Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F1 Competition Rules Vote:Official result vs End of Race

• 16-03-2014 4:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭

Following on from the Competition thread.Should the End of race continue to be what we score the comp on or should we wait for official result?

This will not affect the Round 1 scores and if it changes then it will come into the rules from round 2 onwards.

Poll closes Thursday 27th March.

F1 competition rule vote 11 votes

Current Rule: End of Race
    0%
    Proposed Ammeddment: Official Result
    100%
    ZaphSeamusAFAdor83Ghost TrainGrim.frostie500Sparks43restingpilgrimLiamaloneb757KarlFitz01 11 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Official result

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭Firewalkwithme

Official result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Poll added so make the votes up there please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Official Result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Official Result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Official result of course.
    Who awards cheats with points?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

Official result. Unless I lose points, in which case race finish.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Jaysus, I'm out of the country and ye are all killing each other! :-D

FWIW, those who have asked for the set of full rules of the competition, I'm just waiting from my legal team to finish Section 14(2)(c) re "what happens if a pigeon crashes into the podium". :D It's a bloody game!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭frostie500

Im more than happy with continuing with the existing rules, what happens if down the line we find out some illegalities on different cars and suddenly we have to change the entire season. At the end of the day it's just a bit of craic to add something to a race weekend and nothing more so need to make things overly complicated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

frostie500 wrote: »
    Im more than happy with continuing with the existing rules, what happens if down the line we find out some illegalities on different cars and suddenly we have to change the entire season.

I asked that question, answer here.
    At the end of the day it's just a bit of craic to add something to a race weekend and nothing more so need to make things overly complicated

It is of course only a bit of fun, but personally I'd find it somewhat tainted if cars deemed illegal were allowed affect the results. Why allow them to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

frostie500 wrote: »
    Im more than happy with continuing with the existing rules, what happens if down the line we find out some illegalities on different cars and suddenly we have to change the entire season. At the end of the day it's just a bit of craic to add something to a race weekend and nothing more so need to make things overly complicated

All we'd have to do is change the relevant entries in the workbook and the scores would recalculate themselves, as if it had always been like that.

I think the problem here is that in the past race results have changed because of some dubious stewards decision that comes down to interpretation which the racing public generally wouldn't agree with.

In this case red bull seem to have been caught cheating/running an illegal car red handed, *during the race*, but are trying to get away with it. So the question of official vs. race end result has a dimension we haven't really encountered. Unlike other illegal cars "yeah we've got launch control but we never pressed the button Guv" the fia actually took action on this one, which is new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Official result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Official result