronounced like so "ja know wha I mean" it really gets on my nerves.

Its been turned "no da mane" here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Ju know what I mean.

Yes I do but was there any need to ask me it twice in that sentence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

That Paddy Knacker fella says "know wadda mane" in every sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Do you know what I mean is English. I won't lie is welsh I think. These things move around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

"Dew yaa no wha I meeen" with an outward wrist role directed at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

I love all those sayings :o

I've a thing for accents anyway, so it probably comes from that. It livens up a conversation and makes it a lot more interesting when people throw in their own little words :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

If anybody has watched ever watched Threads, the whole grunting and primitive language is what is the eventual conclusion of this behaviour. :pac:

Actually it's just a lazy way of not being able to articulate yourself and focus, and expecting the other person to do the legwork for you, because you know being gifted by one infinitely complex supercomputer learning brain isn't enough

It's just something that people use when you know the other person isn't all that interested in the conversation and you know the other person isn't understanding at all, whenever I use it it's a sure sign that I'm already losing/have lost the conversation. It makes the argument you have weak imo, knowing you need it reaffirmed by somebody, other than yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Adamantium wrote: »
    Actually it's just a lazy way of not being able to articulate yourself and focus, and expecting the other person to do the legwork for you, because you know being gifted by one infinitely complex supercomputer learning brain isn't enough

No it's not!
    As long as they've gotten their point across, sure isn't that all that matters?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

While watching the handling of MH370 investigation; a translation of a Chinese fella's reaction finished with "It's a joke"

I thought this was an irish idiom?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

It's nearly as bad as that Cork habit "in all fairness" Whatever the **** that means no worra I mean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

The used to be an advertisement on the sides of buses with a Jim Fitzpatrick painting of Phil Lynott saying "Maxell are the best, youknowharramean"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

It's a nervous tick I think.

I listened to some lad giving movie reviews as Gaeilge on the radio and heard lots of Béarla "yeknew" interspersed in his nervously-spewed verbal diarrhea.

He really needed to tóg it go bog é, yeknew?

Also ref. the rough diamonds that Paddy O'Gorman interviews outside the dole office. The mic makes them nervous and je knowarra me-an becomes every second sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

snubbleste wrote: »
    While watching the handling of MH370 investigation; a translation of a Chinese fella's reaction finished with "It's a joke"

I thought this was an irish idiom?

C'mere to me, stop the lights - you are thinking of "It's an absolute joke, Joe".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I know its a natural human trait to subconsciously copy the mannerisms of others, but fúck sake I can't fathom how anyone could keep saying "jaknowwhatimanelike" at the end of every 2nd sentence. I'd see about getting a scan for possible brain injury if I started that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Yes I do know what you mean.

I think it's highly disrespectful not to acknowledge it, each and every time.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭rockbeast

OP

It's "DjaaarNoooo(!)whaarAyeMAAne"...

You spelled it incorrectly.

I'm not a spelling nazi BUT(:P) the Dublin West massive would never forgive me if I didn't point out your error...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

GAA fellows being interviewed on the radio do this incessantly, ya know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭Wotsername

Adamantium wrote: »
    If anybody has watched ever watched Threads, the whole grunting and primitive language is what is the eventual conclusion of this behaviour. :pac:

Actually it's just a lazy way of not being able to articulate yourself and focus, and expecting the other person to do the legwork for you,

What?

Wotsername wrote: »
    What?

I don't know why he/she brought Threads into this thread but it is the scariest thing you could ever watch. Don't. Especially considering what's going on in the Ukraine at the moment.

I am serious. For once, at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Know what ah meen

All phil daniels fault

Timmyctc wrote: »

Know what ah meen

All phil daniels fault

Fackin cock-knees! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I use it all the time. Comes out like, "DeyeknowwhaImean?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

I recently noticed that I've adopted the "I suppose" syndrome.

Seemingly out of nowhere non recent years it has crept increasingly into my vocab, particularly in giving talks, making presentations or hosting meetings in work.

Don't know how or why it suddenly started,but I'm now very conscious of it, but yet can't seem to curtail it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭FudgeBrownie

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4GYLDLAHW-4
    Reminds me of this. I feel like this sometimes haha!

Uriel. wrote: »

Seemingly out of nowhere non recent years it has crept increasingly into my vocab, particularly in giving talks, making presentations or hosting meetings in work.

Don't know how or why it suddenly started,but I'm now very conscious of it, but yet can't seem to curtail it.

I suppose you're right! :o

Foreign friends say all Dubs (like me) say, "Emm, but"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

I use it all the time. Comes out like, "DeyeknowwhaImean?"

I'm a hoor for it as well its either "ya know" or " narwarimean?" At the end of every sentence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

GAA fellows being interviewed on the radio do this incessantly, ya know?
    Uriel. wrote: »

The standard GAA media guff writes itself these days -

"Ah yeah Marty I suppose .... knew they would come out fighting you know... and you know tried to lift it in the second half ... luckily saw Tommy at the far post you know ..."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 42 Scotty P

No Ragrets!